Are Dapps Polluting the Steem Feed?

in #dtube5 years ago


I LOVE DAPPS

Let me start off by making that very clear.

Dapps to me are a technological revolution; a new paradigm of decentralized trustless applications that are beholden to no single entity. They are a breath of fresh air into an increasingly monopolistic and authoritarian digital ecosystem.

I could go on for paragraphs about why I think they're great and how I think they could help heal the cultural rifts present today, however I wont bore you with any of that.

No no, today I'm talking about a potential negative of having all dapp content posted on a single feed. Don't get me wrong, I feel that this will be corrected in time.

What I'm talking about is your Steemit Feed being the 'catch-all' for all of your Dapp content.

Think of each Dapp on the Steem Blockchain as a funnel. You have a Steepshot funnel, a Partiko funnel, a Dsound funnel, Musings.io funnel - etc, and each time you post you're putting content into the funnel.

Where does each funnel deposit said content? On your Steemit blog page.

From my observation, this results in a very inconsistent, and kinda' confusing flow of content.

Not to mention it can kinda' come across as spam. At leas that's how I feel about my own content.

Here's how I see it:

You might have a wonderfully worded blog which has garnered hundreds of dedicated readers. People might come to your page specifically for your amazing blogs. AWESOME right? Well, what if you also post amazing photography on Steepshot and attract a totally different audience, and then again on Musings and Dsound? Your account might have attracted 3 or 4 separate audiences which are only interested in 1 form of content, yet on your blog 5 different content types are represented.

Let's say someone wants to read your latest blog, but they have to sift through 2 Musings answers, a bunch of selfies and your latest dsound track. That's not exactly very user friendly for that specific reader, and the same goes for people wanting to consume any other specific form of content.

I feel this is causing me to be hesitant to expand into Dapps, as I don't want to clutter up and pollute my blog, even though I wouldn't necessarily see it that way, however some of my audience might.

I think the Steemit homepage will eventually have a better more organized feed which takes these Dapps into account

I can see them having separate tabs which interface with the more popular dapps, so content can be presented in a more categorized and neat manner - because as it is, it is very... cluttered?

I feel like the feed as it is provides a somewhat unfriendly experience for content consumers, but I could be wrong.

Anyways, I know this can and likely will be addressed in time. Changes like this are what the Steemit proposal program is being designed for - so I have strong hope for the future!

Do you guys share these same concerns?

Does the current state of the feed make you hesitant to use the various dapps?

I'd love to know your thoughts and opinions, and if you do feel so inclined to share them please leave them below.

If you liked this and found it interesting, please feel free to upvote and follow!

Until next time.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I have been here for almost 2 years and have never once used my feed for anything lol. I use steemnow to find new posts, search tags I like, and enter contests. I don't have too much time to browse. I found your post on steemnow today.

When I first got here, I quickly followed about 500 steemers not knowing this would make for a crazy feed. So I just never have used it. I follow over 6000 now, so it would be impossible.

Some of the dapps let you filter your feed if you want to try them. I think esteem and steempeak both do that. I stopped using steemit for much of anything and only work on the dapps that pay for posts. I think they are in a bit of chaos, so I am avoiding steemit now for the most part.

Since you are in socal, I suggest joining @socalsteemit. There are a lot of great steemers there, meetups, contests, and friends. I am in Malaysia now, but I use to live there, so they let me in :)

Oh wow I had never heard of Steem now, it looks like a great way to track your metrics, though I don't see where to find content though. No worry, I'll definitely check it out in greater depth.

I know what you mean about a crazy feed, it's like im following 1 persons 3 separate social media accounts all on the 1 feed, lol very cluttered, but still workable.

Oh my I had no idea there was a socal group! I'll absolutely join that's awesome!

Thanks again, I think I'll probably stick to dapps to filter content. I hope stremit the site doesn't become an afterthought though. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Here is a screenshot of how I filter at steemnow. I play with it a bit to get a good number of new posts to look at. I could do this all day - I click 3-5 posts and by the time I look at them, the feed is new again. You have to refresh though.

steemnow settings.PNG

Be sure to go in the discord group for socalsteemit. @derekrichardson runs it and he is a great guy. I hope I see you in the contests and spotlight posts. I am sure you have an interesting take on the place since you are not from there :)

Oh my God I didn't notice the horrendous spelling error until it was too late D: Oh well. hahahahaha

Congratulations @johneyreacko! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.
You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.
You received more than 50 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 100

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88