WHY the DTube Upvote is NECESSARY! (for now) - DTUBE DAILY #49

in #dtube6 years ago


Hey everyone!

In today's video I want to talk about why the DTube upvote is necessary! For now at least. ;)

I think in the early stages of this platform, it's crucial to have that major pull to get people to come and start posting here. And then once they are here, to keep them around. The DTube upvote does exactly that. It gets people here and it also keeps them excited for what the future may hold here.

The thing is... it won't always be necessary. With the help of @dtube's amazing support, and with the help of other whale accounts like @thejohalfiles and @kpine, minnows will have the opportunity to really grow their accounts over time and eventually get to that dolphin, or even that whale stage! When enough accounts get large enough here, we'll more be able to support each other to have a decently reliable upvote consistently, vs hoping to mayyybe get that magnificent whale upvote that we look for now.

And above all, it just makes posting here so much more fun! I still fall over every time I see one of my posts get a large upvote. It's such a rush and a feeling of ecstasy to see that sort of large support. It makes one excited to create more and what possibilities the future hold here on DTube.

Thank you @dtube for all the amazing support you give to your creators.

And thank you @thejohalfiles and @kpine for supporting DTube creators as well! Your support means so, so much to us.

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below! I'd love to have more discussion on this topic with you all.

I hope you all have a great day!

Take care,
Jordan


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I love DTube, but the only thing I see that needs to be remedied ASAP, is the time it takes to get a video playing from the time you load the page. I've seen delays as long as 5 minutes before the stream starts. I don't know what causes the bottleneck, but that is really the only stumbling block I've seen. I don't know if its the node I am using or the ISP possibly throttling the data, but surely there is a way to get around it.

DTube is an awesome place to view content. I've already moved a few of my YT videos over. Uploading is easy, including getting the thumbnail from the video or simply sending one from your computer.

Agreed, sometimes the videos do not play for me at all, which really sucks because it's killing my motivation to use the platform :(

Yeah, I hear you there @docchocobo. It works pretty well for me most the time, but the buffer time still is crazy long sometimes. Definitely no fun to experience. Hopefully with this 0.8 update that just came out there will be less of that!

Yeah it does feel good when you get that DTube upvote. Im new here only 2 weeks but so far I am blown away. About ready to be like ok im concentrating mainly on DTube! In fact I am busy with creating a project to help creators here make better content I have enjoyed a DTube upvote but thats it so far. I know my content here is unique so its only a matter of time before curators like @thejohalfiles and @kpine come across my content. Well I hope they do ;)

Yeah, the upvote is a nice affirmation that somebody got something out of what you made.

Yeah, that upvote is really motivating towards concentrating solely on @dtube! And that's cool, I'll have to check your content out. Good luck! ;)

I don't have a ton right now. Most o fit is repatriated from my old YouTube channel. That will be remedied soon however :) I looked back at the videos I did on YouTube a while back and am not satisfied with the quality. I started with older equipment and whatever I could scrape up. It was mostly a way for my family to see that I was still alive and kicking. It's kinda embarrassing when I look back at some of it and realize just how cheesy that stuff was LOL.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34