Can You Have an Opinion in China??

in #dtube5 years ago


I recently saw a video released by a popular YouTuber in China known as SerpentZA. He made a video claiming that you can't have an opinion in China because they are all indoctrinated and brainwashed. I felt this was made in poor taste and wanted to make a response video sharing my thoughts on the matter.

dose of China

CLICK HERE

Also, check out my Steem Graphics Pack Here to add high quality graphics to your blog posts!

Thanks for reading & watching


Recent Posts


15 Things You MUST Know Before Moving to China!
Blazing Through Taiwan!
Ballin' Out With My Chinese Students!
Kenan Shoots Arrows At the Archery Range
Bought A Mystery Box In China. What's Inside It?
My Student Bought Me Dessert From JAPAN
Making Japanese Sushi Out of CANDY
How Do I Learn Mandarin Chinese?
White Boy Roams Around Taipei, Taiwan


Kenan.png


Social Media


Website: http://SimplyElated.com


Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I think he has a right to his opinion, and the way he chooses to express them, as does anyone else, nobody is advocating for violence, its always better to admit there are problems, rather than ignore them.

That said, as a foreigner (in any country) if you insult someone or their country in their own language, there most likely will be an opposite knee jerk reaction.

Its basic tribalism at play, it exists in everywhere.

In China, you will always be an outsider, and if your opinion starts to cause significant disturbance, you will be treated like a nail that needs to be hammered down instead of listened to.

I'm fortunate that most people I interact with in China can think for themselves, and don't just repeat the state approved propaganda.

The first step in solving any problem, is acceptance, that can be a difficult task for many in China, based on my experience.

He does have the right to his opinion and how he expresses them, but there are always consequences.

To me, when he goes out of his way to make videos that put China in a bad light, it is kind of a dick move. Especially since he lives there without being a citizen. And remember that countries like USA and Canada are developed and stable. It is unlikely like political instability could result from someones opinions but in China, it feels like you are trying to blow on a house of cards. Thats why people will get defensive since to them it feels like you are jeopardizing the countries advancement (even if it isnt necessarily true). Not criticizing anything could result in weak foundations while over criticizing could result in a definite collapse. The sweet spot is somewhere in between since criticism allows people to realize problems and try to solve them while order can create proper harmony.

While simply repeating state propaganda makes one ignorant, i find that the average western mentality that assumes that their way is always the best way is also ignorant. Its not hard to find western people that think anything other than democracy is always evil and so is restricting freedom of speech. It takes intelligent people to see the positive and negative consequences of both so that they arent in bondage with either.

Good comment man. Thanks for passing by!

It isn't all roses and sunshine in China, I think that is his point.

Having watched a few of his videos, I can't say I disagree with anything he has said.

I can accept that everyone can have a different experience.

If there is one constant in China, its change, the opinion you had yesterday might be invalid tomorrow.

I try to keep an open mind, I've had quite a few negative experiences in China, the old problems are being replaced with new ones.

The wealth gap, and ever increasing personal debt in China is already a major cause of dysfunctional behaviour in China.

Live now pay later.

Western lifestyle habits are in high demand in China and are quite expensive, most can't afford it.

Divorce rates are also increasing, far too many people in China marry out of social obligation, and family pressure rather than finding a compatable life partner.

I could go on and on, most of these problems exist all over the world, China is no exception.

saying things to people’s face would get you into trouble. lol you’re too blunt, gotten into trouble? But true that, give people a chance to defend themselves. perspectives differ. when you listen to understand people’s views, you may not accept the but you get to understand them.

I have not gotten into any trouble. Ive received some hateful comments on a couple videos but nothing serious.

I agree. Its like if i said “@nonsowrites is a douchebag” to you, you can at least defend yourself and perhaps convince me that you are only somewhat of a douchebag. 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

I think you said something about telling people things to their face? Well I think I have a thing or two your face needs to know 👊👊👊

Posted using Partiko Android

My face cant wait to know!

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent and valid points you make Kenan. This YTer ought to make it so he approaches Chines people in his videos to get a fair response from them. And let them either defend against his notions or agree with them

I did not like his video either, though he has some interesting content. I think he is aiming for click-bait. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

He is truly a weasel, I just don't know why you gave him 8 minutes of your precious time.

Content wise I do understand it. He sounds like an EGOist who can't even allow himself to listen to anything that differs from his view on "reality"

By the way, why don't you set me at your autovoter and give me 1 nice 100% upvote daily?

It's not like you'll notice it... being on 98% and more most of the time 😜

I will notice it. In few years time when STEEM goes to 100$

Just an idea, I feel relaxed enough here to ask for it. They say, ask for what you want

The answer is no.

Posted using Partiko Android

Alright homie, I know that would cost you a lot of illusion 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11