Korean Barbeque Ulsan near HHI Ship yards Ilsan Beach Part 2

in #dtube5 years ago


The second part to, well, the first part.

To answer a question asked by an earlier viewer, and which I thought could be very well asked by another, the use of scissors to cut meat is a very commonly used practice in South Korea, and it makes perfect sense to me as it's easy to cut meat into small strips on a BBQ of this type.

The wrapping of food in lettuce leaves is how BBQ is eaten in Korea. The same method of packing nutrition into small bite sized chunks is also used on occasions that do not include a BBQ present. Lettuce leaves can be filled with rice, and any other smaller amounts of side dishes before shoveling the entire content into mouth. Yum.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

That reminds me of Japan; I stayed in Osaka for a while, but we didn't use scissors to cut the meat. They only used sharp knives. 🤪

Anyway, the wrapping of food in lettuce is common in other Asian cultures as well. The whole process reminds me of a French raclette or a fondue. The meat is cut into small stripes as well, and put on a hot stone or dipped in boiling oil. The only thing that changes is that you are not wrapping the food, well not in the classic version at least.

Ah yes, I am vegetarian, so I would prefer lettuce wrapped in lettuce 🥰

I know that meat is very expencive in Japan and not usually eaten in the way it is done in Korea. I lived in Tokyo for a year and the only times I had meat was if I cooked at home or if I managed to find a place serving the Japanese shiskobab equivalent. If there are bbq places like this in Japan, I have never seen them and if I had I probably wouldnt go in because I can immagine the prices being astronomical. From my experience japan pre cuts everything into tiny pieces and people use chopstics exclusively. The only time I have seen a knife or fork was at a pasta restaurant.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, this was very similar to the experience that I had when I was in Osaka. I stayed with friends, and they took me to all these restaurants, but I can't remember the name. I have to ask them again. 😊

But the meat wasn't expensive I can imagine that Tokio is far more costly, but Osaka was cheap. I loved the "kushikatsu" bars as well. I know that Osaka is famous for these bars and some meat and also that Osaka people can't stand Tokio people for whatever reason etc.Maybe it depends on the area.

Haha, I can imagine that it would be hard to be a vegetarian in Korea 😁 , but I think everything is possible you just have to do it...

Its hard being vegeterian in Korea. Mist soups and foods are meat based. Not impossible, but difficult.

Posted using Partiko Android

Look at that. Here I thought the upload didnt take. DTube sent an error message in....error...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11