Post-storm Swale Inspection

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Roo says "Good morning!"

It stormed last night while I was at work. I always miss it! I would have stayed up all night to see a good storm at my home. Way better than staying up all night at work!

After looking around at how green and clean everything is, I wanted to check the swales.

I guess they're working!

The top swale is pretty full, I'd say about 60-75% before overflowing. It's giving me an idea where the overflow channel needs to be, and I'll be working on that soon. Probably a weekend project.

I've been waiting what feels like forever for a decent rain, and this is very encouraging! The top one isn't quite full, and the lower two have a tiny bit in them, but nothing substantial like the top one yet.

The idea, for folks that don't know about swales, is for water to collect in these ditches before running downhill. It'll stop here and collect, overflowing into the lower levels, and it'll soak in slowly. This slows down the flow of the water and gives it time to soak in before it all runs out to the ditch out front. This water is staying IN my soil. Hopefully this water management technique will help keep our little food forest watered through the drought-like Texas summer, as this part of the yard is the part that dries out the worst.

I've run a small trench to help feed the system. Last year, during these rains, our chicken run flooded out, so I ran the trench just uphill of the run and ran it into the top swale. That'll help feed the system while keeping the chickens dry and not washing out their awesome compost. Lots of benefits in these 85 short feet of trench. And none of that is to mention that the water will eventually work back into the water table underground.

A really integrated food, water, medicine, and soil health model here on our little suburban homestead. And we're just getting started.

Be blessed.
Be fruitful.
Stay relevant.

Nate.


coopbadgecontributor.png
Purchase sustainably produced seeds, textiles, medicines, and more for SBD from @homesteaderscoop at The Homesteader's Co-op Online Marketplace!

video15501788461.gif
Follow @naturalmedicine and join the Natural Medicine discord channel today and come grow and learn with us!


Join us on the GHSC Discord and follow @ghscollective to become part of a global network of homesteaders!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

How deep is that swale and the water in it?

That swale is two feet deep and wide, and thirty five feet long (about .7m X .7m X 11.5m I think).

I did find out it is a couple inches off level, because on the far end, the water was a small bit shallower. It's okay though, it still works as intended :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Two feet is pretty deep of a swale for a backyard! How do the kids cope with the first world war trench that's the swale to them?

Posted using Partiko Android

They love the swales TOO MUCH. I got four spinach plants and three lettuce plants because everything else I planted on the berms got trampled. All the kale. Broccoli. Cauliflower. Lettuce. All smashed.

But the kids had a good time, and now they leave it alone enough that I'm planting strawberries and borage all over the berms.

The top swale is the only one that big. The other two are a foot and a half by a foot and a half. These numbers aren't counting the berm depth.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's awesome! I'll be curious to hear how it works when summer comes along. Our garden is at the bottom of a hill, so the water seeps slowly down to it. I love the swale idea, though.

Oh, I'll be posting on it almost daily over the summer :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Yay! I am glad it worked so well for you! You put a lot of work into it, as did the kids. :))

And it's watering our strawberries just like it's supposed to :)

Checked this afternoon and there's no standing water in it. Permaculture is so cool!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75