THE PRESSURE TO CONFORM

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


In this video I talk about social media pressure and how it's negatively affecting the lives of people and how they view themselves.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Im glad you brought up the reason why people get so involved to social media. Addiction to these platforms is usually due to lack of self acceptance like you said. Younger people usually dont know who they are and are just trying to be someone that others will appreciate if self acceptance was lacking in their childhood. However, you said that you need to just “be yourself”. I dont think most people will accept something like this. There are things that we dont like about ourselves and we think we can change. It usually comes through painful experiences and enough time passes when we realize we have to give up on changing what we dont like about ourselves. Thats pretty scary because we are afraid to lose what little love we have by having no choice but to “be ourselves”. That fear is an illusion but it may seem totally real to someone who hasnt faced the fear of loss and defeat yet.

Posted using Partiko Android

I dont think most people will accept something like this. There are things that we dont like about ourselves and we think we can change. It usually comes through painful experiences and enough time passes when we realize we have to give up on changing what we dont like about ourselves. Thats pretty scary because we are afraid to lose what little love we have by having no choice but to “be ourselves”. That fear is an illusion but it may seem totally real to someone who hasnt faced the fear of loss and defeat yet.

Just to add to this, I think we can still love ourselves and still try to improve or change our shortcomings. For example, I do not like the fact that I do not sound as smart as I want, or say the things I want to say clearly, but that doesn't mean I do not love my self. Loving yourself coming with the acceptance of your strength and flaws. And maybe its just me, but I don't feel I would ever put myself again in a position were I am dependent on the love of people. No man is an island, so they say but I believe if one is genuine and making positive impact in life there will be rarely be a case or situation where they lack love. And like you rightly said this said fear of losing the love of the people you care about is an illusion.

Posted using Partiko Android

Going after what you want, while simultaneously accepting the reality is crucial. The thing is, many people think that self hatred is what will change them. Their flaws appear to be obstacles in their life, so they use hatred to try and silence it in hopes that they will change by force. In my experience, it only made things worse. This is the same thing I have noticed in other people that still perpetuate shaming tactics to change others as well as themselves.

You're right. The more authentic you can be, the more difficult it will be to act fake for love. It feels like swimming upstream. When you have been fake your whole life, you forget which way is upstream and downstream so it isn't clear what is the right way to behave.

It is not easy in a world of fascades to be yourself as the advent of social media has allowed for so much conflict due to trolling and the such. That is why I was turned off of it but so far here it has felt much better to manage as it is still a small community.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Extraordinary work my dear companion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09