D-Tube Wednesday: snorkeling among mangroves of Yaxchen Cenote in Mexico

in #dtube5 years ago


Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

Welcome to my D-Tube Wednesday series where I share my videos taken at interesting places that I have visited during my travels.

Today, I will take you to the beautiful underwater world of the Yaxchen Cenote in Tulum, Mexico.

Hidden in the pristine Yucatan jungle in a remote part of Tulum, the Yaxchen Cenote is one of thousands of cenotes found on the Yucatan Peninsula. Cenote is usually defined as a sinkhole that formed naturally after a limestone bedrock above it collapsed so Yaxchen is actually not a typical cenote as it looks more like a lake but when it comes to the underwater world of this place, you will be stunned by its diversity and beauty.

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmo7xQjEuCiryJD2x2FCVSFE5UBXmZnwcxEQaUceTtTMKKVhugHbdBezvj4gyd.jpg

As someone who hates being surrounded by crowds of people, I was also really excited about the solitude of the cenote. Usually, cenotes here in Yucatan are packed with both tourists and locals but this one was completely crowd-free. During some 4 hours that we spent there, we saw very few other people and for the most part, it felt like we had this amazing natural spot just for ourselves.

The water was crystal clear, calm and quite warm for a cenote (cenotes are usually significantly colder than the sea, which makes them very refreshing in the Yucatan heat). I spent most of the time snorkeling because the cenote provides excellent conditions for this sport and as I already mentioned, local aquatic life is really astonishing. There are many species of fish living in the cenote and you can also see large, interestingly colored fresh water crabs hanging around the bottom. Some of Yucatan´s cenotes are also home to crocodiles but (un)fortunately, we did not encounter any in Yaxchen :D

The banks of the cenote are made up by mangroves, vividly green shrubs or small trees that can be found in tropical and subtropical regions all over the world. With their remarkably dense and complex network of (partly underwater) roots, the mangroves provide natural habitat for an incredible variety of animals - from fish, crustaceans and amphibians to turtles, crocodiles and birds.

Here is a short video I took while snorkeling among the Yaxchen mangroves so that you can have a better idea of what it looks like down there :)

I hope you enjoyed the video. If you did, stay tuned for the next episode of my D-Tube Wednesday series. Thank you @dtube for allowing us to share our videos with the Steem community.



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This is really a well-done video that you took while snorkeling. The water was clear, especially with all the vegetation of the mangroves and such. I personally think that the clarity of the water was awesome.

You really did spy all kinds of life down under, didn't you?

A really great job of underwater filming. It is a whole lot harder than you make it look. You have got the golden touch with it. I should show you my first efforts! LOL

Very nicely done! You didn't even scare the fish.

!tip

Thank you so much for this nice comment Denise :) I am a actually a complete newbie to the world of underwater photography and video but I love snorkeling so hopefully, I will get some practice. I am not sure but I think you mentioned in one of your previous posts that you are a diver, right? I bet you have tons of great underwater photos and footages :)

I do, but, the first thing I used was a GoPro and not very well! LOL But, some of the later footage is a lot better. I think I posted a video of a dive a while back (it was also in Bonaire or perhaps Grand Cayman, I would have to look back. Mexico is always sweet, but, I must say that Bonaire is the favorite on this part of the globe. Hoping to go to SE Asia Thailand or Australia probably next year? But, that is too far ahead to plan. Better by how it all feels. I wil know when the time is right.

In the meantime, I will dig up more footage. :)

Wow, I think I need to check Bonaire too one day :) Haven´t been to SE Asia either, I have seen so many beautiful photos and videos from Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia etc. but I am not sure if I could handle all the destruction and pollution that humans have caused to these places... It is really heartbreaking in some regions.

Anway, thanks for stopping by Denise and I am looking forward to the footages you will dig up :)

That is probably the biggest drawback. The water is disgusting in Vietnam, so much so that years back, the beach was off limits to Americans (the locals swam in it) It was only certain places and I don't know if it is cleaned up, but, my guess is no.

SE Asia has a different level of things. It is heartbreaking.

Go to Bonaire! You will love it and the people! I am in the middle of videos.... Oh boy!

blue water... wow..!!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=zrtxu9xw


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

🎁 Hi @phortun! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Letting The Sun Shine Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83