Sunday night oud and udu practice jam.

in #dtube5 years ago


Sunday night improvisation with me on the oud and my sweety on the udu. This was mostly a test of trying to get a good microphone setup for jamming. Next time i may put both external microphones on the udu to capture the bass hits better. Then i might try to attach a mic inside the oud to isolate it from the udu more. Cello background drone was added later as a separate track.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hi sketch.and.jam,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I gotta tell you I usually do not check Dtube posts, due to my poor internet connection (i want to think that's the problem). It takes forever for those post to upload.
But, your post got my attention. The instruments. I thought i had seen and herd the oud before, in fact I had, and had probably seen the udu in some movie or documentary.
They just dound great together. The melody is quite catchy. It actually made me imagine some exotic market image in some movie.
It's a pity my references to these instruments is so simplistic but that's what happens when we have little exposure to other musical forms.
I'm glad I had the patience to wait for the video to play.
It was beautiful

Thanks for listening, a few years ago i hadn't heard of oud or udu either. A cab driver from iraq first introduced me to oud as he was playing oud music in the car. I first heard of the udu from a random capoeira video i saw online. Since then these 2 instrument caught my attention enough to finally start learning them.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, the more merit then. Good for you. Are they expensive instruments?

Thank you sketch.and.jam! You've just received an upvote of 53% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Hey any chance I could get a copy or download one of your crazy percussion tracks I love to try and jam to one
👍

Sure no prob, i'll try and isolate/upload one to dsound this week.

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool man whenever you had time

Thx

Posted using Partiko iOS

Can't tell you anything about the bass, the sound on my laptopspeakers here at the office sounds very bad. Think you guys will manage to find the best way of proper mic locations 👍

Maybe a small tip for the next video, try to look in the camera with a little smile? 😉

Lol we are really bad about deadpan faces while playing. All our relatives tell us the same thing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29