2 Minutes with the Farmer: Giant Marshmallows on the Farm!!!

in #dtube5 years ago


Today on 2 Minutes with the Farmer we are showing off our Giant Marshmallows here on the farm. We just purchased some alfalfa silage rolls. These things look like giant marshmallows. This is a very high protein feed for our livestock.

Thank you for spending 2 minutes with me!
@bowentroyer


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Well I am sure this was not supposed to be on this account but hey I learned something!

Kosher marshmallows, right? Haha

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool video. I had never heard of silage being baled. Where in northern Indiana did you find this?

Thank you. By Ft Wayne.

Cool - I work in Fort Wayne. Is there a wide spread shortage of hay?

Posted using Partiko Android

Here in central KY there is. We had a lot of rain and it ruined a lot of hay. Good hay is hard to find.

Hello my friend! :D
I wish we had some of those giant marshmallows, hay is getting hard to find around here. :D I know your herd will enjoy them a lot. :D
God bless you and your wonderful family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

They do love them. I think hay is short everywhere. Thank you for stopping by my friend;)

I always enjoy stopping in for a visit, I love your views almost as much as ours here, even if you have more grass showing than we do right now. :D
I'm a bit jealous of how much grass I can see there as opposed to how little we see here, but hopefully we'll see a lot more here in a couple more weeks. :D

A bit of a switcharoo huh? Lol :)

Yes. It is my fault. I wasn’t paying attention to which account we were on. You are the first to notice. Thanks for watching!!!

My husband is wondering why the fermented bales are more expensive. It would seem that for the alfalfa Farmers, it would make more sense to do that with all their bales. Why bother waiting until it’s dried?

A lot of them are switching to silage rolls from hay. From what I hear what stops some of them is the extra expense of buying more equipment to wrap the bales and then they need special front end loader attachment to move bales with out breaking seal. The other factor is a lot of farmers are stuck in there ways and do things they way grandpa did them. I am sure your husband has run into that;)

That sounds about right. They say it takes money to make money. But if you don’t have the money to start with, you’d hate to take out a loan.
It seems to me farmers can be very stuck in their ways.. lol

It is a vicious cycle

That is really great, thanks for such investment and passion in agriculture,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17