How to Create Badass Steemit Thumbnails With PhotoshopsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

Creating perfect thumbnails that look good and give you identity are key elements to get good upvotes for your post.

(Click on the picture above to watch the video).

 
The problem is that most people don't know how to use Photoshop or they simply don't have Photoshop. If you don't have Photoshop then I can not help you. If you have Photoshop then this tutorial is perfect for you.

Protip: You always want to have the 3 same colors in your thumbnail. My brand colors are Black, Gold & Red. When people see my thumbnail they know who just posted. You want to achieve the same with your Thumbnails.

Creating The Thumbnail

Step 1: Click on "File" -> "New" and enter the following Width: 800 and the height: 460. Now you already have the correct Thumbnail size that looks good on the Steem Blockchain, on your Blog and in your post!

Step 2: Add your background picture -> I recommend you use Google and enter "background picture color" and select one of the pictures there and always use that for your background.

Step 3: Click on the picture in Photoshop and then press CTRL+A and right click on the picture and select stroke. There you enter 35px into the Width and the color you want to have as a frame.

Step 4: Select the font tool and click on the picture. Now you type what you want to have written on your thumbnail. You can change the font size in the "TT" Symbol above below the "3D" and "View" tabs. Now slide that font to where you want it by holding it with left-click and moving your mouse.

Step 5: Use Google to find a .PNG to add an object to your thumbnail. Always type .png at the end of your search entry, for example -> Trophy .png

Step 6: Save it as PSD (so that you can edit it if you are not happy) and as .JPG to use it.

Brotip: Watch the video if you need to see the steps visually, that is why I created the video anyway!

More Info

If you have questions about the steps I recommend that you watch the video to see exactly how to create a thumbnail. If you then still have problems you can just leave a comment with your questions and I will answer that (if I can).

After you have learned to create badass thumbnails it will get easier and faster to create them and you will get more upvotes for your post & people will recognize your thumbnails by the 3 colors that you always use (branding).

Have a nice day ladies, gentlemen & savages.
 

 
Get More Upvotes & Followers: Steemfollower

My Previous Post: Road to 100000 Steem Power Day 65

My Website: Youtube Channel


 

 

 
▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Tutorial requested by @EagleSpirit and @Hopehuggs.

Cool video and advice, I will be able to create excellent thumbnails now. It was a good thing that Discord played up and you ended up creating this as video, as it will help lots of people. (Payout looking amazing already too)

Thank you Helen! I wonder how your thumbnails will look like from now on!

Some free alternative programs would be Gimp, or paint.net. Paint.net is really easy to use but works in windows only (last time I checked). Gimp can do everything and works on Windows, Mac and Linux, but the learning curve is much steeper as it can do much more than most will need.

GIMP is great, I use it for all of my photo editing.

Thank you! I'll be using this to create some! We need more informative posts like this on steemit. I suggest you use a few more tags so this post can reach more people? Is that correct? The more tags, the better your chances of reaching more people?

That is correct. Guess there must be some related tags.

Realy good job. We need more tutorials an Steemit.

I use Canva (https://www.canva.com). I like it because it's free.

Congratulations @valorforfreedom, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 3058 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3549.53. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Nice tutorial. When I didn't have access to Photoshop I used an online design too called Canva that let me superimpose images together. Not as fully featured but got the job done.

Also I really like how I can read instructions and follow the video. This is a great format.

Thank you very much Eon and good job putting additional valuable information here into the comments.

Very helpful post! Was looking for ages on the right pixel height and width. Cheers!

I felt the same when I started here on Steemit, I actually found it out myself.

More credit to you then my friend! Once again thank you, made my dtube thumbnail nice and pretty :)

I accidentally upvoted myself. Here you go man.

Thank you @valorforfreedom! Not why I commented but always nice to get some rewards for interactions. Hope you have a great rest of your day/night!

I just woke up.
05:45 here.

Time for success!

Good on you mate! Hard work is the key to success! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82