Is steem (not) for making money?!

in #dtubeforum5 years ago


Hey steem folks!

This post is written in an airplane flying from Hamburg to Barcelona where the first DTube forum will happen. Full of nervousness about the technical aspects of the event, I try to switch my thoughts from possible fails to something positive and constructive.

The DTube forum crew is planing to promote the blockchain and it's dApps to random people on Barcelona's steets. The main goal is to recruit people, active users and content consumers and give them a basic understanding what the steem blockchain is aiming for.

For achieving this goal, we have many different promotional arguments and aspects. One - and in my opinion really important - fact is that we can monetize our content on the blockchain and make money out of something we would be not able to create income with, on other social media. I know a lot of people who argument that this should be not an argument to create excitement for. But let's be honest, I joined because this aspect.

The community, the easier achievable followership, the active communities and so on are in my view the secondary achievements.

I think I will argue with the financial aspect and if the interest is created, I will continue with these secondary aspects. That's the easiest way to bring up peoples excitement and take them to the blockchain.

  • What do you think?
  • What are you arguing with when you are talking to friends and try to convince them?
  • Do you think, it is okay to talk with random people on the streets to convince them to join?

Tha is for your time to read this post. I hope I was able to give you an understanding of what I am think about :)

Hope to see you in the stream on Friday from 10am CEST - 4pm CEST!

Peace!


check out my other social media channels:

Sort:  

I don't talk to people to bring them in here. I promote my steem work on other platforms and they come if they want to. In 2 years, 20+ content creators coming in due to me all failed quick and left.

I spend any time I have to do it on helping new people that are already here, enthusiastic and trying. I do as much as I can to reduce our 95% kill rate. I think I bring more value to steem by writing minnow tips and helping those who struggle when new. We have enough of those, that I do not need to go out and find more.

I also tried to bring in people I got 4 users to sign up one one has stuck around lol! I guess it’s not a bad conversion rate!

But it’s true we need to focus on those who are here and show them the way and reward them for sticking around

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, I thank getting involved with the people here makes a lot more sense. We have over 1000 coming each week anyway, and anyone who gets to about 45 rep is a good bet to help.

Not all the time I guess, because some can't make anything out of it...

Posted using Partiko Android

Have a nice trip and good luck with the project!
It's not going to be easy to explain Steem to people on the streets.
A lot of friends/family are still skeptical and don't get the potential of it.

As an investor and a person who doesn't understand much about developing projects. STEEM is only for making money (and some friends on the way).

Steem hasn’t been a positive investment for many investors especially ones who don’t buy stake if you going to just come in and trade time for steem you going to have a bad time unless you strike it lucky with whale support! I’d say focus on the fact that you can build your own audience here and don’t have to rely on YouTube or build up a certain audience or view for monetization.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81