Nong Kai Thailand Border Entry dtubesnap

in #dtubesnap5 years ago (edited)


I'm filming from no man's land at the Nong Kai Border crossing as I leave Laos and return to Thailand. After you check out through Immigration, you just walk on over to the other side. I have crossed many borders in my life, but few on foot.

I was staying close to this border and used it a few times for my entries in and out of Thailand. The two countries are separated by the Mekong River, and there is a bus to take you over that part of the journey. Apparently many locals just cross in boats and do not worry about this immigration technicality. But I need to stay legal in SE Asia and this is the reason I was here in the first place.

I am posting to the dtubesnap tag, initiated by @nathanmars. I was posting dtube videos daily, but recently have had a change in my wifi situation. I do not know how much of my plan time this action will eat up. I'm crossing my fingers it will not be too much and I can get back on track! The video uploaded in the time it took me to write this text, so I am very hopeful I can start posting daily again.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Howdy there fitinfun! hey this had to be one of many border crossing right? Because where was everyone? There wasn't any traffic. No one there to check your papers or anything?
Oh, I forgot to tell you that I'm so happy that you are locking your door now! lol. For someone who is always thinking about safety for others you know?

Thank you! I feel safe all the time lol. It's everyone else I worry about!

I'm in the "no man's land" just past the border. You can see the actual border when I turn back and see a guy walking along behind me too. At that particular time there were 100's or 1000's of people back there and they were dripping us through one by agonizing one.

Where I am at - you just keep going. If you try to stop or set up a food stall or something, they will kick you out. That is why you see the transport, just past the arch. They are not allowed inside it. I probably should not have been filming there :)

oh I see. well that makes sense, it is a very bizarre scene for a big border crossing like what you see at the main ones at the United States and Mexico border with hundreds of vehicles and with yours it was just you walking along. lol. So it looks like most people cross on foot. That right there is a concept we can't conceive of over here!

Yes, this is very different. Although you can (could) just walk right out of the US at TJ to get to Mexico. The SD Trolley stops right there and commuters do it on foot daily. Few are trying to sneak into Mexico and often they just let most people pass at rush hour. It's getting back in that is the trick.

howdy today fitinfun! oh that is interesting and true, good points. Are you going to have to go back out of the country as long as you're staying there?

Yes I do have to do this each 90 days in most places. Many people just keeps switching countries, but I like having a base. If I had a sanctioned job in the country or more money from a source like retirement income, I could get better visas with longer terms.

howdy again fitinfun! oh that makes sense yes, more money usually helps in most situations.

Yes, it sure does and I hope I get some soon lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22