DtubesnapQ#1 - Can tragedy inspire someone to improve their life?

in #dtubesnap5 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

Can it? Definitely. Should it? Yes. I think it is the essence of thinking of death in general, considering even your own demise has - for me - a sense of awakening, finding that bit of you that has become complacent and slapping it awake.

Aknowledging their death through introspection and finding yourself lacking might also hint at the value placed on the life lost, I think anythink that makes you pause to consider such questions surely has to have value as we don't pause to consider these things when listening to the horrible stories on the news, instead we lash out.

Something that makes you look critically at yourself is connection and when you lose a connection you need to evaluate and re-establish what was lost. This does not take away but instead does the least and the most you can possibly do. Acknowledge.

Sorry for your loss and apologies if my response seems apathetic.

Hi Penderis. Your response doesn't seem apathetic, thank you for taking the time to consider these things.

I am in agreement with what you say. I try to think along the lines of; the lessons learned when considering a friends life is a way of honoring them in their passing. You hit on it when you say

Acknowledging their death through introspection and finding yourself lacking might also hint at the value placed on the life lost.

Thanks again for your response.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for asking this question. In my life, I believe tragedy has inspired me to improve my life. I was sick and almost dead for most of my life due to morbid obesity. This terrible condition also cause my son @bxlphabet's severe ptsd, as he watched me almost die for many years of his young life.

Finally at the age of 50, I got it together, and was able to lose "half my size" with natural methods.

Since then, all I have done is try to help others do the same thing. I hope it will be at a younger age than it was for me, and certainly that they can avoid hurting their children like I did.

.... I feel for you - and have some understand of that circumstance - fitinfun, as I suffer a severe chronic gastroenterological (stomach) condition which can lay me out for months at a time. This is another 'challenging' circumstance that has taught me so many life lessons about grabbing the bull by the horns, when I'm physically/mentally able.

I'm glad to hear you lost weight and found your path to a healthy life 🙂 Also, that you are helping others who have similar issues and helping your children to make sense of it all.

Through the pain of losing my friend, I'm just about able to find some focus with the belief that looking - and honouring - his life will change my perspectives on some things. Grief is a difficult thing to talk about... but for me this tendency toward self analysis is part of the process.

Thanks for your thoughtful response to my #dsnapq question.

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome. I think "getting it out" is the best plan, no matter how hard it is. This is a big issue with ptsd and other emotional pain and trauma. People bottle it up and cannot find anyone who wants to listen anyway. Self help groups and blogging like this help me a lot.

Stomach troubles can be so difficult. I rarely have them, thankfully. But I have Rheumatoid Arthritis and had to learn not to "push through." When you are sick - you are sick. Time to rest and recover no matter what anyone else thinks.

I'm so glad to connect today, @raj808. Take good care of yourself. :)

Hi @raj808!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.418 which ranks you at #2162 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 31 places in the last three days (old rank 2193).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 339 contributions, your post is ranked at #158.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94