More Water- Where is it Coming From?


I was out in the garden doing some weeding and planting when I saw that there was water in the ditch again.
Yesterday, everything was flooded from all the rainwater that collects there from the neighborhood.

I was out in the dark trying to clear the different areas that can get clogged and water then floods everything - my neighbors house and my garage/office.

We unscrewed a fence contraption last night that keeps the dogs in (ours - and it keeps the neighborhood dogs out). Leaves had caught in the chicken wire and I couldn't get them cleared fast enough.

Today, there was no rain. Not even one drop. But suddenly, I saw water in the ditch again. Quiet a bit.

A while back, someone had run into a fire hydrant and we had gotten a lot of water coming through. So, I went to investigate. All close by fire hydrants were fine. I followed the water and there was a hydrant at the beginning of the water flow. But that is not where it was coming from. It come through a pipe from a back yard and looked like it was slowing down.

I didn't see anyone to ask what is going on. But I think I will stop by tomorrow again and investigate some more. As you can see, it was a lot of water...

I am showing you the huge area water is collecting from and how it moves through my property. There used to be an empty lot behind our house that was supposed to allow all that water to sink in. Now, there are 8 houses and a bio swale that is supposedly going to take care of the masses of water coming through.

The problem is that the new home dwellers do not quite understand what it is for and have been blocking the access points from my and my neighbors properties.

Oh well, maybe this year they see how much water is actually coming through. We didn't have much rain in the past years and they didn't believe that it could be so much.

Sort:  

Great detective work here!

Ya know what, an argument over her mishandling of an intermittent stream running through her place is what ended my best friend relationship. I feel so validated that now I have friends like you who really appreciate the greater context of our water cycle. Much love

I am so sad to hear that you had a friendship end over water - on the other hand, water is one of our most valuable resources. Only, people are not getting it yet...

Everything is so green there!

This is our green time - if it rains. In the summer, the hills are golden as we like to say. That means they are brown full of dead plants :)

I hope so it will stop soon :), I just love your commentary 😊. I hope so you will find the solution :)

Thank you so much. Yes, By the time the rainy season is over, we got it figured out! LOL

We have had a fair amount of rain recently, nothing to your standards though. It's terrible that it can even flood your garage if channels get blocked up, looks like you had your work cut out cleaning that chicken wire.

Nice find following the water trail, maybe a leaking outdoor tap or one not turned off properly.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Well, I think you are better set up for rain since you get more LOL. By the time it rains here, the soil is so dry that it repels the water and leads to more runoff. And more and more homes are being build, adding more hardscape = more water rushing down the street.

I just happen to have a culvert going through my property that catches all the water of the whole neighborhood. And my neighbor and I are working on a solution for the fence that we can open it when it rains really hard. It just makes for flashlight digging sessions in the rain right now.
We know how to have fun!! being dry and warm in your house is highly overrated 😂

Really you doing very good job and I waiting for your next video .

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you so much!!

Wait what? You mean the water coming from the street damaged your garden!!

Wait what? You mean the
Water coming from the street
Damaged your garden!!

                 - soufiani


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Yes and no. It didn't damage anything because we worked on diverting the water - but everything got flooded outside. We tend to have no rain for most of the year and when we get a storm, it is often a lot of rain in a very short time. Streets are turning into rivers and many areas get flooded. I will take a rain video next time...

Yay! Rain for Marianne!!!! Finally!

Yup. We got rain! and if I can afford it at all, I am going to try to get a 5000 gal rainwater tank...

Would it be easier to get some IBC totes, or are they not as good?

Posted using Partiko Android

I have one. but they are small. to get the same amount of storage, I would need 18+ totes and that would cost about the same and take up a lot of real estate. We shall see how we are moving forward with this... You will find out for sure through the posts. LOL

Woah, yeah. 18 totes is giant.

Now you got my wheels turning... You could make something with totes as walls if you had that many of them lol but that wouldn't be efficient at all because those things are pretty huge.

actually, if you have a big enough property, it would be a good thing. You can create your own micro-climate, have a pretty good wall that is probably good for noise control as well. And it would have been a good thing when it was still possible to get them for free. Here, so many people want them that they are almost $ 200 a piece (used, previously filled with non-toxic substances)

Wow! They're under $100 here, usually around $50. I got mine for free from a guy at work. I eventually want a few more though. Gonna put em up on small water towers and feed them from roofs around the property.

Posted using Partiko Android

We used to be able to get them for free. No more. Grab as many as you can if you have a free option. Just make sure no poisonous chemicals were transported in them.

If it has not rained much. there is all kinds of trash in every place water needs to flow. Time for crews to do some clean up probably. I hope you get a break over there :)

It actually came from a private property. I hope it wasn't chlorinated pool water...

Me too! That would be awful for your garden.

oh dear
You really have your work cut out for you
And it's Christmas time too
ai ai ai
<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22