Depression and the Holidays


Hey Friends. Have you ever felt a bit off this time of year? Maybe a little blue around the holidays? Often times it has a lot to do with managing our expectations.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

LOL it is depressing since our expectations in the crypto world is met with a rabid bear.

Yeah that certainly adds to the problem!

I don't normally have anything like depression around the holidays..... because that is just not how I roll, but if things aren't exciting and rewarding enough by themselves, the best Pick-me-up to me is look around and see if I know or can find someone who needs a little cheering and then I pursue that. Doing something nice for someone else gives both ways.

Yes I have always believed there are those that have it worse and if you can do a little something for them, well it is sure to brighten your day.

I'm not prone to depression, but, that is not to say that I won't ever be. Thanks for the frank talk about depression and what can be done for it, and the signs to watch for it. And for goodness sake, if you see someone who is depressed, try talking to them or including them in something. Most times around the holidays, it is about missing someone, something or some place.

We don't have to worry about you... right? Because you know we would.

Upped and steemed

!tip

Yes I am a big believer in talking. Just taking the time to show a body that someone cares is of immense value. Literally that simple act could save a life, you just never know.

Oh no not at all. I mean I may go into Eeyore mode for a brief spell, but in no time its back to a cross between Tigger and Pooh Bear. ;)

Much obliged for the tip, Ma'am.

I wasn't meaning you were Depressed, although if you were, you know where you can go... that is all. Eyeore.

The tip is my pleasure, of course.

I'm not a depressive person either, but due to my son's ptsd, I got into self help groups for depression and anxiety about a year ago. I had no idea of the struggles. Holidays are worse for the people in those groups, and they do really feel like everyone else has a better life and more support than they do. The "managing expectations" idea is a great one, but some people are too far gone to even get there.

I worked at a hospital and holidays were always the worst. I am sorry about your son and I hope that the support is helping. xoxo

He's not doing to well, but I pray he will soon. When he is in support groups it is the best time. Drugs and doctors do not help as far as I can tell - for him and for others.

Well thank you for the "managing expectations" idea is a great one. I agree with you, this is really geared for those of us that are prone to winter melancholy rather than clinical depression. I wish you and your son the best, truly.

Thank you very much. I've had some situational depression a few times and it was not good. It passes quickly for me though, and I am so grateful for that.

🎁 Hi @old-guy-photos! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

@old-guy-photos,

I think I'm going to be OK this year, Ol' Guy. Since joining Steemit, I've mastered the Art of Low Expectation.

Quill

See it does come in handy lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85