Natural Dyeing – My First Attempts – BLACK BEANS

in #dyeing6 years ago

Alright so my first attempt with Nettles was a failure…

But I learned from it.
Next I tried natural dyeing with black beans which is a no heat method.
Supplies:

  • Big Pot (Don’t use it for anything but Dyeing!)
  • Mixing spoon (same thing only for dyeing)
  • Soda Ash
  • Alum & Cream or Tartar
  • Cotton Fabric
  • Bag of black beans

First Scour:
Wash 1lb of fabric in 1oz of Soda ash boiling for 1-2 hours, allow it to cool over night. Repeat if the water is super yucky.

Second Mordant:
Add 1lb of scoured fabric to a pot filled with boiling water and 1/4lb Alum + 1oz Cream of Tartar. Simmer for 1 hour.
Allow to cool overnight.

Now to make the black bean dye…
Get a bunch of black beans. Soak them overnight. Drain out the liquid into a bucket or jar. Use the black beans for chili! Add your fabric to the black bean juice you drained off of them and leave it for as long as you feel. I left mine for 2 or 3 days and was very surprised with how dark my finals came out!

And after a rinse… They do change color…

I put another piece of fabric in for about 10 minutes and got this variation that I’m much happier with.

Let your newly dyed fabric dry on a line and then rinse it out in cold water. Let it dry again and you have your finished product.

Some successes, some failures… For my second attempt at natural dyeing, I’d say my results were better than with the nettles!


Sort:  

Nice! Love the creativity:)

That's an interesting dark blueish color from the beans.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79