A golden Eagle

in #eagle5 years ago

On my way out to my parents house yesterday, we passed a field. The same field we pass every time we go out there. This is a pretty interesting field. It is right before a river valley and last year, it was full of industrial hemp. This year they grew wheat or something normal and a little less interesting. But I digress.

Yesterday, when we passed this field, I was pointing out to my super dope female companion some 'volunteer' cannabis plants that were still growing despite it being planted last growing season. They call it weed for a reason. There is still a ton of hemp growing in that field. As I was pointing out all of the hemp still growing in that field, I saw a big bird in the field. Standing next to a bunch of ravens, it dwarfed them. It must have been standing about 3 feet tall.

My lady asked what it was and I told her that I didn't know... maybe a big owl?

She hit the brakes and pulled a u-turn and we stopped by the field. I got out of the car and walked towards this bird, who was likely 100 meters away. I got a bit closer and this bird spread its wings. It was incredible! We got to my parents house and looked at some bird books and deduced that it had to be a golden eagle.

It must have had a 7 foot wing span and it flew around for us to see for a good minute before it disappeared into a nearby forest. We have both seen eagles before. In fact, we saw a bald eagle today on the way home. It was hanging out with ravens snacking on a roadkill deer carcass. It flew in front of us for 15 seconds or so. It likely had a five foot wing span, which was really impressive, but not compared to the bird we saw yesterday.

We saw the legendary king of all eagles yesterday. The 99 percentile golden eagle. It was a very special moment. I took pictures with my phone, but they did not do the moment justice. So, I found a stock image of a golden eagle on pixabay to at least give you an idea of what I was looking at yesterday.

This bird could swoop down and pick up a young goat, sheep, coyote, human or a full grown rabbit, cat... I was absolutely awestruck at the size of this bird. Words really cannot describe, and saying words can't describe is likley as close as I can get.

golden-eagle-1665317_960_720.jpg

Sort:  

How awesome to see that bird.

Ya, it was incredible

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78