Earth Deeds: Autumn's Gift...

in #earthdeeds6 years ago

Autumn signifies to me the end of the growing season.
The trees stop growing and drop their leaves, going dormant for the winter. The leaves fall to the ground, returning some nutrients the tree had gathered back to the soil, preparing for next seasons growth.

autumns gift bags of leaves.JPG

To me this abundance of leaves is pure gold!

I gather them up for my garden and to mulch my fruit trees and bushes, building up the soil around them.
My friends and neighbors (who don't garden) know that this time of year I will be gathering leaves and they happily give them to me. Far better then seeing them going to the dump and filling up the landfills.

compost bins.jpg

Once I have everything mulched the extra goes in my compost bin, building soil that way.

TIP: If you don't have a compost bin you can just let the leaves break down in the garbage bags. This makes leaf mold which is great to add structure to the soil and help the soil retain water. Also that leaf mold creates a wonderful habitat for soil life, like earthworms and beneficial bacteria.

Leaf Mold - Easy to Make
*Rake up the leaves and pack as many as you can into the garbage bag (run over them with a lawnmower to break them up so they decompose easier and you can fit more in the bag)
*Tie the bag up just enough so you can still put a hose in to soak the leaves down.
*Set the bag someplace where it can get rain on and poke some holes in the bag big enough for worms to get in.
*Soak the leaves good and let sit for about six months then turn it over.
By twelve months you should have nice rich brown flaky particles, that have a nice earthy smell in the bag, ready to use.

Photos are my originals.


Sort:  

Congrats you won the daily Gogreenbuddy upvote worth roughly 50 cents! Keep writing like this and you will keep winning!

Thank-you!

Damn you have some sexy compost bins there woman. I get excited about leaves as well as layering my compost!!

Posted using Partiko Android

For real! Look at em!

Congratulations @porters! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

So much yes! Thanks @goldendawne for sharing this one in the GHSC discord server!

We'll be gathering leaves this fall from our fourteen deciduous trees. I imagine there'll still be plenty to cover the ground after we've gathered what we want. Being the handyman for my mother in law, I'll get her live oak leaves in the spring too. Think I'll make a compost pile the size of a truck...

Thank-you too @goldendawne for sharing this on the GHSC discord! Lucky you to get a whole truck load of leaves for composting!

Once again providing amazing Earth conscious information I see. Great job @Porters as always. I am stoked to try this myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62