The Hell With All That Plastic! What is Wrong With Us People?

in #earthdeeds5 years ago

This has been something that's bothered me for a long time... Why do people still buy vegetables wrapped under plastic and styrofoam?

20190109_152022.jpg

Steem line 2.png

I'm pretty sure you can see clearly in the picture above how much of the aisle is covered in plastic. It's outrageous really, and I'm not sure how the psychology behind this behaviour lies, how have we become so content with sterilization, how is it that germophobia has taken over so much of the westerner's mindset?

Look at the other end of the same aisle:

20190109_152028.jpg

You see? Plastice for ever... it goes all the way down the aisle! There were very few naked vegetables. I try to buy as little food under plastic as I can as one way to save a piece of the panet... In other words this is one of my #EarthDeeds. Thanks to @Elamental for that tag!

20190109_153254.jpg

And I don't claim to be a saint when it comea to this kind of stuff, I could have gone to another store to get my carrots, lentils, and mushrooms, I'm nor really sure why I didn't.

The flour I got because all the bread is basically shit in these stores or it's stupide expensive... so I'll be making bread again. Same thing goes for the yogurt, I should get into making that too, it's so simple!

Well, thanks for joining me on this rant, I would love some feedback on what supermakets behaviors are like in different areas of the world. How expensive is it to eat healthy from your conveniance shops and how available is it?

The market I just brought you to is in Brooklyn, NY. Buying organic can get expensive here but it is found just about everywhere. On the other hand, buying food in bulk to avoid packaging isn't very popular.

Steem line 2.png

QUOTE OF THE MONTH: @BinaryFlat

I am not what I used to be, and I never was.

(If you want your quote featured here, lookout for the next contest!)

THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED

Steem line 2.png

coop-logo-1.png

Join Us On Discord

If you want to know what really is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

And don't forget… Dreams Come True!

Sort:  

It's a global problem. Big here in Oz too. Glad you're doing your bit though

Posted using Partiko Android

I've asked the market about the courgette... if I wanted a dozen I would have had to buy 4 packets of 3!! That's crazy, it neans wasting 4 styrofoam bottoms and the cellophane. They coudn't get me 12 of them from the back! Wilde right.

It still baffles me as to why they do that... but @mondoshawan has a great way of dealing with this when he's obligated to buy sith plastic and other things... leave all the waste in the market's bin and maybe if enough people do that they can be overwhelmed and change!!!

Rant on. Serious problem here in Cascadia. The local food co-op is pretty good, but extremely expensive. Or I can go to Trader Joe's and buy everything cheaper, but totally wrapped in plastic, like your photos above. It's a no win situation when you have a tight food budget.

The whole thing is kind of disgraceful. Well I guess it is part of the reason why we are building a homestead. No more plastic on our vegetable and we'll know where they come from exactly!

Same problem with all the plastic here in South Africa... It is so disgusting. Not only the problems it causes the environment, but the health implications for humans, too.
A big goal of mine this year is to go totally waste-free!!

Ooh very nice goal! I'm not confident I can do it myself, not yet... I would like to start trying as mu chi as possible though. Also with clothing, all that microfiber stuff is bothersome!

If the vegetables sit in the plastic too long, I think they start to taste like the plastic. I’m guessing buying veggies in bulk isn’t popular because most people hardly eat any veggies.

Haha true, not too many veggies in people's diets!!! I should have been more specific when I was talking about buying in bulk, I meant things like beens or cereal and rice in order to save on packaging.

Agreed! Lose the dang plastic already.

Yeah right? It's so crazy

When obliged shopping in markets like this, after I paid for I unpack all the packaging possible, to leave in a bin at the market and I'm talking about everything...
If they unable to propose/support an ecological way of living, at least they can occupy themselves with the waste disposal.
I'm sure if most people would do this, the markets started right away thinking and handling otherwise...

Ah man that's an excellent idea!!! Haha yes, I love it and will have to take up that practice. For sure if more people do this they might start thinking about it!

Thanks for the idea

;) pleasure... Just be aware that you may will also be expelled in some places. I am for sure... :D

Ooh all the more challenging... (that challenging in a good way, maybe I ment stimulating!)

its a crime against nature. 1) to wrap up all those lovely veggies and 2) to create all that plastic waste

Yeah it's completely insane, I really don't understand it

Congratulations @senorcoconut! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Oh this really annoys me, it just makes no sense having all those fruit and veg in plastic. The amount of waste is huge. I am so lucky where I live, as you well know, I get my fruit and veg at the market which are never covered or else I can go to the health store where they are not covered either, I also grow some of my own so that helps, but really we are kind of living in a plastic world and lots of people just don't care, it's more about being convenient for them xx

Ah european markets...! Well I know only about france and spain really. They are so much cheaper than in the US. You know here (in the northeast usa) market prices are so hiked up compared to the shops, it's kind of crazy! And the produce isn't necessarily any better. What a shame again!

yeah I do feel lucky, but really annoyed that markets have been bullied out by chain stores in other countries, hopefully things are changing xxx

Yeah, it looks like people are waking up. Definitely in the US, more people want to eat healthier and there seem to be another wave of homesteaders coming in!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82