Essential for the Helping Hands: The Volunteer Kitchen

in #earthship6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Essential for the Helping Hands: The Volunteer Kitchen


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

Awesome! I'd love to do what you're doing! I spent 9 months offgrid two years ago. I enjoyed almost every aspect of it. I was unable to get online which was a problem for me - and the company was terrible ( a 'friend' who turned out to be very abusive), but other than that it was a very good learning experience.

Thanks for sharing!

Cool! Where about do did you stay off-grid, and in what type of building?

I was in NE Washington. My "friend" had a mobile home there - as well as a semi-finished cabin (which had previously been infested by packrats... nasty things! ) We didn't have any conveniences other than some batteries for cheap strings of lights that mostly served as nightlights (sometimes).

Wood heat, earth fridge (I was amazed how well that worked), learned to cook over an open fire and eventually on a wood cook stove. Used propane-fueled lamps - had to defend our chickens against a young black bear... I really did love the lifestyle and would definitely do it again.

Mobile homes, batteries, wood stoves, and black bears are all things I can relate to.

I'm sure. For good and for bad...

I had this little pomchi (pomeranian/chihuahua mix) who would chase that bear without hesitation. The bear didn't seem to realize that it could have done a lot of damage to that little dog.

Oh no! Well, our bear here just plundered the granola I made, about three kilos worth! As for the dogs: they either didn't notice or just didn't care. I'm upset about the granola, still I'd feel bad about calling the authorities to "take care" of our bear.

Our bear killed several of our chickens - smashed up my brooding cage.... It was almost comical looking outside and seeing this big bear chasing a chicken. Me running outside and scaring it off wasn't quite so comical... at least not to me - or the bear. Another time, it went over, under and through my chicken pen... Those chickens survived... Frustrating though.

Congratulations @stortebeker your post had been selected for an upvote worth ~$1.87 as part of the @ecoTrain minnow support project. Your upvote will come soon!

I hope this encourages you to keep writing amazing posts and making this world a better place!.




JOIN US ON DISCORD
https://discord.gg/XwAmRWW

Thank you, and yes, whenever I can catch some WiFi I'll be posting.

I just visited here earlier and didn't see anything, nice to see a blog up and always great to read on your progression. I really like the nice touch the flags add =)

Thanks @chelsea88! As you can see, I'm batch-posting these days: 2-3 posts I've diligently written up and prepared for my rare and seldom Internet outings, consuming at the pub or the café (or at the Chinese eatery, as I'm doing today).
Flags: yeah, there should be more of them up before soon...!

That all looks so nice. I feel like I am so tired of saying to people that if they don't treat volunteers well and have a good structure (both physically and work-wise) then they revolt or walk. To see you putting in so much effort to provide comfort will pay off. Looks great and I'm so glad you're setting an example.

Hahaha, thank you! Being a volunteer myself, but here a month early to prepare for them puts me a bit in between the the two, making me appreciate them even more. And true: the more you care the more volunteers will. This'll be an awesome Summer!

How did you comes about volunteering there?

Tony and I met at the Earthship Academy in Taos, NM. Then I came to visit him two years ago to check out the saw-mill. This year I really hope we can get the roof on while I'm here.

Nice! What kinda roofing do you thinknis best for earthships? This is a question that always pops in my mind with natural building

Yeah things tend to take a little bit longer than expected, that's what I'm figuring out these days! Beautiful work though, really nice and again thank you for sharing. I'm following the whole thing... well I'm trying to.

I know, it's not easy balancing between doing awesome things and writing about them. Right now, close to midnight, I'm standing on the highway, outside a cafe, about 10 min. by bike from the property, just to do some Internetring.

Brave and full of energy! Must be all the biking around... i get exausted by about 9 at nigjt!!! But than I wake up at 6 in the morning.
Steem on!

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

If you're interested in coming to visit or better volunteer for a while, please contact [email protected] and visit http://thedoighouse.com/ Looking forward to getting to know you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30