Something I'm proud of building, the most powerful ebikes! Prototype is being built 180mph 320nm!!!

in #ebike6 years ago

Specifications
Power down 5kw peak 8.5kw.
Power Source / battery - 75v 30ah 2250wh/2.25kw/h
Ranges quoted without pedal assistance pedaling will increase quoted ranges. Real ranges at wide open throttle!
Mode/Speed/Range
Economy/30mph/50miles
Medium/40mph/38miles
Power/50mph/25miles

So I built something that at the time, I was told it couldn't be done.

This was a very nice design and was the first custom build I did for a client. It took me 3 months to build everything from basically scratch. It was a passion that turned in to a hobby that got a following then I tried to turn it into a business but with the amounts needed to make it viable and I was only one man. When you have to modify circuit boards at the component level by hand. Source parts from literally all over the world. Remanufacture and rewind motors with higher quality windings by hand! Beef up the gauge and quality of all the wires out the hub then all the way through. Even that video I had to learn how to edit videos and software and have custom animations build. even spent a week on blender making videos.

Then the batteries man, the number of cells that you have to tie together, first just finding cells that can handle the amount of demand and fit in the cavity, and be able to hit the right configuration to get to 75v. Then the wiring! I used 1.4k of wire on just balancing cells. The bike could power your house tho haha. then had to build the forks and all the boxes they may look like Harley forks but they are solid!

Then the welding of Alu that I had to learn from youtube after buying a welder and practicing, I was committed and passionate. I'm good with Alu and steel welding now and painting. I upgraded the circuit boards put it all together and there you are, everyone said it couldn't be done and there it is!

Delivered with about 580 hours of passion gone into a one-off custom bike.

I built an off-road bike the does 70 mph!

With its casing on you would never know ;)

A later project that was lower power but the client wanted it to look "cool as fuck" and have the torque to get him up hills, off-road.

These builds take up so much time that I forgot about the Mammoth motor I had made, I built a 36fet custom controller to try and power it and it blew up! so I put the project aside while I build the others.

Years later I found my self-looking at this motor, I said out loud to her "I can't go through this again it hurt me too much no not be able to bring you to life last time after coming so close." It was a stormy night and raining and I turned to walk away when the lightning hit the ground outside my garage. It may have been the electricity in the air that charged me up, I turned back to the garage bench, let's go crazy here for a minute, I looked at this motor on the frame its ready to go. Girl you're just too powerful, nothing can deliver the power and be small enough to ride. We need to wait a few more years or I will have to build it from scratch and that will take a lot of time and money, and it might never work!

I wanted a motor to handle 30kw the manufacturers laughed at me, it cant be done they told me! Don't tell me what can't be done! I built it but now what, I can't give it the power it needs to live!

I searched and searched and it seems there may be hope from Kelly controllers, they offer a controller that may just be enough, well with some modification, as usual, to bring up the standards. So finally my girl can live. The hub hit 320nm of torque and span up to 2420rpm under load on a 17" rim. That's 180mph in under 2 seconds under load!

The Controller fried under the test and took 70% of my cells That was £3500 in cells gone in literally a flash! so I have spent some time trying to repair and modify the controller so it can handle more power. As tech has come along in the EV world it is possible now and just trying to make a design small enough to allow for batteries in a small frame. I want this thing to be light, it will probably kill me but I'm an electric head, if that is the equivalent to a petrol head?

This controller is much bigger and heavier, so I either have to redesign my frame or use fewer cells. With battery tech coming along since I planned and built the frame, it can accommodate similar power Ah in a smaller area. But more cells more power Hmm.

The cost of this project as you can imagine is irrelevant at this point, last is to buy the cells and dissappear in to the back room with a soldering iron for a few days. When I return I will have all the components to finish the build, it's become a legend as I have had to work as I couldn't raise the funding to do this as a full-time job. But wimbikes still lives. I work in the forums now on one-off commissioned builds.

The requirement I need to know is how fast? what range? What budget? I go away and work out a build that meets the requirements. My requirements for my Frankenstein project was over 150mph, able to beat 450cc crosser off road, have range of 25 miles off road. and look like a pedal bike to be able to ride on the roads between places.

I hope to follow up soon with the Mammoth finished build that has been 4 years in the making, It will do 180mph. and be more torquey than and ice off-road bike. Based on an LMX frame that is being modified to hold more cells and the huge controller. The swing arm is basically being totally rebuilt to cope with the weight of the heavy hub.

Watch this space, I'm looking to break some records with this build. If you want something silly building, that doesn't exist, I'm your guy! These things are not cheap but they will make you smile like a child when feel more power than ever before on a bike.

I don't build for laws on power, I build a custom off-road bike that looks like it can be ridden on the road ;) what you do with your property is your business. ;)

Keep smiling

I plan on sharing and documenting my future builds on Steemit now and share the journey. Moral of this story... Never tell me what I can't do! because there is a strong likelihood I will disappear and spend half a decade building it just to turn around and say YES I CAN!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16