Get an epub version of Ragnarok Conspiracy for 0.001 SBD, 0.001 STEEM or whatever you feel it is worth.

in #ebook6 years ago (edited)

A While ago I posted that my Novel Ragnarok Conspiracy with bonus stories Orussian Quarantine and Atheist Afterlife is available at reader sets price on smashwords. This means you could get it for free or any price you thought it was worth, but you still had to go through the hassle of setting up a smashwords account.

Recently, on my @mattockfs account, I posted a tutorial on using micro-transactions for authentication with STEEM. Now, with a minor change to the code I wrote for that tutorial, I created a little asyncsteem site that allows you to get an epub copy of my novel for 0.001 STEEM, 0.001 SBD, or whatever price you feel the book is worth to you.

epub.timelord.ninja

If, in the past, you voted on any of my Ragnarok Conspiracy posts, consider the book paid for, and transfer the minimum price of 0.001 STEEM or 0.001 SBD. If you never voted for any of my fiction, please pay what you find a reasonable price, considering the lowest outlet price for my epub today is €1.77.

25 STEEM waiting for a bounty or contest.

So far, while I have had great feedback from the steemit community on my fiction and quite some downloads of my work from several channels, I still haven't had a single review posted by anyone on any of the channels or on goodreads. I am currently contemplating running some kind of contest or bounty that might get my at least a few reviews. I'm not sure yet what form the contest or bounty will take, but I know it will involve writing a review of my main story on goodreads or one of the channels my book sells on. Tips on how I should shape this contest are highly welcomed.

Extend or wait for steemshop to implement microtransactions?

I like the idea of expanding on this single author single book server and making it into a platform where STEEM authors can upload and sell their fiction against STEEM or SBD. Given though that this server currently runs on an LXC container on my (2GB RAM) NAS, and I don't have anything bigger at my disposal, I would probably need to buy some serious iron for that first, or find someone to team up with who has some more professional server setup at his/her disposal. Alternatively, I could wait to see if steemshop by @sndbox goes multi-language, ads themed shops and catches up to the microtransactions idea.
If you are a steemit fiction author, please comment on this post if you feel I should pursue this idea. Should we have an e-books only steem webshop built on (micro) transaction-based authentication in a way similar to the way this epub download works? I am looking for input from other authors. If such a service would exist and would be free, would you publish your ebooks on it? The idea I currently have is the following economic model:

  • An author account can be created for 1 STEEM per up to 10 different books.
  • Epub books have a maximum yet to determine file size (no picture books, 2000 page omnibus books, etc)
  • The first download by a customer is authenticated through the purchase transaction directly to the author, no transaction cost for the platform.
  • When a customer later wants to download his/her books again, the microtransaction for authentication goes to the server owner.
  • No steemconnect, period, STEEM transaction and cookie based authentication and payments only.

Sort:  

Done. Transfer, authentication, and download all worked out smoothly. 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10