Shampoo Bars | Reduce Plastic Use

in #eco5 years ago

One of my latest and favourite new eco adds to my lifestyle is shampoo bars!

I used to make my own shampoo years ago using the most awesome multi purpose soap - castile soap. But it was a bit of effort and didn't seem to suit my hair well back then.

Shampoo bars were totally new to me, until I tried out @teodora's awesome Lush one, when we were roomies at Steemfest3 :)

Since then, I was converted, but wanted to use up whatever bottled shampoos I had left at home.


I was looking online for different choices and found lots of people selling their homemade shampoo soap bars on sites like Etsy and Ebay. And of course, there some options on Amazon and Lush, at fairly reasonable prices.

But one day, I went into a random Organic shop and fortunately for me, they stocked shampoo bars made in the UK!

What's crazy was they were only £2.30 each and one bar is meant to last about 3 months of use!

They're vegan, cruelty free, sls free, paraben free, plastic free and much cheaper than 1 bottle of any liquid shampoo you can find commercially, with the same qualities.

I also love that it's made in England, it's always great to support local businesses!

One other major benefit to using a shampoo bar is you don't need to worry about travelling with liquids, so they're perfect for travelling!!!


After switching from liquid shampoo to this, my hair felt very different, and felt more waxy.

After a week of use, I experimented enough to know that I just need a good conditioner to counteract it.

I now have hair that stays non greasy for much longer!

I will definitely try out different brands in the future, but for now, very happy with this new eco add to my lifestyle :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I have conditioner as well I just didn't carry with me at SF3. I am so happy that I have so many earth concient friends 🥰🥰🥰

Posted using Partiko Android

Hopefully more and more <3

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, wow! I tend to buy a good 1l of Shampoo cause it just makes sense but never looked at the bar option. I love Lush and already use face moisturiser and the teeth tabs, will get the shampoo next time! By the way, if you ever like to come to B'ham, know that we have now the biggest and coolest Lush shop ever! I mean it!
https://www.birminghammail.co.uk/whats-on/shopping/lush-opens-worlds-biggest-store-15540924

I'm sure you'll love the Lush Shampoo bars!

And that looks crazy!!! I'm sure I'll be up there at some point this year! Are you going to Steem Camp this year? :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I actually looked up the website because I want to order from them! :D They postage is quite expensive but the total for 1 bar is still cheaper than anything else, and I loved the product :D

Wow really? You guys are more eco conscious though, I'm sure you'll find places selling stuff like this over there right?

Or you could consider coming over again and stocking up :P

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah - I guess there will be brands! Couldn't find it while googling though, so will have to do some 'actual' shopping to see what I can find :D It's the price that makes it such a wonderful find!!! Heck, it's so cheap I can actually just come back to London soon just to buy them! :') Lol.

Hahah I think that's settled then ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

I’ve used some made from soap nuts (living naturally) which was really nice and made in the UK (however the export of soap nuts is a slight issue) but now Ive got some from Lush (Christmas present) I’m also using Lush’s deodorant bar.
I’m trying to reduce plastics too. Plastic is everywhere!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Such a great way to reduce plastics I think. And ingredients in shampoo soap bars tend to be natural and much higher quality too, so win win! The Lush ones smell so good :) If I don't find anything better when mine runs out, will have to get Lush!

Posted using Partiko Android

Lush have less ‘natural’ ingredients but do smell nice!
I might try the one you got next.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Mmm... Thats a new one on me, must see if we have any here in Taiwan

Oh yea! And if not, maybe you'd be interested in making your own?? :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @redrica!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.951 which ranks you at #1193 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 70 places in the last three days (old rank 1263).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 210 contributions, your post is ranked at #59.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I've not seen these and they not made too far from me .... need to get on it. We need more organic shops up north well in the more rural areas 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89