@ecotrain Question Of The Week Tie-Up Post: What Do You Need to Be Happy?

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)


I'd like to begin with a poem.

So early it's still almost dark out.
I'm near the window with coffee,
and the usual early morning stuff
that passes for thought.

When I see the boy and his friend
walking up the road
to deliver the newspaper.

They wear caps and sweaters,
and one boy has a bag over his shoulder.
They are so happy
they aren't saying anything, these boys.

I think if they could, they would take
each other's arm.
It's early in the morning,
and they are doing this thing together.

They come on, slowly.
The sky is taking on light,
though the moon still hangs pale over the water.

Such beauty that for a minute
death and ambition, even love,
doesn't enter into this.

Happiness. It comes on
unexpectedly. And goes beyond, really,
any early morning talk about it.

by Raymond Carver

Happiness or Bliss?

Happiness is a pleasure between two pains. That is to say, it will always be temporary because there is no happiness without unhappiness. This is quite different from Bliss, which is something very special indeed, that few come to know, and those who have attained it will know it forever. Whilst this Question Of The Week isn't about Bliss, I would like to share a few words from Osho on Bliss.


Happiness Depends on Unhappiness

“My effort here is to create bliss, not happiness. Happiness is worthless; it depends on unhappiness. Bliss is transcendence: one moves beyond the duality of being happy and unhappy. One watches both; happiness comes, one watches and does not become identified with it. One does not say, ‘I am happy. Peace, it is wonderful.’ One simply watches, one says, ‘Yes, a white cloud passing.’

"And then comes unhappiness, and one does not become unhappy either. One says, ‘A black cloud passing. I am the witness, the watcher."

This is what meditation is all about, just becoming a watcher. Failure comes, success comes, you are praised, you are condemned, you are respected, you are insulted – all kinds of things come, they are all dualities. And you go on watching. Watching the duality, a third force arises in you; a third dimension arises in you. The duality means two dimensions: one dimension is happiness; another is unhappiness. Watching both, a depth arises in you: the third dimension, witnessing, sakshin.

“And that third dimension brings bliss. Bliss is without any opposite to it. It is serene, tranquil, cool. It is ecstasy without any excitement.”

Osho, Philosophia Perennis, Vol. 1, Talk #9

So what exactly is happiness then? This is the question that we have all been pondering, and below you can discover what the wonderful @ecotrain passengers have unearthed. The #ecotrain community holds so much wisdom and beautiful heart energy. It seems that even the most simple question brings up so many amazing posts! I'm very proud to be driving this @ecotrain because of the people you will meet below, so if you are looking to meet open, authentic, holistic minded people then you have arrived at the right station!


 

@holisticmom

We are brought up in a world where we are taught that reliance on others, wealth and material things are the answer to our happiness. From a young age we are drawn in to a world of consumerism which offers sticky tape quick fixes. Mask over your problems by fixing the outside. There is this long standing assumption that we all need to look attractive, adhere to a certain dress code, have a nice house, car, good career. The game of life will supposedly fulfill us and make us happy. We are expected to be happy all the time and if we aren't... well have some pills to mask those feelings of unhappiness.

I see it everywhere. We are not allowed to be unhappy. It seems to be a common theme lately. You only have to look at the way Facebook deals with it's news feed and the agenda they push to only allow happy things because it's been deemed trendy to make a big fuss about things that offend us. However if we take a step back and actually look at the hidden agenda, we will see that all this manufactured band aid 'happiness' is actually just another way that corporations make huge profits from us. We are taught to rely on other people and material things to dictate the spectrum of happiness.

 

@nainaztengra

What Do you Need to be Happy?
A delightful topic brought up by Alex @eco-alex.
The moment I read I had a smile on my face, so to think of it just the word Happy brings happiness. So much of positive energy in the word itself.

I will write this article in 2 sections; 1 where I feel happiness is our basic nature and we actually should not need any support systems to be Happy and the other being what actually brings me a lot of happiness.

Definition of Happiness is very subjective, sometimes we look for it outward and there are times when we are happy just by ourselves. To think of it happiness is a part of us and our basic nature. We do not need support systems to be in a state of joy and bliss. We ourselves can be bundle of Joy.

We go for a nice dinner we feel happy. Ok the mood next day is also good since we have spent some good time, but day after that the pleasantness is off and again back to the rut. A small car accident on the road and we are off for the whole day or may be couple of days. A recognition at work and we are at the top of the world. Boss fires and the whole world comes crashing down.
So is life all about this I mean "Living Externally". I will not say 100% but OK I can say around 80% of people are living life "Externally". When I say Externally what does it mean, it means all our happiness, joy, sorrow come from external experiences.

@trucklife-family

What I need to be happy is what I already have. Happiness is a state of mind, it is choice that we make. As an adult I am the creator of my reality, there may be things that influence me, but it is my choices and my decisions that create the direction in which my life goes.

I choose to be happy, to live in the moment, to appreciate everything that comes my way. To find joy in the simple things in life. I choose to see the beauty that surrounds my life, the beauty of my natural environment. I choose to smell the roses, to talk with the trees and walk barefoot on the earth. I choose to feel the connection with all living things.

I choose to listen to my inner voice, to my inner wisdom. I choose to embrace and express my emotions, to allow my anger to motivate me, my rage to carry me. They are a part of me and in accepting myself, the good and the bad, I accept who I am. I choose to sing and to dance. I choose to write and to share. I choose not to watch T.V, not to read papers, not to listen. Instead I listen to what I need to know.

@aware007

I am so very, very thankful to say that the answer to this question, at long last, is very easy, short and right at my virtual fingertips. What I need to be happy is the knowing that I now possess. The knowing that the real me, as with all others, is utterly indestructible. The knowing that I love, and am loved, beyond words. The knowing that I now, for the very first time in my life, work tirelessly at all I do because it's easy to do because it feels good, it feels right, and all of it is done with love, and is done for the benefit of the All.

And finally, I'm learning first hand that I have the power to create my experience here on Earth in any way that I like. I can have, be and do anything I wish. I know this because as I practice this ability I'm experiencing so many synchronicities that writing them off as coincidence is laughable. And with this newfound ability, my potential for offering service and aid to the All is made virtually limitless.

@riverflows

Ah, the elusive happiness!! It seems we are all chasing it in one way or another, even though we don't quite realise it. In thinking about @ecotrain's question of the week, I have to ask myself whether I'm happy. Thankfully, on the whole I generally am. I see a lot of joy in my life and a lot of things to be grateful for, so I guess that's happiness. So whatever I need to be happy, I guess I got me some of that. How blessed am I!

Here's a few of the things that make me genuinely happy: I have a loving relationship with my family and a few close friends who love me unconditionally I am married to my best friend I have a stable income and a roof over my head I live in a safe and stable country with a good health care system I feel I've made changes in my life to alter the stresses that caused the majority of my anxiety and depression I have a beautiful house and 5 acres of land to grown my own food and garden I live in nature and close to my beloved ocean I am fit and healthy I have the means to travel and do things that temporarily 'boost' my happiness.

Now that's probably the key to this happiness malarky - the knowledge of impermanence. Nothing lasts, ever. Any of those things can change at any moment, god forbid. My father's been ill and I know I might lose this man that's been the central force in my life forever. I know I too might get ill, or suffer an accident. Or Jamie. Being in bed for the last two days with an illness has been challenging to say the least.

@zen-art

A search for happiness has for long been a topic of study for many philosophers. There were great thinkers, some still alive, who gave various pieces of advice on how to live a happy and satisfying life. Enjoy the little things, stop and smell the roses, be positive, love what you do and do what you love... So many great sayings that will go on even when we are gone and continue to inspire people. They will try to inspire at least but will not always be successful. What is the secret then? What do we truly need to be happy? Everything? Nothing?

I too have been pondering upon this question for some time, years to be more precise, my whole life if I am being completly honest. If you look at my steemit blog page you will see that my cover image (the one with two green doors and two green windows on it) has some words on it. It says Philosophy of happiness. It is challenging to explain what that philosophy stands for without going into too many words. Some things are best learned through experience. I will, however, try to bring you closer to my point of view.

@solarsupermama

I want to say the answer to this is very simple. The only thing I need to be happy is to decide to be happy. There isn’t a thing or a person or a circumstance. Happiness is a choice. Sometimes I choose it, and sometimes I don’t. It’s really that simple.

Certainly there are situations that make it easier. There are a host of things I enjoy doing, and it’s definitely easier to be happy when I am doing something I enjoy, like playing with my kids, traveling, swimming, walking on the beach, hanging out with friends and family, and drinking beer.

Money definitely makes happy easier, but that’s its own post quite frankly. I have been thinking a lot about this lately, and anyone who tells you otherwise is lying and probably doesn’t know what it’s like to be poor. Of course money won’t make you happy, but living without it creates a shitload of struggle, and I am totally certain of this.

Love, of course, makes happy easier. In fact, I think it is impossible to be unhappy in the early stages of love. It’s that blissed out, nothing can shake my joy feeling. That’s perfect deliciousness. In fact new friendships or close community can have a very similar effect. It’s wonderful to feel connected to others as it is a kind of closeness to God.

@hopehuggs

https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@hopehuggs/ecotrain-qotw-what-do-you-need-to-be-happy

Happiness is purely a choice. Only you can decide to be happy or not. If your goals are materialistic, in all likelihood you will be striving for goals that will never be achieved, as the latest and greatest and must have items change at such a fast rate. And the more you make, the more you want.

The Wrong Checklist:

Big House
Best Car
Cartier watch
Gucci handbag
All the latest gadgets

NO NO NO!!!

Nothing on that checklist will make you happy, not in the true meaning of happiness that is or for very long.

The moments of happiness felt would be fleeting and well they are dependant on other people and things.

True happiness comes from within you. Sure external stimuli and events have an impact, but at the end of the day, happiness is a simple choice.

@misslasvegas

This week's @ecotrain Question of the Week is an interesting one. Maybe even a hard one. I believe that happiness means something entirely different for different people. Some of us are happy with the simplest things, like the first flowers in bloom in spring. Others can have everything anyone's heart desires and are still never happy.

What makes one person happy can make another miserable.

I have a friend for instance, who loves the four seasons. So she would much rather be in a place where there is a sunny, mild spring - a warm, sunny summer, a rainy autumn and a cold, snowy winter.

For me, this would be hell!

In my perfect world there would be only spring and summer, maybe a little snow every now and then in the winter with otherwise mild temperatures.
But you can keep the long, cold and rainy autumns for all I care.
Funny enough, I don't mind warm, heavy summer rains.

I know, I moved to the wrong country because here in Ireland it's pretty much autumn or 'fall' all year around. Interesting name isn't it?

'FALL'

I've always wondered about that. It's probably used because of the falling of the leaves around that time of year (or so I imagine) but for me the name always had a much darker ring to it. More like: falling into depression kinda thing... Not that I'm a person who gets depressed easily. But I can imagine how the fall would make people depressed. Although I've learned to appreciate some of its beauty too.

@eco-alex

Oh Happiness! A wise man once said that "Happiness is a pleasure between two pains". Never a truer word said! Whilst you let that sink in let us think about what we need to be happy and what being happy really means. There are so many ways to answer this question! I could speak very philosophically about what happiness is and how it is a state of mind that we choose and are in control of. I could speak very practically about all the things we need to do or have to be happy, such a structure, balanced life, healthy diet, healthy relationships, exercise etc.. These points are all very true, in a way.. or are they? Does doing or owning anything really bring happiness, or are they just a bandage to pacify something deeper inside? Are some people just happy people, and it doesn’t really matter what they do or how they do it? It does seem that certain people are just generally happy, and others are generally just miserable.. so why is this, and why is it that many people just seem to be more or less one way or the other most of the time?!

After quite some thought, I have decided to really share what I need to make me happy.. at least in theory.. because in truth that answer lies way back from my earliest days in my mothers womb. You see, what I am saying is that for someone to be happy, they need to have had their core needs met as a child. If someone doesn’t get this gift of good parenting and a loving family, they will most likely spend their lives fighting an endless inner battle. Those people who are able to heal from this can of course become happy, but in my view it is our first 18 years that are crucial to determining whether we will be happy for the rest of our lives.

Thank you to everyone else who also posted on this QOTW, it's great to have you join us @steemflow, @alignment, @edave, @maulida and @zam398.

GOING DEEPER

I'd like to leave you with a VERY SPECIAL clip called "The Key To Happiness: Surrendering to Life - Eckhart Tolle"


The 8 Pillars of @TribeSteemUp

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

Discover amazing people in the ecoTrain magazine at @ecoTrain

Sort:  

wow thanks so much @eco-alex for your wonderful words and for putting all of this together, it really does feel so good to be a part of something that is putting so much love ad wisdom out into the world xxx

That is awesome!!

what a creativity!! lol

It was amazing to read different takes on this and see how they are very similar, I am very proud of us all 💚

Hey I tried to send 1SBD through Steembottracker, it went through, but ecotrain came back returning the 1SBD, and saying I had to reply to a message.

But I did not know how to reply to the message.

Do you know what that is?

it because you need to be whitelisted to use this bot.. ive had a look at your blog and it looks really good so ive now whitelisted you. Please send 1SBD or less..

enjoy the 11% ROI! ;-)

Excellent thank you! I’ll be adding it to a post later today.

Hey I just tried to send 1 again and it sent it back to me.

please read the memo of the transaction it will explain.. sometimes the bot is full so you need read the message and maybe try again later..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78