Meeting My First Steemian - Hey its REAL folks!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #ecotrain5 years ago


Good day my steemit family and tribe.. It sure has been a whirlwind of a week for me, and right now Im writing to you from Chiang Mai, Thailand. I have been on Steemit for a year and a half now and during that time have gotten to know so many people in the virtual world.... but until now have not met anyone in the flesh..

Sometimes i would wonder how REAL these people are here! I mean you know how the Internet can be! All my friends could just be bots, or 11 year old kids pretending to be adults! I remeber back in 1995 when i discovered this 'girl' i was chatting up for weeks turned out to be a guy! Boy did i feel like a twot!

Well ok, i dont think its really possible to create a bot that can mimic the incredible personalities and personas of the people I have met here on Steemit, but you you know how you do wonder how things will line up if you do actually meet.. Would things flow and would we still have the same things in common that we do on steemit or would things just not quite match up!

Well this last week I have been hangin' out with @artemislives and her daughter and cats and she was even kind enough to put me up for a few days whilst I figure my life out. I have to say, WHAT a pleasant surprise. It is VERY rare that I a meet people with such incredible heart, soul, and purpose. It is also quite rare to meet people that vastly under-exaggerate what they do for the world and the people around them.

Im normally done with conversation and people rather quickly these days, maybe im just getting old, or have just dont have time for normal chit chat type stuff.. and certainly dont spend hours talking with anyone since a very long time.. at least not face to face in one go..

Im SO happy to say that everything I have felt about @artemislives and all the people on the @ecotrain and no doubt @tribesteemup are the REAL DEAL! We are amazing people, surfing the very bleeding edge of technology and paving the way for a new paradigm here folks.. Our co-support is SO so important because many of us are bringing the gifts of both money and moral support deep into the real world.

@artemislives is a power house, and i dont think i've ever met someone who has endured so many challenges and tests, and risen above them all with such integrity and selflessness.. Just to say, @artemislives you are fucking awesome~!

So i just wanted to share this, because we are all awesome in our own ways.. and it is SUCH a pleasure and honor to be here with you all, my real family and soul group here on Steemit. I cant imagine life without you all, and shudder to imagine how many HOURS of time i would have wasted on Facebook if i had not discovered this place!

Steemit replaced the Internet for me, well ok maybe not youtube.. but in most respects it has been SO compelling that I am still here EVERY day, even though our rewards have taken a beating lately.. Those rewards are just a bonus, a GREAT bonus, but I, and so many like me are here for SO Much more than that...

SO it's in these times of Steemit Austerity that we discover who is here for what, and realise how amazing we all indeed are!

THANK YOU FOR BEING HERE, we are the ones we have been waiting for


Sending a light beam of love and gratitude to the centre of our our Steemit hearts.
Never lose hope, never give up, and always remember what is most important.. US!

<3

Sort:  

I have tears in my eyes - tears of gratitude - cos I feel exactly the same. IT IS REAL. I have been blessed by such generosity of spirit, wisdom, such practical teaching and simply the space to be myself, knowing that we have such shared values and already the facade is not required. A man who fixes the dripping tap before he leaves?? Damn - you have set the bar pretty damn high for the next steemian to pass by this way. 😜 Please note the emoji. 😍 And I DO HOPE to meet more of this amazing global-crypto-shared-values-eco-community. Blissed & Blessed and the cats are looking lonely and bewildered. x

hehe,, i didnt do nothing to your tap.. i just looked at it! as i say.. if its broke i will fix it by magic, and if its working dont let me near it!

Haha.... it is currently NOT dripping and so I'm a believer in your fix-it magic.

Hi Alex,

I am happy for you. Yeah, it's pretty special. I experienced this with two ( former ) Steemians in the past. They haven't become friends but there's at least a dozen of people on here ( and on Discord ) that I will no doubt click with in real life / face to face as much as online.

No matter how social these media might seem, in the end nothing beats vis-a-vis contact.

Keep smiling and connecting :>)

Really sounds like you both had a great time together and I really can understand why because you both are awesome!
I had the pleasure of meeting the lovely @vegan.niinja in the flesh and she is another awesome person and it was such a pleasure to hang out with her and now she is moving close to me.
I can't wait to get to meet you both and all our other train passengers and tribe members, it is very inspiring what we have created.
Such a great post Alex, I sure could feel the love xxx

thank you! yes one day some how somewhere we have to all meet up,, ON a train!

Hooray! So Happy to hear about real life meetups! I had my first encounter this summer and it really showed me how amazing this platform is and how much more we could be doing with it to reconnect and heal the world! May the connection adventures continue!

indeeeed! we rock! ha haaa..

Wow, this is such a beautiful story! I’m so glad you got to experience the greatness that comes with the TSU tribe spirit. It sounds like it has put a new perspective into your life:) I hope you continue to grow and find the path ahead with ease. Blessings to you both!

i love this! i absolutely love this! i am so happy both of you had such an excellent time connecting. the power of the blockchain. Xoxo

<3 we rock the house! one day ..l ONE day.. we shall All meet!

yesss!!! and in true #ecotrain form on a train-- i love this vision :) <3

I believe that the people we connect with on Steemit are like minded people and hence there is a good bonding that develops over a period of time. It must be a really very ecstatic moment to meet him. I have never met anyone on Steemit but I do wish to and I am sure it'll happen, but I have recieved great help from some of my steemit friends which has been incredible

totally, im sure one day you will meet some too,, hey maybe even an ecotrain gathering!

That would be wonderful and also you are always welcome to my City and be my guest. Muscat is a wonderful place and the best time to travel is between Nov and March

Thank u!! Never been to any uae country.. im always eating muscat dates! ;)

So happy that you guys are able to meet in person. Thats lovely!

@eco-alex and everyone, if by any chance, you happen to stop in Dubai. I would love to meet a Steemian.

it is so nice.. and thank you for the invitation! Ive never been to dubai and also never knew anyone there before.. im sure it would be much more fun and intersting to visit with a local!

Your image is perfect, btw. And such a sweet encapsulation of the last 2 days. 💜

This is amazing!!!!! 🌻 I also met vegan niinja how crazy is it to finally meet these ppl in real life. That's what I like about steemit unlike any other social media. The connection is so much stronger through here.

it SO is, i also love it when i see meetups happening.. and vegan niinja now as a new home and community from it.. now thats what its all about!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87