My weekly shop .. in the Hill-Station of Kodaikanal, India

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)


This world is so diverse, and the weekly shop is for me the time i get to visit my local town Kodaikanal. This means walking up a rather large hill to get to my neighbour who very kindly lets me use his motorbike, and then driving up very steep paths and treks until i reach the main roads and Kodaikanal about 40 minutes later. Kodai is a cute, sleepy hill-station with a great heart and incredible diversity. It was populated by Christian missionaries many years ago and today is a big mix of Tamil, Muslim, Christians, Hindus, and Jews. There is a very large international presence due to an international school and many tourists who travel here to enjoy the nature and wildlife.


I'm sure my weekly shop is quite different to yours, and so id like to share a bunch of photos from todays trip. I chose to photograph things i found intersting, rather than just the shops! Hope you enjoy Kodai!




The eucalyptus forest bordering my home




Nearly on the normal roads!






My weekly treat, Dominos! I was the first customer 5 years ago.. It looks like I am their only customer today!




This character is trying to find a new home for this kitten, he keeps it in his pocket.. awe poor kittie.. i gave him 20 rupees so it can have some milk.




As you can see i love cats.. this one was VERY receptive to some petting. Such blissful creatures..




The 'grand' entrance to my vegetable market




My local vegetable man! He sells plenty or organic produce and always lets me know what is good for me to have.




Time for a masala chai! (Tea) Still only 10rs! ($0.12 )




This little baby girl looked SO cute in pink





No day out is complete without a cow stop




These MEN are very intersting. They force all the shopkeepers to give them money or else they curse them. As you can see they look like they mean business! I nearly got a spank for photographing them! The shop keepers always give money, they get scared.. even i am like, holy shit they are really aggressive!





A traditional temple style entrance




My goat friends.. They are very playful and feisty. soon to be chopped up and eaten by hungry people,, ooh!!!






A happy family walking home


I just Love the name of this church!




nearly back home after 4 hours






Im always nervous riding through this bit, it goes deep!




The last walk back down the mountain to earthship karuna




Ahh there she is, home sweet home. Quite enough adventure for one week!




 

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain

** Click Here For More Information on the ecoTrain **


The 8 Pillars of @TribeSteemUp


Sort:  

This shows you have enjoyed every bits of India . you have shared each and every glimpse of India so perfectly....

Posted using Partiko Android

Great photos! What an amazing place you live in. Steep hills I am familiar with, though it's not quite India. Thanks for these awesome images of your shopping trip. I like the first headshot too!

thanks stortebeker! ;-)

Pictures like these are what makes the people and writers of Steemit come alive and feel real. Your market reminds me of the farmer's market we have. BTW I once was a Dominos mystery shopper. Thanks for sharing.

what a job! where can i sign up ;-) lol/ thanks !

Thank you for sharing your delightful shopping trip with us. Is this in Kerala state?

I'm surprised by the exchange rate. When I was in India back in early 2002 that tea would have cost you 50 cents (10 rupees). Either their currency is very weak or the dollar is very strong.

The men in dresses with the curse extortion! Well I guess they have to earn a living somehow.

thanks! it is just next to Kerala state, in Tamil Nadu.. up in the mountains.. wow 50 cents really!! that is massively different.> india economy has picked up a lot but i dont understand these exhcange rates

there is a bigger story to those men,, they are called eunuchs, the transgender community in India prefer to call themselves Kinnar or Kinner, referring to the mythological beings that excel at song and dance. I dont know much about them but they are Very sexual in their nature, and have this powerful energy.. if you dont give them money they all clap real loud and say something or other.. its quite a show..

x<3

How very not PC of you! 😘
They´re not men, they´re hijras, the third gender.

please let me more. .. u even used the right name.. good man.. i think they fancied me but never been seduced luckily

Beautiful!! Such a rich and gorgeous variety! It's incredibly beautiful where you have sited your earthship. And the kitties? Aaaawww... they're so chilled and precious and such a big and important part of Asia. Love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78