Environmental Hazards and Why I'm Fighting For Changes

in #ecotrain6 years ago

A couple of weeks ago as I was walking down to the harbor to meet my mother-in-law off the boat, I was greeted by a putrid burning from the incinerator that burns all the island's waste.

20180723_104252.jpg
This is the image I took on the day
Sark is a beautiful place to live or visit but this hazard that is situated so close to the harbor is old, dilapidated and no longer fit for purpose.

So I took a couple of snaps of the smoke and posted a discussion in the local community group.
The incinerator has been subject to great debate in recent years. Just a couple of months ago, during a meeting about the environmental exhibition, two of my friends and I were discussing solutions to this very problem.
In the comment thread of the discussion I proposed some of these solutions.

"Some solutions could be:

  1. Raise the funds for a new incinerator that can convert to electricity like Jersey have.
  2. Start a trash separator like all other EU countries have. Jersey currently doesn't have enough trash to fuel its incinerator perhaps they would help with the cost of exporting to them?
    Maybe come to an arrangement with Sark shipping about sending recycling products to Guernsey or if Sark could raise funds for a recycling facility.
  3. Provide incentive for local businesses to cut down on single use plastic including both grocery stores. Iceland have vowed to be plastic free by 2020, which means many of Helen's products will be recyclable and or biodegradable by then. Hopefully the other UK retailers that supply the island will follow suit soon.
  4. Cardboard can be composted.
  5. Glass doesn't need to be dumped in the sea. It can be recycled or repurposed.
    https://www.recycleeverywhere.ca/recycling-info/what-they-become/
    As with everything on the island I understand there are costs involved due to the boat. Perhaps it would be of benefit to try to make the island more self sufficient in terms of vegetables and fruit produce. This would in turn generate more jobs too."

The difficulty with trying to make changes here in Sark is that the island is run by a small autonomous government. The taxes are really low here and although they go straight back into the community, there is always a huge debate on where the budget is spent.

I spoke with the Seignuerof Sark and he advised me that one way to put pressure on the local government would be to go to the local press. So I did. Yesterday, August 10th the article made it on to page 13 of The Guernsey Press.
The difficulty is that the local government seemed to dismiss my claims and even denied burning the trash before 6pm.

20180811_193834.jpg

Phase 2 of The Drive For Change

One of the comments on my original post suggested I write a lengthy email to the local government. So I'm currently in the process of this.

Phase 3

I've enlisted my friend to help start a petition. I intend to draw it up but as my time here on the island is limited, I'll be leaving it in her capable hands to get as many signatures as possible.

Environmental Hazard and Health of The Islanders

There has been much debate over this incinerator. It is out-dated, an environmental hazard and I'm sure it breaks many European laws regarding toxicity and pollution.
Not only that but in recent years there has been an increasing number of residents on the island who have been stricken with cancer.
The smell of burning plastic is a daily occurance here. If the wind is blowing from an easterly direction the smell penetrates the island.
There are no recycling facilities here in Sark. We separate glass and cans. That's it. The cans go to Guernsey but the glass is simply dumped off a cliff into the sea which is equally disturbing.

I'd love to see this change. There are so many possibilities to make this island a pioneer in environmental protection.

Sark is a beautiful place and the world's first Dark Sky Island which draws many tourists each year. For the most part it remains unspoilt. This debate has been ongoing for years but I couldn't move away from here without at least trying to instigate positive changes. I just hope that soon the issues that detract from its beauty will be resolved.

~ONE LOVE~

HolisticMoM.jpg


My_Post_1-1.jpg

The 8 Pillars Of @tribesteemup

Asapers.gif

Steemit Bloggers

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

There are many who think that what they do is acceptable; perhaps it is up to us to show them that there are some things that are not acceptable on this Earth where we all live

So proud of you for your efforts to make Sark a better place, even as you are leaving xx Look out Spain!!!!

It is wonderfully inspiring to see how proactive you are in initiating positive change around you @holisticmom. xoxoxo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79