Precious Water, Water Everywhere... mostly spilling

in #ecotrain6 years ago

I've not suddenly become very clumsy in general; I really am having a special issue with water since returning from the desert. For some strange reason, I just keep spilling water.

Of course, everyone spills a little now and then, but this is excessive. Every time I turn around I seem to be spilling more. Or just wasting it in some way, like not being able to figure out the shower... the second day I use it!

Normally I'm super conscientious about saving water. I've lived in a place in drought the past decade plus, so even before going to the desert I got the preciousness of that resource. But being in the desert made me hyper aware of the value of every drop. Which is why it's a little odd that I'm now unconsciously tossing it about... but not entirely a mystery.

How We Program Ourselves for the Unwanted

I wrote on a related topic recently on how to get what is wanted using the power of mental focus. Well the related topic I'm talking about today is how we ensure we get what we don't want. And that is by reinforcing negative thoughts and feelings about it, even while not realizing we're doing that.

What we so often miss is that when we're thinking how scarce or endangered something is, we're actually removing it from our life. We're affirming that reality in which it is insufficient. Now maybe right now there is enough for our current needs. It's just that we anticipate there not being enough later.

That thought may cause us to conserve so that what we have lasts longer, and that's a good thing. Unfortunately it can also program us to waste the resource accidentally, because we train our expectation for insufficiency. We actually behave in such a way that justifies the fear of future lack, entirely without meaning to.

How to Stop Doing That

The trick is to be clear about what we do want and focus on that. Let our conservation come from our desire that there be ample water in the future, not that we avoid lack in the future.

It's the same basic behavior now and really the same ultimate intention, but how we formulate the desire has a big effect on our unconscious self-programming.

Again and again, it comes back to this: Focus more on what you want than on what you don't want.

If you want an abundance of water in the future of your family, your society, your world... then see a world of clean, flowing water and ask yourself how you can contribute toward that.

Let yourself be guided day by day to actions that are consistent with the world you want.

Don't spend any time fretting over a world without water.

Don't treat it as scarce.

Treat it as a valuable resource for which you are a responsible steward, insuring that its abundance only increases.

I write this to you, but really to me, hoping I'll now stop spilling water. LOL

rain-3443977_1280.jpg
(image source: Pixabay)

Sort:  

Nice piece friend. Concerning the spilling of water, I guess you only noticed it when you remembered the past experience in the desert of no water.

It clearly sends the message of your whole article. When we focus our minds on the insufficiency, lack and failures of where we are coming from, we may not value and appreciate the present abundance and the whole lot of opportunities.

People tend to focus on the evil that have happened in the past, hoping it does not repeat itself but If we must make headway then we must let go of the undesirables.

Our past should make us better people who have learnt lessons and not miserable people for tomorrow

Yes! Always nice to have you stop by. Thanks for your insightful comment, as always.

Thank you also for your insightful posts that passes a message to me and thanks for the upvote too because my payout since January has being my source of feeding.

I hope to visit more, thanks to my ginabot notification of your article update.

Thanks I appreciate the simple, yet somehow a complex, teaching. It's a challenge to break old habits that seem to be reality, when in fact the habit creates reality: which in my case is "not enough".

Blessings, and may rain fill you up.

Wow, I didn't realize until I read your comment how much this can also apply to money! I had to re-read it in that light and realized the wasting of water that's been happening for me might also relate to my old money patterns from growing up poor. Even though I'm not anymore, I do seem to keep spending lots of money during this month of transition into retirement in a new state. Money just keeps pouring out, and I think a part of me is watching my money dwindle and even though there is still plenty left, I do at some level feel like I'm spilling it wastefully and also feel some concern that I may run out before I do all the things I intend to do with it to really shore up my future.

I've got to take a closer look at shifting that... still. Thanks for your share that gave me a deeper insight into mine!

Well now, I thought your message was intentionally bringing poverty consciousness to mind. Perhaps it is a subconscious revelation. May both your water and money reservoirs overflow.

Thank you so much for this! It's a bad habit that we are focusing on things we lack rather than having gratitude for everything we have.

And after all what is it that you really own? Your body only. I agree if we treat something as a scarce value it could become scarce... it's funny how many books tell you that the mind is powerful and yet we don't give this power to ourselves.

So true. We have this habit of conforming to consensus reality instead of acting like we know as much as we really do know. I wrote about that recently. In the end, we only get the life as good as we're willing to let ourselves live. Following the norm means we wind up with typical lives of suffering, worry and lack.

I can so relate. I've often had that sort of thing happen when I've neglected to focus on what I want, rather than on what I don't want.

Human nature, certainly, but definitely something within our control, at least if we're diligent in focusing our thoughts.

Hi @indigoocean, The first thing I thought when I read your title and first paragraph was how we are on the dawning of the Age of Aquarius. You know the water bearer, which always brings to my mind the picture of the woman pouring out water. Then I thought of how we are mostly water... from 70-90% depending on age, how we eat, and several other factors.

Lastly, as you wrote of it being a valued resource, I thought of how in a way it is so similar to how I have often "thought" of money and wealth in terms of "lack" or "abundance". It's so true how where we focus the most of our attention upon, be it good or bad, or what we most want or what we worry will happen badly, will feed the most energy to and thus bring about. This has been proven scientifically over and over again. It's a shame they don't teach us that through the governmental indoctrination centers (schools) and especially the media which we "think" and therefore come to believe teach us "truth". It's really a matter of rewiring our brains and minds to focus on and create the world we most prefer to live within - which really lives within us... Many Blessings to you, my friend.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 32.40% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25