Back Acres: Heaping the Compost in the Cubic Meter Bin for Hot Composting

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

We've had enough warm weather and rain to finally thaw the composting bin pile. We have a cubic meter volume composting bin that was about 1/8th full - before the winter came and froze it in place. Now that the composting pile is fully thawed, today is a good day to climb into the composting bin to give it a turn and heap it to one side for faster and more thorough composting.

tools.jpg

In the picture above you can see the approximately 1 meter x 1 meter x 1 meter compost bin. You can also see the Spading Fork with the green handle. A pitch fork could work well too, but the spading fork seems a more appropriate size when I climb into the small space of the cubic meter compost bin. The weight of the properly wet compost may be more difficult to handle with the larger pitch fork as well. You can also see the orange Watering Container, soon I will be running the hose that brings dish and laundry water down from the cabin to fill the dangling watering container until it sprinkles water onto the composting pile.

In the picture below you can see my wintered - rubbish looking compost pile. It's not as sad as it looks. Underneath the thin layer of cardboard boxes that were tossed in there over the winter is mostly half composted grass clippings - about a foot deep. As I was digging around in there, I noticed that the dry brown grass clippings around the edge of the bin looked like they hadn't composted at all. Keeping the compost pile wet is very important for the organic material to break down into fine quality gardening dirt.

rubish.jpg

Hot Composting

When a good combination of small pieces of dry brown organic material like cardboard, dry leaves, and chipped wood - and green organic material like fresh trimmed leaves, kitchen vegetable scraps, coffee grounds (not filters), and herbivore animal bedding are combined into a large enough compost pile, within a few days the well insulated center of the pile can reach up to 76 degrees Celsius. To keep the aerobic microbes happy and composting quickly, the compost pile has kept wet - drained so not too wet - and well aerated. A composting pile can often be kept well aerated by strategically adding small dry branches at key locations to create air pockets. If a hot compost pile is not getting enough oxygen, it may need to be turned to restart the hot composting process.

For more information about composting - what to compost and what not to compost, this is a link to a Downloadable and Printable .PDF file: http://www.gov.pe.ca/photos/original/WI_KComposting1.pdf

hiddenbin.jpg

In the picture above you can see the composting bin through the trees as I approach from the cabin. The picture below is an above view from climbing a close tree.

treeview.jpg

The video below is of the approach and the inside of the freshly turned composting bin.

Cubic Meter Composting Bin Structure

A cubic meter is a good size for a composting bin - there is sufficient organic material in that size of a composting pile to provide enough insulation for hot composting to easily start on the inside. A composting bin is not required, but it would be the most useful if you are composting kitchen scraps or other materials that would attract animals to the pile.

Composting Bin Frame

I used scrap metal poles to construct the frame of the composting bin. For two of the corners metal poles were driven into the ground. Two small and living spruce trees were used for the other two corners.

backcorner.jpg

In the picture below you can see one of the metal pole corners of the composting bin where it is driven into the ground.

bottomcorner.jpg

In the picture below you can see the top part of the metal pole where it suspends the upper-horizontal metal poles of the composting bin frame.

firstcornertop.jpg

In the picture below you can see how the branches on the far tree corner help hold up the upper-horizontal metal poles of the composting bin frame.

treecorner.jpg

Composting Bin Siding

For the composting bin siding is an old solar water heating plastic sheet. It had small holes in it, someone had discarded it - I had been holding onto it for years. In the pictures below you can see I sliced small slits in the plastic sheet - to run zip-ties through - to attach to siding to the composting bin frame.

ziptied.jpg

In the video below you can see me jump into the composting bin to give the compost a turn and heap it to one side of the bin. With this small amount of compost, heaping will help provide an insulated center for the potential of hot composting - especially with this warmer summer weather on the way.

The compost bin jumping in and turning video starts at regular speed and then speed up to 8x speed for the rest of the video. In the first part of the video you can see me removing plastic plant seedling cups that had left over soil in them. Plastic materials have a noticeably different squeaky sound when forked - as compared to organic material. Any plastic that I discovered was tossed out of the bin for proper disposal.

Video: 8x Speed Compost Bin Turning and Heaping

I the picture below you can see the before and after heaping of the compost pile. The cardboard layer on top was moved to the chicken wire gate to help prevent material from falling through - or the cardboard was forked to smaler pieces and mixed in with the grass clippings.

compostbin_tuned.jpg

In the picture below you can more easily see how the composting pile is heaped in the bin.

heapedinside.jpg

I am hoping to fill this cubic meter composting bin with organic materials by the end of the summer, being sure to keep the longer composted material on the side of the gate. The side opposite the gate is where I will be loading fresh grass clippings and nightly kitchen scraps.

Have a great day!

Sort:  
Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Oh I forgot about you guys!!! Makers of steemit Unite 😁

This is great. I have something similar that I just built using old scraps of wood and chicken wire, some weed suppressant membrane to line it from the odd bits I had laying around my garden. I hope your compost turns out well for you.

Thanks, I was pretty happy with how the dry field grass trimmings I put in there this past fall were looking, it wont take much of the summer heat to finish them off. I'm convinced that keeping the pile damp is big help.

Ahhh I can remember when we had chickens and they got ALL the kitchen scraps. Wish I could have a compost bin here- just not enough room

I wanted to get a little piggy for the purpose of scrap processing, but we decided we'd become too attached and the piggy to process him and it would just be another mouth to feed :) I do plan on getting egg laying chickens this summer, I'll be setting up a compost pile for them to scratch around in :)

I am a bit of a newbie to composting but I've always thrown my filters in the compost. So why not the coffee filters too?

Most coffee filters and tea bags have synthetic fibers that dont break down, so they advise against putting them in the compost. I personally dont think ot would be a problem if chopped up real small, but it wouldnt be completely composted if that is the goal.

I never knew that. The compost articles I've read say that coffee filters are ok, maybe I will look into what my Bunn coffee filters are made with it will give me a better idea on whether to keep'em or chuck'em.

Good job man... Looks like you're coming on in leaps and bounds... You get any bears there?

Thanks @preppervetuk - I'll keep posting the progress :) No bears that I've heard of on this side of the lake. On the other side of the lake they have to watch out a little more for them, there's a lot of open forest north of them. To get to my property they would have to go through a gauntlet of human territory.

wow, that is one of the hugest compost piles i've ever seen.. congratulations!!

Our soil here is mostly rocks and clay, so I knew I had to think big for composting. I'll also be planting some cover crops - just for the purpose of composting - so I can keep improving the garden soil year after year :)

Composting is just magic, isn't it? 😁

It's amazing - these scraps will just keep giving and giving :)

Like chickens!!! Miracle recycling creatures!!

It's a great job although I imagine that it will bring bad smells and rare animals in nearby areas @jackdub

Suprisingly very limited smells with it well enough aerated and drained - much worse smells from garbage inside a sufocating plastic bag. I've only noticed the usual wild animals since I've installed it. If they have gotten in there, the tall sides prevented them from bringing compost outside of the bin :)

I get mice but that's okay. Birds if I don't cover the scraps with straw. But never smells.

This is just the kind of thing I love to do! I've got a new article https://steemit.com/permaculture/@mobios/get-shut-in-the-cold Please check it out and let me know what you think!

Hello again @jackdub, how are you doing my friend?

Wanted to let you know that you been picked up for my weekly curation digest on the topic of sustainability.

Your post will be Upvoted and REsteemed by @msp-curation bot on behalf of MSP.

Thanks for writing awesome content and if you have some time, make sure to check out some of the other posts from this week.

Sustainability Curation Digest #8 🌜 🌽🍑 by Carpedimus - MSP

Keep up with the great work :) and thanks for sharing!

Hi @carpedimus - thanks for the curation :) With all the nice outdoor weather here I've been keeping busy with building the garden beds and terraces - one more week until outdoor transplanting. I enjoy your curations and sustainable urban indoor garden project :)

Thank you very much for the kind words, I really appreciate it!
I work hard on this curation posts and it is good to know there are some people that actually find them interesting :)

Yeah the weather is awesome and although it been going a bit crazy recently (hail storm one day, khamaseen (sand) storms the other), but it is awesome nevertheless.
Been planting quite a few veggies lately and already had some amazing harvests!

Looking forward to see your updates...

Peace

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13