Back Acres: Long Weekend @jackdub's

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

This past week and weekend were busy on the homestead with visitors. My stepson came out for a visit Wednesday and Thursday. @mraggaj made his way here for Friday and Saturday - brought his ATV 4-wheeler. We would take turns riding it around the property to cool off from digging up the new tomato garden bed.

weekendvisitors.jpg

New Camera with 25x Optical Zoom

The week started with the arrival of a new camera - Cannon SX620HS with 25x optical zoom. I wanted a pocket size camera with optical zoom for closeup wildlife photos. I also wanted a camera that could take decent night time photos - compared to the Samsung Note 2 cellphone camera that I have been using. Below is a quick picture of the full moon that was captured with the new Cannon with auto settings.

fullmoon.jpg

Optical Zoom Demo

Click the GIF below to watch the Full Length Video



Stepson Visit

Always fun spending time with the stepson. We all walked down to the lake to see what was new. In the no zoom picture below you can just barely see the Canadian geese and gander on the lake.

fargeese.jpg

In the picture below you can see how the new camera's 25x optical zoom gets us much closer to the action.

gandershore3.jpg

Geese and Gander on the Lake

Click GIF below to watch the Full Length Video.


Discord Radio on the Patio

Wednesday night I introduced my stepson to Discord radio shows. We tuned in to the @smacommunity Discord broadcast - @movement19 was in the middle of his The Roadblock 3 hour DJ set. Hip hop this night, stepson was impressed.

Target Practice with the Red Rider BB Gun

The Red Rider BB Gun is a classic - and a lot of fun to target practice with. No need to load each BB or pellet, and no need to pump multiple times - just pump, aim, then pull trigger. If you ever see random plastic bottles or cans hanging on tree branches in my pictures, they're for target practice. Click GIF below to watch the Full Length Video.



@mraggaj Helps with Removing Sod

Friday brought @mraggaj - and he was ready to get to work. In the GIF below you can see us digging up the new garden bed that will soon be filled with five varieties of climbing cherry tomato transplants. Click GIF below to watch the Full Length Video.



Raccoon Vs Raccoon

Whenever @mraggaj comes for a visit, our loud sounds and smells of food seems to always attract raccoons - and they're not shy. @mraggaj was enjoying his sandwich when a raccoon snuck up behind him and put his paw on @mraggaj 's shoulder. It's best not to feed raccoons - they will make a mess next time if you don't have food. A couple more raccoons showed up, they were not in the sharing mood. Click GIF below to watch the Full Length Video.



Frisbee Golf throw Practice

The last time @mraggaj was up to visit he brought a set of frisbee golf discs. A set of three - one for short range putting, a medium range, and a long range frisbee. I purchased a set of frisbee golf discs since, so we tested them out. We roughed out a frisbee golf course on the property with 9 goals - using tree trunks as the goal target for the frisbee. Click GIF below to watch the Full Length Video of our practice frisbee throws. I'll have a lot of fun with the course with my son and any friends that come to visit.



A fun long weekend on the homestead, now it's back to work on the garden beds.

Have a great day!

Sort:  

Love the disc golf! That is my jam! Nice to see disc golfers and outdoor enthusiasts on steem.

Looks like cool camera man... Laughed at the Racoons!
And by the way. . . . . Great Frisbee throw!

I'm loving that camera for the closeups with nature. The raccoons have such personalities, it's creepy - and they sure dont like to share with other raccoons lol. That frisbee golf is pretty fun for around the property - after a little practice it's not too difficult to get the straight throws :)

Looks like fun! Greate GIFs ;)

Lots of fun :) I used giphy.com to make them from 720p video.

Incredible post. Love the camera. Red Ryder BB guns are cool. The lever action is such an Old West thing. I have an old zoom lens on a camera that uses film. My son has been wanting to see how good the zoom is. I'm inspired to try it out.

Especially on film it would be interesting to see how the zoomed in photos of your camera look. There must me some tight engineering with this cannon camera - it's wild how far it telescopes.

A friend recently got that camera and loves it nice and small but a greta camera

Sound slike a great weekend

A huge step up from the cell phone camera - the size is perfect for keeping it on my hip everywhere I go. Lots of good times with the visitors in the summer :)

It is a good size have fun with it

An awesome weekend you had there. Busy but seems quite relaxing, just chillin around and nice camera. I have a feeling you'll be shooting a lot more in the next few days.

That camera goes everywhere with me now - just in case. I've been happy with the auto settings, but I'll be diving into the manual settings before too long :)

Very cool. I am a huge fan of disc golf. My brother in law used to design courses for his county parks and he got me into it many years ago. It is a great way to spend an hour or so. Takes up way less time than a regular round of golf and it is much cheaper! I always bang my head against the wall when I am trying to explain to people the difference between optical and digital zoom. Looks like you got yourself a really nice camera there. ATV's are a ton of fun to tool around on. I wish I had one and the property to use it. Our state has a lot of trails you can ride them on though.

Much cheaper than golf - all that's needed is a set of discs and some land. I was thinking about digital zoom the other day and came to the realization that it's just pre-cropping the photo. Taking the non digital zoom photo then cropping later on the computer would give the same results. My buddy has his atv licensed, insurance just $180 a year, so he can drive it on the country roads here - lots of provencial atv trails here in ontario too :)

Very cool. Yeah digital zoom can be tricky for sure. I always tell people optical is the camera actually zooming. Digital is just the camera guessing. I have a decent collection of discs. I have a little bit of something for every situation. I don't play as much as I used to but still love it.

WHAT a great weekend!
And "Red Rider BB Gun" <--- isn't that the You'll shoot your eye out gun? lol

It sure is - I think of that movie every time i think of red rider .. such a classic movie - every minute of it. I was even thinking of the movie during video editing - I noticed my stepson had sunglasses on :) So many visitors in the spring and summer, a really good time - I saw more family in the half last summer than i had seen the 5 years prior :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72