"Why do you think most people judge each other? Is there value in it, does it help?" | EcoTrain Question of the Week

in #ecotrain5 years ago (edited)

woman-2696408_1280.jpg

PART I

Everyone judges everyone. All the time. - A
Yeah, I know but... - B
It's a fact of life, and you've just got to accept and be cool with it. - A

text11.png

PART II

Does the conversation sound familiar to you? I think nearly everyone has either echoed A or B sometime in their life. I know for me, I strongly identify with B.

I've always thought it was because of the fact I was highly sensitive, and sort of an empath-like person. The negativity of judgement would hit me strongly, like a tsunami wave, and it took me very long to recover from such vibes emanating from people. The unkind and hurtful comments - essentially summed up in the word 'judgey' - sliced like a sharp knife right into my heart. I would cry, because the unjust judgement hurt as much or even more than a physical wound.

And as I curl up on my couch and cry, sometimes, I would wonder just why people love to judge each other.

text11.png

PART III

Why then, do people judge each other?

First, an important disclaimer - right now I am not saying that all forms of judgement are negative and must be avoided. I think that would be too extreme a position to take.

I'm not advocating that we cannot differentiate right from wrong. We can and most certainly should. My point is that the negative form of judgement discussed at length in this post will hinder us from seeing clearly, such that we lose our ability to differentiate right and wrong (aka positive judgement).

For instance, expressing outcry over say, a cold-blooded murder of an infant, cannot be considered as a negative judgement because we are condemning a wrong (and very cruel) action.

But onto my main point.

text11.png

PART IV

I think most people judge each other - in the negative sense - out of their PRIDEFUL EGOS.

One.

It is the pride-fuelled ego that makes us think that we know it all, when actually, guess what?, we don't. We don't know all about the thoughts, actions, and circumstances of others. We are so finite in our knowledge and understanding and yet instead of being conscious of that limitations, we think we know. I once read a story where a whole class judged a girl for not dressing up well and having super rough hands (instead of the perfectly moisturized hands and manicured nails that all the other girls had). But little did these judgmental girls now that that super rough hands carried the weight of an entire household when her mother was seriously ill.

Two.

It is the pride-fuelled ego that makes us think we are better than others, when actually, guess what? we aren't. Just because we were born in a more privileged position or we happened to have more opportunities to flourish doesn't mean we can have a superior attitude to those who have less.

And this applies in the religious context too - a holier than thou attitude is sickening because the whole basis of Christianity is founded upon free grace and humility, humility, humility to accept God's grace and not try to gain acceptance by our works.

And yet it so commonly arises - those who were from a Christian upbringing despising those "publicans and harlots" that came from a bad past yet has since been transformed entirely by God.

Three.

It is the pride-fuelled ego that deludes us into thinking that since we know it all (false!) and are better than others (also false!), we have the right to be judge and arbiter.

When actually, we are just human beings, creatures like everyone else. We do not create, we are created! And we are all equal, with equal dignity and equal worth.

text11.png

PART V

There is absolutely NO value in such negative judgement arising from pride-fuelled egos.

I can go on and on and on... (time for another post?)

but in summary, it deludes us. It becomes the beam in our eye as we try to pluck out the sawdust in our brothers' eyes. We cannot see clearly at all. We are not aware - unaware of others and their situations, but even more unaware of ourselves and our pitiful unconscious condition.

How to refrain from such negative judgement is something I've been pondering on for months and years. Anyone with any insights? I'd love to hear from you! <3

text11.png

This is an entry for the contest hosted by @eco-alex, with the question relating to judgement. You can find the prompt here.

When I saw the question, I knew I just had to answer it! It's something that I was - and still am - passionate about. What are your thoughts? Please leave a comment below! Or better yet, take part in the contest too and tag me so I can read your entry as well!

With much love,
joeylim.png

Resteems and upvotes are always appreciated!

SB_new.png

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

beautiful answer! i think you nailed it with this line

"I think most people judge each other - in the negative sense - out of their PRIDEFUL EGOS."
Thank you for taking part, you are SURE to be one of the winners!

@eco-alex thanks so much for reading and the encouragement! 😊😊

Hi @joeylim!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.662 which ranks you at #14065 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 258 places in the last three days (old rank 14323).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 265 contributions, your post is ranked at #158.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I agree that I have often found Christians to be some of the most judgemental ppl and maybe they think judge unless ye be judged, they think they are so holy that they have nothing to be judged for!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01