The Girl Who Loved Too Much : Remembering Our Childlike Magic & Healing

in #ecotrain6 years ago

The vibe is fresh from @riverflows' incredibly heart opening piece (In fact, Ini just got a chance to read it and he's sitting here crying next to me; it really touched him.)

Gotta Have Heart: Self Forgiveness & Embracing My Truer Self

This is all started from @ameliabartlett's #forgiveyourself invitation. Last week I wrote about loving and forgiving my Dog Self, that part that doesn't want to play in the world's games. You can read it here.
image

@Riverflows wrote about her journey from feeling like she was TOO MUCH and yet NOT ENOUGH at the same time, that her bombastic open hearted self had, through life events & people (which were not necessarily aiming to shut her down, but her young self took it to heart), had learned that she couldn't share all of her emotions, her love, her self and developed a tough inner critic in response! Her journey back to wearing her heart on her sleeve is seriously amazing and heart opening and I think holds keys for many of us!


It certainly prompted something in me.. another layer unraveling in present moment awareness that I want to unpack through writing.

I felt @riverflows' journey so much because I have lived it too! I was always that "too-emotional" kid. I cried all the time and I was always so lovey- touch and words of affirmation are definitely two of my love languages. But, as we learn boundaries and "the ways of the world" as we grow, oftentimes we learn that these just aren't ways to act as we grow up. So we shut down those parts of ourselves.

For me, the shutting down moment I can remember vividly.

i-love-you-538724_960_720.jpg

Saying I love you Too Much!

I was always a super fun loving kid. Yes I was soooo emotional, but I was also incredibly active and fun!

My mom was also super emotional so I think my emotional self found a home in our hugs and the incredible love that we shared (and still share to this day- hey mom! <3). This changed of course when I had to start going to school. My mom and dad worked full time so though I wanted to stay at home like my dog and have my mom homeschool me, that just wasn't an option (plus I do think it's good for kids to be socialized). So off to school I went.

I would cry every time my mom dropped me off. This lasted for a lot of elementary school, actually! I felt comfort around her and the scary other world paled in comparison. I wanted to share and receive love on a grand scale, but I quickly learned that you'll be thought of as weird if you do that. Or worse something is probably wrong with you if you love too much and share it openly!! One memory about this sticks out clearly:

In first grade , we were all given journals and we kept up a correspondence with our teacher. We were supposed to write about our lives, what we thought of school, etc. That part is rather unmemorable, but what I do remember is that I would spend about a paragraph of each one writing about how much I loved my teacher, Mrs Powell!


I would always write I Love You! or other little love notes like that at the bottom.

Inoffensively enough, really, right? Even sweet coming from your 6 year old student! But oddly enough, this was thought of as strange behavior and Mrs Powell asked my mom if everything was alright at home! If I was "okay"!

That is really all I remember of the story. In middle school, I remember sitting in my mom's closet later reading this offensive journal of mine and talking with my mom how shocked my 1st Grade Teacher was that I would write that so much in my journal. The thing was I really did love Mrs Powell!

But this experience taught me something very important.

  • Even if we love people, sometimes we have to hide it from them so they don't feel overwhelmed.
  • Sometimes we have to keep our love a secret so the people we love feel safe.
  • There are certain people who we are "allowed to love" to a certain amount and in certain ways and others are off-limits.

Unpacking this now in writing is really causing an energetic flashback here for me-- how when I was 6 or 7 I got this very powerful LESSON that sharing my love can make other people feel uncomfortable. It's helping me (just like @riverflows' mirror in her post did) realize how I've held back parts of my loving since then so I don't make people uncomfortable.

We realize in our culture that so many of us are so fucking magical when we're kids, but then as we grow old... we what? Grow up and "lose our magic"?

The "responsibilities of life" take over-- which I assume (and am learning well on the homestead) are the burdens of having to literally respond to life's demands, whether monetary (a big imposed system on this earth), work, upkeep, relational, caretaking our dependents or other people in our lives, and so much more-- even just "creating our dreams" can be a lot of work!! image

Does living a good life and being responsive adults mean that we have to lose our magic, our joy, our childlike nature?

Of course, I don't innately believe that it does, but I believe that this is the effect it has had on many of us and it's something Ini and I talk about often on the homestead.

How the burden or weight of all this "work" (self imposed dream fulfillment haha) has literally changed us. Where is the lightness we experienced as travelers when our younger selves literally had way less response-ability?! I wont get too much into that as that's a whole nother unraveling for another post, but the core of the question remains:

These core essences we have from a child, an open loving heart, expression of joy, wonder and truly living a magical experience open to the world... mostly all of us have experiences that shut down these natural aspects of who we are.

It takes, as @riverflows' demonstrated, really re-opening ourselves, having the courage to go past the voices (whatever they are) or debilitating actions others' put on our lives (and on our loves) to uncover this essential nature.

It can be difficult, as she relays:

It would still take a while for the cocoon around my heart to fully rip open, though. I had to step into a place of fully feeling again when I hadn't in years. Not properly. How could I let my emotions fully unleash when they were what made me feel so different in the first place? How could I allow my emotions to let rip when it hurt so fucking much?

But, as she also found (and as I can relate, too), there are healing pathways we can take to open up these places again. They give us the courage and the SKILLS to do so. For her it was the Hanuman Bolo mantra:

The power of mantra to access your heart space is incredible. Maybe as you chant, all the other layers flake away as if the words are meditative paint stripper. It's a similiar sensation to what I used to feel on the dance floor at raves or surfing - you are so caught up in the present moment that some aspect of truth is revealed in perfect awareness, perfect consciousness.


For others it can be writing, yoga, breathing, prayer, people stepping into our lives who REMIND and teach us through their own ways of Being that it's okay to let these parts of ourselves out, too.

I was reminded of this last night as I read @inspirewithword's intro post and a watched beautifully moving video he made on his facebook where he's dishing out free magic FIY!


Oftentimes, to me, it seems like something we're reminded of again and again when we're on our path. As ee cummings has written:

it takes courage to grow up and become who you really are

And so many of us are on this journey, wholing ourselves. I'm so happy to see all of this heart-energy and opening happening on Steemit! Remember, if you feel touched or inspired, feel free to write such a post and tag me in it! I LOVE IT!!!

AND I LOVE YOU!

ecotrain.png

This post was written by a passenger of the #ecotrain. Check the tag out often for more inspiration on the blockchain!

DQmTD47d8324rbLWF3eGAWw1iDvw2xeB37aAvLEsB2depMk.png

mountainjewelbanner.jpg
banner by @radicalunicorn

Sort:  

I loved your post @mountainjewel!! So heartfelt and open. Thank you.

I taught high school English for years and was forever trying to get my students to tap into their child-like wonder of things, to try and see the world in all its' glory through the eyes of a 5 years old who's maybe noticing it for the first time. Once they trusted me and our classroom became safe to do so, the creative spirit that emerged was always a wonder to witness! The school I taught in was a Fine Arts one with students from grades 1-12, and I often witnessed the true love the little one's had for their teachers. It was so beautiful. My students showed it by bringing me fresh coffee in the mornings, although sometimes they were late, so it doubled as a bribe haha

As adults, I think we get so caught up on our little hamster wheels that we too often forget about what is really important, and we forget to live with our "eyes wide open", and we forget what it means to really love.

Thank you again for such a lovely post!

thank you dear @lynncoyle1!

Once they trusted me and our classroom became safe to do so, the creative spirit that emerged was always a wonder to witness!

I love this! oh that creative spirit full of wonder that lives in each of us, but so often gets stale or goes into dormancy for varying reasons. i love that you tried to get your students to re-member this aspect.

so true... remembering and allowing love is perhaps one of our greatest lessons here. in the end, the hamster wheel just isn't worth it! leave room for wonder and love. thanks for your kindness. wishing you a great weekend <3

Oh gosh!!!! What an incredible post!! Oh I bet that feeling really stayed with you, feeling puzzled over writing your teacher that you loved her!!! Funny story... the second morning waking up next to Jamie I had 'I love you' SCREAMING in my head and was restraining it SO HARD as seriously ... you can't tell someone you love them after 2 days, right? My girlfriend, whose house we are staying with, was off to work and she, in her bouncy way, yelled out I LOVE YOU to the semi asleep household AT THE TOP OF HER LUNGS and so Jamie and I responded in unison LOVE YOUUUU and then turned to each other and said : and love You!! ... at the same time! Oh my god. Hearts stopped ... what the!!!! 15 years later we say it every day: love You, love You, love you. And it's not wrong at all.

How the burden or weight of all this "work" (self imposed dream fulfillment haha) has literally changed us. Where is the lightness we experienced as travelers when our younger selves literally had way less response-ability?!

I wonder that all the time!!! It is there though... I wanna write about this now!!!

Love love you!!!!!! Now I'm really late for work!!!!

hello dear! i love your story... it can be so tricky to know when it's "okay" to share our love.. there's that whole thing of "not wanting to scare the person off"-- haha! i know i have done that in the past!

15 years later we say it every day: love You, love You, love you. And it's not wrong at all.

absolutely adore this ^^^ ;)

i would love to hear any and all thoughts you have on the above quoted statement!! this is something ini and i have been digging into a lot lately (together and on our own)... it really hits home how we've created our experience on the homestead to so much be about activity (and for good reason; the first few years we were just getting our basic needs met), but it's not really serving us any more. this year we're enjoying life more and making a point to do that! love love love you too! i sooo appreciated your post that inspired this piece.. you really touched me! xoxo

What a well written post, it truly flows effortlessly through different facets and landscapes of the point that has been made.

"Even if we love people, sometimes we have to hide it from them so they don't feel overwhelmed." Totally agree. This can be seen in children, but also in adults. When grown up this feeling is even more rare, and once you feel it and try to convey it to another person, most it will completely overwhelm. At least that was my experience.

And yes we have to keep our heart in good shape, if we dont care for it, it will close down. And the longer it stays closed the more painful it gets to open it up again. This is a process we have to go through again and again.
I hope the older I grow the more I can remain with an open heart, strong enough to hold a vessel for all the overwhelming feelings, that being that open brings with it.

thank you kindly for your great reply.

And yes we have to keep our heart in good shape, if we dont care for it, it will close down.

yes so true. opening our hearts (again and again as you say) is the journey of a lifetime. subtle reminders gently invite us to remember this over and over. living calloused with a closed heart... why? why do it...? this journey of life is so much more satisfying connecting on that level. indeed!

I hope the older I grow the more I can remain with an open heart, strong enough to hold a vessel for all the overwhelming feelings, that being that open brings with it.

i'm with you there! totally!! xo

It is such an emotional post! I believe you are right - a lot of us come to Earth full of Love and in certain age are restricted to express it freely. It hurts. At the same time, I tend to believe that there is always a hidden lesson in it. We all make choices and sometimes we have to see darkness to understand where light is or that we are the ones to spread Love despite of words restrictions. I agree that people on Steemit are encouraging and it is always a pleasure to read such good post like yours!

Image Source

so lovely to see you!! yes !

At the same time, I tend to believe that there is always a hidden lesson in it. We all make choices and sometimes we have to see darkness to understand where light is or that we are the ones to spread Love despite of words restrictions.

certainly! that contrast of knowing love, to feeling like we can't share it and seeing that the world needs so much more of it, to opening again is life on this earth <3! xoxo

I always knew we think alike%)

so are you!! thanks for stopping by <3

I love you too! Always have and always will. ox Beautiful post wren. Glad to know you are blossoming just like your spring flowers.

love you!! infinity times infinity! gosh the spring flowers are all so amazing. we're in heaven. thanks mama xoox

Remembering the path we walked down to become who we are now, lovely reflective journal @mountainjewel

<3 yes it's all a part of life!! thanks for stopping by!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

thank you! appreciate it :)

Love is the language of God.

We can feel God if we love humanity.

That is the pure and natural feeling .

yes indeed. love speaks all languages and unites us all... to god and each other <3

I was also a very emotional child and learned many of the same lessons about who we are allowed to show love to. It was great to see someone express similar experiences and to do it so well.

thank you for your kindness! writing from my experience is so healing and helps me gain perspective. so thankful others can relate/find something in my words :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69