The Courage to Continue

in #ecotrain5 years ago

Today I want to share with you all one of my experience with an old cab driver.

In India there is no age limit for certain professions, and Cab driver is one of it. There is no check if a person is suitable to do this work. It was on one evening while returning from work, I stopped a cab. I was in too much hurry, so as soon as he stopped I just hopped in and then I gave instructions to the driver where i wanted to go and got busy on a call. After a certain while I realized that he was driving very slowly and not that the road was blocked. So I was wondering what was wrong with him and why he was driving so slowly. I striked a conversation with him and I got an answer from him in a very feeble voice which I was barely able to hear. So I got a little more curious to the situation. From behind I was not able to judge much so I changed my position a bit to be able to see him and have a conversation with him.

To my utter shock this person was a very aged man. I checked with him on his age and he mentioned he was 82. I was so very much taken back. A person of this age is still working and that too such a tedious job. I checked with him why does he drive at this age. So he told me, that he has no choice. His son has no work and his son has a family, to support his Son's family he needs to work. Oh my God this was completely shocking for me. First of all, such a useless and shameful person his son must be that he could not take care of his family and his father has to struggle at this age for their livelihood. While I was feeling very disappointed about his son at the same time, I was feeling much respectful for this man.


Source

The epitome of this conversation with the cab driver was yet to come. When I finished my journey, I decided that I will help him with something additional, so I offered him some extra money. To my surprise he refused to take the money and mentioned, please give me only what is due and nothing additional. My respect for him just soared, so much of self respect under the testing circumstances, for that one needs very strong values which were so clearly reflecting in him.

What a gem of a person, to not count age as any type of barrier and continue with courage. Life is not easy for many people but it takes a lot of courage to continue and put up a brave face out there in the world fighting it out for themselves and not succumbing to self pity.
A little bit of difficulty and so many of us give up or start feeling sorry for ourselves or feel that we have all the problems in life. Whereas there are these few out there like this cab driver who hit the problem hard in it's face and continue their journey.

Source

Many people are going through the most adverse conditions in life. There are people living in war zone areas, people living in drought areas, people living in extreme poverty, people living on streets and so many of these. The only thing I feel they have is the Courage to continue in life with all the ups and downs which determines their strengths.
My respect for all such people who irrespective of their conditions still keep marching ahead fearlessly and conquering life.

Thank you for visiting my blog.

bloggif_5c17c7088f8ae.gif

GIF Courtesy @enginewitty 😍😍

My other blogs of Interest


"The Beautiful Heartwarming Sunset 💖💖🌇"
"Travel Diaries - #The Buddhist Temples and Monasteries in Dharamshala, India"
"Inculcating Book Reading Habits in Children helps develop their Focus and Attention span"

Member of


Supporting People Who Help Make The World A Better Place @ecoTrain

VOTE ENGINEWITTY FOR YOUR WITNESS


Enginewitty_1.gif

Sort:  

indeed... Inspirational !!!
Life doesn't care about age.. It is what it is...
This post teach me to work hard when you still can and make a stable life for me and my family...
Thanks for sharing.

You got a 40.11% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @nainaztengra!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 12 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got an awesome upgoat, thanks to @nainaztengra
BuildTeam wishes everyone a bullish new Year!
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nainaz.tengra from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Es triste escuchar historias de este tipo, pero a la vez es impresionante descubrir la fuerza que algunas personas tienen para mantener a su familia. Este hombre tiene todo mi respeto al igual que todos aquellos que luchan cada día por que tener una mejor vida!

Old is Gold. The way he refused to take extra money shows his self respect that he needs payment for what he has delivered. But feeling very shame for his son that he is making his father work even at this age, when people need rest and family support. Feeling sad for the guy who is fighting for his son family.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's true, such a shame to his son to make his father suffer in such a manner. and I see many such children who do not want to take up responsibility.

Yes we should keep doing our job. If can't run then walk, if can't walk then crawl. As the driver was not able to drive fast but still driving. Really a great motivational blog.

Thank you @face2face, very well said

When I was in job our ex-CEO was always saying this.

WoW 😮 ! Astonishing. What a great man. 🙏🙏💯💯
Just one question, did you ask him why he is driving and his son is not?
Take care and thank you for sharing.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ohh yes, his son was on addiction of alcohol and not in much senses to take care of his responsibilities. Very sad.

What an inspiring man and so commendable of you to try to help give extra to him.

Just curious did he say there was a reason his son could not work?? Could he have been physically or mentally sick. I just think it is easy to try to sum up a situation . Maybe he told you and said he was just lazy ??

Yes I did check on that and he said he was an alcohol addict and hence not in much senses to take care of his responsibilities. I feel sad for both of them in a way :-(

Poor man, it is quite dangerous for him to be working that particular job in that age because he is not that quick to respond to things that might happen in traffic. I do hope that he does not have to do it for long and will get some deserved rest and enjoyment soon. 💚

Yes I too hope that he gets some relief and does not have to continue doing this work. It is very sad when I come across such people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94