My Entry to the Alternative Consumer Challenge: Hard Lotion Bars and Lip Balms

in #ecotrain5 years ago

So @naturalmedicine and @ecotrain have teamed up again to bring us another awesome contest, wherein we post about some homemade alternative to store-bought body care, cleaning, etc. type products!

Today I'm going to tell you about one of my favorite things, that ALAS, I am allergic to now, and can't use anymore. Weep, sob, lament. Because I really loved these so much!!

hard lotion bars 2.jpg
hard lotion bars with mango butter

Hard lotion bars and lip balm - super easy, super effective product!

I live in Colorado, which is considered high desert - that is to say IT'S DRY. Moisturize, moisturize, moisturize is the name of the game here. I used to be one of those people who had lotion in seven different varieties just frikkin' lying around everywhere. In the bathroom, in the bedroom, in my backpack, in my desk or apron at work, in my locker at school - just everywhere. And lip balm! Don't even ask how much lip balm I would use.

Then I discovered homemade, and I was in love. It worked better than any of the Bath and Body Works or whatever random stuff I had before (possible exception for Crabtree & Evelyn Gardener's Therapy, which I got as a gift once and also fell in love with).

Hard lotion bars are like soap bars in texture, and you rub them on your skin like you are applying soap. The warmth of the rubbing/your skin will soften some off, like it does when you rub a lip balm on your lips. They last a lot longer than the other lotions I was using before, and are WAY more effective.

hard lotion bars 1.png
hard lotion bars with shea butter

Super bonus: they're incredibly easy to make.

Mix equal parts by weight beeswax, olive oil, and shea/mango/cocoa butter (your choice) - melt in a double boiler or crock pot. Pour into soap molds, cupcake tins with liners, or silicone cupcake molds. Allow it to cool and remove from mold. TA DA! That's it. Easy peasy, lemon squeezy.

And only three ingredients - which you'd think would render me safe from allergies, but alas, I am wildly allergic to latex. In fact, what brought me to the allergist was a permanent nickel rash (that I didn't know what was causing it at the time and had been dealing with for months) and a newer one that had formed around my lips - from the lip balm, because of the shea butter in the lip balms, though I didn't know that at the time. I had already been rashing from band-aids (Band-Aid brand has latex) and had discovered the hard way that banana, avocado, and kiwi (all latex foods) threatened to swell my throat shut - but had zero idea about the butters having latex in them, too.

After I saw the allergist and got my massive list of allergy tests done, I checked out a book from the library on food allergies written by Johns Hopkins hospital staff. It said that often people with latex allergies react to some latex foods and not others, and lo - I could still eat mango (dried mango was my FAVORITE), so I tried the bars and balms again with mango butter. Nope, still rashed - and soon after, lost my ability to eat mango without any problems, as well. Sometimes the more you expose yourself to an allergen, the worse you get - that's apparently what I had done to myself. Damn.

I could try it with cocoa butter, but for that reason I'm afraid to - I can eat chocolate, and I LOVE chocolate - and it's on the "some people react, some people don't" list as far as the nickel allergy goes. I don't want to lose my chocolate! So I haven't used cocoa butter and made bars again.

Hang on, Phe, you haven't told us how to make lip balms

lip balms.jpg

Just the same as lotion bars, only pour into lip balm tubes. TA DA! It's the best. Cry with me that I can't use it anymore.

I will add that I don't recommend putting it in a little tub like Carmex comes in - I tried that once, and it's so much harder than Carmex, you can't really scoop it out with your finger, and it's not super effective to sit there rubbing your finger on it, then rubbing that small amount on your lips, then rubbing your finger on it, then rubbing that on your lips ...so I recommend using tubes, or making tiny, tiny bars (like, using candy molds, perhaps) and keeping them in a little mint tin or something so that you can rub that on your lips directly. Or, you can use the same lotion bar on your lips if you want, but if you're sharing the lotion bar and you wouldn't share your lip balm, or you want something small to keep in your pocket ...you get the idea.

So what do I use now?

WIN_20190607_18_18_08_Pro.jpg

Yep, I'm back to store bought right now. This is the Walgreens version of Cetaphil - which the allergist recommended, except when I looked at it in the store, CETAPHIL HAS LATEX INGREDIENTS, WTF IT'S SUPPOSED TO BE THE ALLERGY BRAND - and this one does not. Burt's Bees does also have shea butter, but it doesn't set me off - which goes to show how de-natured it is (the allergist even said this, and recommended it because of that), if you were thinking that BB was a really natural brand. That being said, I feel like sometimes it seems a little irritating, and I wonder if I'm not getting sensitive even to that, so am planning on tinkering with some coconut oil and evoo and beeswax and seeing what I can come up with that might be kind of a Carmex-type one I can put in a little pot. More experimentation to come!

But in the meantime, I hope the OG recipe of easy-peasy awesomeness does your body good! :)

OH - and if you're wondering what to store the lotion bars in - travel soap containers, mint tins, anything really depending on the size mold you use. Just don't put it loose in your pocket or bag. ;)

Steem on! :)

My Zazzle Shop:

My Ko-fi:
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Referral links:

Earn rebates from your everyday shopping with ibotta. Join with my referral code: ptonkkp. You’ll get a $10 welcome bonus and I’ll get a referral bonus: https://ibotta.com/rebates

Earn more rebates from grocery shopping with Checkout 51! https://checkout51.app.link/JCLdEdrj3Q

Earn points toward gift cards with your shopping or just scanning items in the store – no purchase necessary – with Shopkick. Use code DEAL295384 or download https://getsk.co/deal295384

An app where you get points for scanning receipts when you grocery shop, called Fetch Rewards. Use my referral code G9RJM during signup and you'll get 3,000 Fetch Points ($3.00 in points!) just for starting. https://bit.ly/2zwOdBK

Sort:  

Ooh, I should probably look into that. It gets really dry in the Winter here, and my hands need loads of moisterising.

I react to Bandaid brand too but only because of the glue. The ones that have more glue cause more irritation. The plastic ones are better. I don't react to latex itself, so I know it's not that. I can't imagine not being able to eat mangos anymore. Or avocados.

Just be careful, because at first I only reacted to the extra tough Band-Aids too - the ones I bought because I was tired of them falling off my finger any time I washed my hands, and they were more sticky. It was a while before I reacted to other ones!

I'll keep that in mind. Thanks.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love this - thank you

Sounds so easy to make
I must find time to give this a try

Sorry about the allergy... what a bummer!!

I totally recommend it! And it is really easy to make! :)

How awful you can't use them, but wow... just learnt a lot, such as the fact there's latex in dem butters!! Damn. That's crazy. So I guess coconut oil could be a substitute? Great entry... and inspiring as I start experimenting myself! ~ @RIVERFLOWS xx

I'm going to try a coconut oil mix one of these days when I get up the oomph to experiment. :) I think it would be a softer consistency, though, unless I upped the beeswax ratio. So experimentation is needed!

It sound so easy, thanks for the tutorial.im gona favourite this page for future visit😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome! I hope you enjoy them! :)

oh my goodness, the quest to find things that don't cause a reaction, I've been there to a much lesser extent than you and it is no fun at all. You do become quite aware and saavy about ingredients though. Great recipes - I love lotion bars, so convenient!

Right? I now know so many "what the heck is that" words on ingredients lists. My mom has gone shopping with me and is always saying that she doesn't know how I can keep track of what all the "mystery ingredient" words mean.

Oh sister that blows!!! I'm feeling for you.. For surz its the latex? I know I have a reaction to any product that has isopropyl alcohol in it or its derivatives such as methylpropyl parabins etc. and according to Dr. Hulda Clark it is the number 1 CANCER causing agent on the planet and it's in EVERYTHING, from shampoos to teabags and then we grew up putting it on any cut we had. Go figure, Cancer industry number 2 money making machine on Earth.

I get my shea butter from Africa super clean, I wonder if there is a difference in manufacturing I'm sure. I love calendula in anything body topical and maybe you could try that? Do you do mini cleanes, or flushes etc. ? Sometimes, allergies can be deleted from cleaning out liver? Might have nothing to do with it, but for some reason I'm getting a hit on a cleanse or flush might help?

Thanks for the simple recipe, those are always the best. I've used oil on my skin since backpacking in Europe in the 90's. People from Spain used olive oil and apple cider vinegar on their skin. I sometimes use almond rose oil, but mostly I'll use olive oil/calendula on my skin for decades. People always comment on my skin, your skin is so brown and soft and nice. I even make a calendula olive oil mix and put in a metal roller tube for lips you would love that!! I left lotions behind decades ago, maybe that's your message?

Yeah, latex is not the strongest allergy I have per the tests at the doctor (that's nickel by a long shot), but the reaction IS the most dangerous because those latex foods swell my throat and mouth and I have a hard time breathing (thankfully no anaphylaxis yet... ), whereas with nickel, I just rash. Topically the latex stuff will rash me too, like in shea butter or bandaids, but breathing in the shea butter? Or breathing in bananas, for that matter? Yeah, throat constriction. BAH
My shea was from an African importer on Etsy, pretty clean stuff too.
Oh man, I'm glad at least some companies are starting to phase out parabens, but yeah, it's in bloody everything!
I can use calendula, thank goodness! :) I have made salve and tinctures with that. Feverfew though, also an allergen! @.@
I had been thinking of liver cleansing, so I specifically made a milk thistle tincture but I haven't started using it yet. Maybe I ought to...
I do use olive and coconut oils (the only two I can anymore!), and ACV too. :D Where do you get a roller ball lip oil tube? That might be an idea!!

Posted using Partiko Android

They might sell at your local health food store? I think I got them here, which is a big selection place , out of Seattle I think ... your gonna drool when you see all they have!
https://www.specialtybottle.com/search.php?search_query=lip%20gloss%20rollers&section=product

Awesome, thanks!

Wonderful post! I have already bought some cardboard tubes to make some homemade beauty products and your recipe sounds like a good fit. So sorry you can’t use it anymore!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I haven't done it in cardboard before, I would think that would leak and/or absorb the oils, unless they are waxed or something, maybe?

Yes, it is tricky! Contents have to be thick enough. I will have to make some and post! The cardboard does have some type of coating on the inside.

It's very hot liquid when you pour it in. If you can pour in hot oil or hot wax, it should be OK. :)

Hmmm, And if possible, let it cool just a bit before pouring into the cardboard. Much rather go to the trouble than use plastic! 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

It cools and hardens very quickly, is the issue. It will be unpourable if you let it cool. I don't use plastic, either, except for when I had a soap mold which was reuseable and meant for that heat - a silicone cupcake mold and paper cupcake liners in a muffin tin were some other options.
So the cardboard might work if it has that liner bit on it, as the muffin tin with paper liners did.

OK! I may need to use the cardboard tubes for something else, but I’m definitely going to try your recipe. I’m determined to get my plastic use to a minimum!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Quite interesting and easily made. ...never thought we can make soap with three available things....looking forward to tryonce....great entry and all the best 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

It's not soap, for cleaning, it's lotion, for moisturizing. It just looks like soap. :)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @steemflow.

Thank you so much! And mmmmm, that's my kind of cake ...chocolate! (nom nom nom)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15