Tinkering, Resourcefulness and Creativity: Attitude of Gratitude #6

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Life is very rarely smooth sailing - we aren't presented with a 'how to' guide for every problem we encounter and we pretty much need to figure it out as we go along. A bit of creativity goes a long way in solving problems with what you have, especially if you don't have a lot, or refuse to be part of a consumer culture as much as possible - or, if you simply want to make and build cool stuff or create something of instrinsic value to you - not something that someone's told you should buy or own or have.

The books here tell a history of some things we've been working on or dreaming about

In thinking today about what I'm grateful for, RESOURCEFULNESS is something I really appreciate both in myself and others. I think it's something Mum gave me - she loved to re-use and re-purpose as she came from a big family and not much money and the habit dies hard, even though Dad insists on buying new all the time. She's a lateral thinker and can work out a solution to any problem in a really logical way. The funny thing is, she doesn't see herself as creative at all! Yet she's willing to tinker and to find solutions to problems and make things - isn't that creative?

I definitely want her on board in a zombie apocalypse.


I think that's one of the reasons I fell in love with J. He could figure out solutions to problems just by musing upon them, reading about them, and of late, watching a ton of youtube clips and going on public forums. His philosophy is that if there's anything you can't do, you just figure out how to do it! So I'd definitely want him on my team in a zombie apocalypse too.

The inside of the van looking pretty, J. hugging an old steam engine and the interior of our small house, all recycled and homemade

For us, it started with books, although now a lot of information comes off the internet which is both a blessing and a curse. I do miss thumbing through books as it's far more tactile and reverent for me than googling. Saying that, you can't knock the incredible amount of info online and J gets a lot of really hands on awesome knowledge from youtube, especially as he pulls apart the Landrover and puts it back together again. And pulls it apart and puts in back together again. Ad infinitum, it seems.

I realised a few years ago that resourcefulness was something I just took for granted.



I was chatting to one of my yoga buddies about fire cider, homemade sourdough and how to fertilise her lemon trees with natural ingredients. She looked at me in wonder and said: 'how on earth do you KNOW all of this stuff?'. It didn't occur to me that people might see a problem and not be able to figure out how to fix it unless someone took them by the hand and told them how to do it.

J and Dad putting a new window in, J recladding the house before painting, and construction of the back of the van.

Maybe it's the old adage that necessity is the mother of invention! We sure as hell weren't going to pay people for a job we could do ourselves. This means a lot of illegal (probably) DIY skills such as J. rewiring the house, plumbing and the like. I'm sure you know how much those tradies charge - sure, they have to earn a living, but I can't afford to pay that. So we learnt how to tile (really badly at first - the evidence is the not so perfect kitchen floor), to paint (though I still paint everything else more than myself) and the like. Poor J. - I think he's earnt his place in my heart just for the hard labour he's done, but I really don't think I'd be tolerant of anyone who didn't have a hearty dose of practical resourcefulness.

Concrete form birdbath, firebath, a wedgetail cut out of tin and Buttercup the Landrover - Jamie's in the shed as we speak working on restoring rusty leaf springs for her.

It all starts with self belief I think. I've encouraged a lot of people to take on a project and just told them that they can do it if they just lay out a plan and work through it step by step. Examine it from all angles, read about it, talk to other people about how it's done, and it might surprise you, I'll say. I love seeing the joy on people's faces when they create something that they didn't think they can do.

There's a lot of tinkering involved too - you have to let go the idea of perfection and find beauty in the imperfections, but there's an honest integrity about that. I do admire craftsman who spend a lot of time creating absolutely extraordinarily perfect houses, furniture, systems. That's not us - we're a bit more airy than that, although we'd like to think we could make it seamlessly perfect if we wanted to, and do when it comes to things that are important, like the house not falling down in a storm or the pipes not leaking! Actually, J would probably hate this paragraph - it's not entirely true as we've got far better at this stuff over the years.

There's a kind of joy in making too - whether it's craft (don't make me knit or I'll skewer you with the needle), pottery, electronics, restoring a chair or building a table. It's art, self expression, and this kind of pride that comes from making it yourself, an honest self reliance maybe that we're missing in a world that just tells us to throw over a few notes for something someone else has made. There's a kind of self fulfillment in there, a purpose that goes beyond economic value.

It's one of the fantabulous things about Steemit I think - so many tinkerers, creators, makers, do-ers. So many resourceful people doing amazing things with what they have to hand. So thank you all for being so incredible - you teach me so much all the time!

What are you creating, tinkering with, making today? How does resourcefulness look in your life? I'd love to see the comments section here filled with photos to add value to this post - what's been your project of late?

I was tagged by @canadianrenegade to:

Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.
  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible.)
  • Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.
Sorry if you've been tagged before in this challenge @movingman @iamjamie @sue-stevenson - please don't feel obligated, but you've been tagged!
Sort:  
I definitely want her on board in a zombie apocalypse.

ahahahah love it!

You'd love to meet my Dad, he saves EVERYTHING, we may need it later - he says. Most of the times he's right.
Sometimes I come up to him telling that I need to do something, he goes and burries himself into all the drawers of his work bench in the shed and voila - brings a part of something he disasembled but managed to save that little small part that saves the day.

Then he decided he needed another trailer for carrying stuff around the ranch, couldn't buy a new one. His solution was to gather parts from all over the place, bought at scrap yards and now his finishing his trailer (looking waaaay cooler and neater then a brand new.

I love how he always asks me to make 3d sketches and to invent all sorts of machines for him, then he finds the parts himself and build.

I love your posts, but I love Butter more than anything else. xDD

I know you love Buttercup and try to put her on just for you. Your Dad sounds amazing. Sounds like you have an awesome relationship too.. good mates... and you know you have a lot to learn from him still! 💙🌸

lovely post! so much cool stuff going on here!
I reALLLY dig your comment

you have to let go the idea of perfection and find beauty in the imperfections,

Nothing in life is perfect, and i think its a kind of mental illness that people try SO hard to attain it! Its not natural and when you can just shift your appreciation to liking the imperfections then life is SO Much more fun.. and of course you don't get NEARLY as upset when things get slightly damaged..

and of course ANYTHING we make by ourselves is automatically nicer than buying them as we have that special connection with them .. <3 x

Oh I sooo think there's beauty in imperfection and besides... it's just an expression of our beautifully imperfect selves! Which can't be sooo bad!

Thanks for your thoughtful comment.

Xx

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

received_10156487489540802.jpeg

Tinkering on with DIY today plumbing and skirting boards would rather be tinkering in the garden mind 🤔 really enjoyed this post @riverflows 👍

Ah that looks like a pain!!! But you'll be pleased when it is done. Glad you enjoyed it... you are definitely someone I'd want in my team in a zombie apocalypse!!!!

Resourcefulness is a excellent one to be grateful for. I love that trait in myself and I agree, it is an attractive trait in a mate. Tonight I am sewing a badge vest for my son's scouting program because I'm too cheap to buy one. Frugality and resourcefulness seem to b go hand-in-hand :)

Oh they do indeed!! We can't bear to spend money on things that we can do ourselves, mind you, we then splurge on teh things we really fancy :)

Sewing a badge - that's awesome - sewing is a bit like knitting for me though - I want to stab myself rather than do them lol xx No patience, me. xx

Creating, tinkering with, making? Ummm... my IDEAS, herbal things, shampoo bar recipe, a batch of insect repellent for delivery and my first @fundition crowdfunding ask for a refugee-social-enterprise project. :) Lovely post @riverflows :)

Oh do you make a insect repellent?? I got a great one in Bali - would love to have a good herbal one.

I saw @fundition this morning - what a fabulous idea! I don't have a crypto wallet though or much crypto to speak of, so I need the card function to be working. Can't wait to see what that project is all about @artemislives - sounds amazing and worthy and wow!!

And yeah - ideas a brimming!

🤖 Congratulations! You've been featured in the newest @SMG co-curators digest. Thanks for being one of our cherished members. See how much our mastermind appreciates you and your work here:

https://steemit.com/life/@smg/smg-digest-or-natural-birth-attitude-of-gratitude-there-s-no-tomorrow-and-double-hungryhustle

🤗💛💛💛

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99