A Plan is Starting to Take Shape... Let the Material Capital Flow!!!

in #ecotrain5 years ago

Next winter we will be home!!!

20190113_220041.jpg

Steem line 2.png

With all these dreams in my head, it's hard to keep up. Even for me and it's my head we're talking about here! It should be easy enough to sort through but most of the time all these dreams, ideas and plans are mixed up in there like a bowl of over cooked spaghetti...

As we're finishing up a job, there is a lot of lumber I've been able to salvage. It's mostly dimentional lumber, no windows or doors... I really don't have anywhere to store furniture at the moment and I've been greatful for the free delivery so I don't want to get greedy with it.

The Lumber after tomorrow's load (16 foot lengths):

  • 120 2×12's douglas fur planks.
  • About a dozen 2x6's
  • 20 or so 2x4's
  • A whole bunch of 1x4's
  • A good dozen 1x2's
  • Some 40 sheets of 1/2 inch plywood

And I also ended up grabing up 30 pieces or so of 2x4's ranging from 8 feet to 12 feet!

I know it's really wild, I can hardly believe it myself. The boss, who has a storage space, a short walk from the homestead (justifying driving a loaded truck two and a half hours out of the city), kept on asking me if I want all the lumber we take down from the stage!

So yeah, I keep saying yes!

I will show all that we got pretty soon, as it is really incredible how much material I was able to collect. I really feel greatful for the generosity I've been given.

I mean we have enough to frame a house or a barn!


Here's one of the plans:

20190113_215433.jpg

We can build a gambrel roof over the RV with the 16 foot planks, that would be tall enough and large enough to have space for a deck and a sun room. We have plenty of 2x12's to do the job!

It even looks like we would have the deck mostly shaded in the summer sun while the south facing glass wall would let it in to warm up the RV in the winter months.

The other drawing fron the rop of the post is basically the same idea on the shipping containers... but I think that will add extra work and take more financial capital. Two containers delivered where we would want them is about $5000. And there is extra clearing that would be needed plus leveling out the ground with crushed stone... more money and time too!


Another plan is to insulate the RV:

20190113_215908.jpg

I like the idea of giving our little house onbwheels an extral layer of insulation on the exterior. Here, I would like to add 3 inches of closed cell foam, build a removable roof that could follow the fun contours and making boxes for the pull outs easy to remove too. I would like this vehicle to still have the possibility to travel if need be.

And if we take our time I think this could very well be one of our first Tim Burton meets Dr Seuss structure!

If we build the gambrel roof idea, the RV will still fit inside with it's new skin.

As always, I have a hard time deciding and finalizing plans of execution!!! That's what my nature is like but I am working on myself to try to break out of the indecisive pattern I seem to be into! I've narrowed it down to having commitment issues...

I'm sure quite a few of you can relate to that, I'd be curious to know how you deal with commitments... In the mean time I'm happy to have salvaged so much wood from where it was ment to go!

Steem line 2.png

QUOTE OF THE MONTH: @BinaryFlat

I am not what I used to be, and I never was.

(If you want your quote featured here, lookout for the next contest!)

THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED

Steem line 2.png

coop-logo-1.png

Join Us On Discord

If you want to know what really is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

And don't forget… Dreams Come True!

Sort:  

build a removable roof that could follow the fun contours and making boxes for the pull outs easy to remove too. I would like this vehicle to still have the possibility to travel if need be.

Excellent Idea... Funny I am about to do something similar on my little caravan. Think it is important that it stays mobile for if and when...

Great minds think alike 😁. For insulating the walls, I was thinking of screwing wood onto the existing internal framwork and than foam in between and than maybe shingle to cover it. I'd love to hear how you're thinking of doing it, I'mnipen to new ideas.

Okee, but wouldn't that mean to unscrew everything when you want to move it..? For now my brainstorm brought me to the point, I'll do a kind of Carport and then close the Walls with the proper openings for windows and a second room on the side of the caravans door... for isolation I'll take some rockwool or similar...

True, not too efficient when you move it... plus the extra weight on the walls! In our case I'm planing on never traveling with his giant caravan, we have a small motorhome for that. The car port idea is great, that way you can keep the rain out and have a dry area to eat, cook and hang out in. We have that same plan.

Congratulations @senorcoconut! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 comments. Your next target is to reach 4500 comments.
You published more than 300 posts. Your next target is to reach 350 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I like the gambrel roof idea. We stayed in cabins a couple of summers that were trailer houses with rough fir siding put on the outside. Pretty comfy and looked kind of nice.

That spunds like they were pretty. Was the siding made with live edge wood too?

Yes. they looked like log cabins

That's what I want!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75