Could we change our Temperament if we wanted to?

in #ecotrain5 years ago (edited)

@ecoTrain is Back on Track with a QOTW (question of the week).

anarchy8265_1920.jpgsource

Thanks to @Eco-Alex, this weeks question is: What is Your Temperament? "Describe in your own words what Temperament means to you, and what your own temperament is like. Share some positive and/or negative stories of how your temperament has affected your life."

Steem line 2.png

Like it is said in the QOTW post this question will be be a little like deep sea diving into your head... Have you ever written about or even looked into your own temperament?

Sure I've had a few check-ins with myself here and there and I know some aspects of my temperament, but I'm sure this exercise will be quite rhe treasure trove!!!

Whatever I come back up to the surface with, I want to make sure I can use both good and bad artifacts to understand and better myself.

I try to live by the four agreements but it's not always easy to remember especially perhaps when that temperament takes over.

In brief, Don Miguel Ruiz, is an author of Toltec spiritualist and neoshamanistic texts. The Four Agreements advocate personal freedom from beliefs and agreements that we have made with ourselves and others that are creating limitation and unhappiness in our lives.

  • Be impeccable with your word.
  • Don't take anything personally.
  • Don't make assumptions.
  • Always do your best.

These four actions can really change one's life. They're pretty simple when you think about it like that, but in practice it's a very different srory. I have found this philosophy to be extremely powerful. It can really effect one's behavior for the better and be very uplifting.

But is that my temperament, am I changing my nature or merely learning to control it?

I've been on this kick lately to find the origin of some of the words we use, so let's see what TEMPERAMENT has to offer...:

A couple definitions, not in my own words:

The combination of mental, physical, and emotional traits of a person; natural predisposition.

A person's or animal's nature, especially as it permanently affects their behavior.

The word traces back to a Latin word, temperare, which means "to mix or blend."source

A little history from Britannica:

Galen, the Greek physician of the 2nd century AD, who developed it from an earlier physiological theory of four basic body fluids (humours): blood, phlegm, black bile, and yellow bile.
According to their relative predominance in the individual, they were supposed to produce, respectively, temperaments designated sanguine (warm, pleasant), phlegmatic (slow-moving, apathetic), melancholic (depressed, sad), and choleric (quick to react, hot tempered).


So if our temperament is dictated by which body fluid has dominion over the others, than surely we could change our natural predisposition through nutrition, no?

But to go back to @Eco-Alex's question, in my own words temperament is just one's nature. While my temper can effect my behaviors, I've learned to controle the dark side.

I am understanding, easy going, very flexible, yet very stubborn, and here and there I feel that beast wanting to come out... I have had my fair share of explosions. I can defenitely blow a fuse when I am pushed hard enough!

I remember being 15 or 16 years old, I had just gotten into a fight with my step father. To make a story short, he did something that made me mad concerning my mother and my little brother, so I threw the content of a pint size glass into his face... I'm pretty sure he didn't appreciate the vitamine C (with lots of pulp) all over him, because I found myself, feet off the ground, up against the nearest wall!

And everyone was screaming, my little 2 year old brother included. My poor mother, this was the second time she'd seen her husband and her sun get into an altercation of that magnitude. I mean he was super pissed off!!!

I remember a second layer of anger coming accross my body when I had noticed my favorite Iron Maiden t-shirt had been ripped when he picked me up with both his hands. Oh I knew the beast was coming out in me... But I let it all happen, knowing damn well it probably wouldn't turn out great at all.

There's a bit of a dark spot in the story, a small piece I cannot remember. What is clear though is that I ended up outside, knowing he was coming back up the hill (he had gone for a drive, maybe to step away from the situation in order to calm down). I picked up a stone, the size of a cinder block, I was going to throw it into his windshield.

I'm not sure what happened, but as I got ready to launch this small boulder into his oncoming vehicle, something came over me and I imediately dropped the idea.

I remember a clear image of what would have happened with the cliff at the top of that hill and thinking:

Holy shit, I probably would have killed him if I hadn't stopped. What he fuck am I doing???


So yeah, here it is, one of my stories on the dark side of my temperament. There are more, but none quite as intense as this one. There's a police chase I can tell you about one day, that had to do with my stubbornness and thinking I could outsmart a network of radio communication... I have a clear problem with authority! They got me in the end, with a couple guns pointed at my head and a few lashes of the baton! And another gun pointed at me story, at a much younger age... I remember running as fast as I could in zig-zags across a parking lot, away from that mad-man I had angered! That one makes me chuckle a little because, had he decided to shoot, all that zig-zagging wouldn't have helped all that much, but hey at 11 years old.. what are you gonna do?

My step father and I get along great now, we talk a lot and when one or the other feels there is a little too much friction starting we take a walk alone, reflect and exhale. We don't talk about it but we apologize almost everytime! It seems to work very well for both of us.

And police, well let's just say I found a way to avoid them mostly...


This temperament of mine has a dark side yes but it has some really good sides as well... I like to help people whenever possible!

Perhaps the use of entheogens could change one's temperament. I recently heard a conversation on the subject. Teacher plants can give us the ability to permanently change our behaviors. Looks like I may have worked on myself, somewhat unconsciously.


Hey @eco-alex, thank you for this question, I enjoyed diving in. I could have kept on writting about the many good and bad places my temperament has brought me, but opening up with that story took a bit more courage than I thought.

I am happy to find out I do not have a killer instinct and I can kind of see clearly that there has been many events in the last decade or two which wpuld have pushed me over the edge in the past! Though I can see that there was always something holding me back too!

QUOTE OF THE MONTH: @Stortebeker

In Permaculture we don't believe in the existence of pests, weeds, garbage, or bad people.

(If you want your quote featured here, lookout for the next contest!)

THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED

Steem line 2.png

coop-logo-1.png

Join Us On Discord

If you want to know what really is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

And don't forget… Dreams Come True!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SenorCoconut from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 16 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 130 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Oh, what a story! Thanks for sharing it. Although "temperament" seems to address our inner, animal nature, there is also a great deal of reacting to a certain situation, your sense of justice, and ultimately what's right, what's wrong, and what you refuse to put up with. I applaud you dropping the rock when you did, compared to which a bit of OJ in the face of adversity (sorry, no pun intended) is certainly tolerable. I also like your last bit about the teacher plants, in which I believe a lot, as it happened to me too quite similarly. We take the class literally just for fun, and end up straightening out our inner troubles.

Thanks for sharing both sides of your temperament! It takes courage to open up like that and I'm so happy you were able to turn things around and can now enjoy a better relationship with your stepdad.
Love too that you balance out that with your desire to help people when ever you can.
Realizations can be powerful things!
Wasn't sure what entheogen meant so I looked it up

An entheogen is a class of psychoactive substances that induce any type of spiritual experience aimed at development.

They could definitely get you on the right path when we take the realizations from using these substances and grow/change with them or incorporate.

im just laughing about that pint of what sounds like fruit juice over your dads head! just brilliant that he got SO angry about it.. lol

thanks for taking part, glad you had a good dive!
im gonna TRy and do my post today!
xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11