Unschooling 101 Part III

in #ecotrain6 years ago

In Part I and Part II of the Unschooling 101 series, we explored a few different aspects of freedom and some corrolary issues like trust and responsibility. In this last part, we will tie it up with a few different concepts, including giving children space, exposure to the world, and every home schooler’s favorite non-issue - socialization. If there is something you would like me to talk more in depth about or another issue you’d like me to cover, please mention it in the comments below, and I’ll let you know if I can do a post on that.

Time and Space

Giving children space is a multidimensional topic. Children need space and time alone, time without activities to think and process, and time and space with friends. This is an issue for children who go to school and children who home school/unschool. Obviously, children in school are not getting any time alone or time to think and process while they are at school. Add in activities after school, homework, and family time, and there’s little time for anything other than sleep. Even within the home school and unschool communities, there is a tendency to fill the days with a host of activities.

In our go, go, go, do, do, do culture, sitting and seemingly doing nothing is incredibly frowned upon. Yet, it is essential. We all need time to process what is happening in our lives. We need time alone with our thoughts. It’s how we figure out how to shift our lives, find better solutions, and come up with our most brilliant ideas. I’m almost certain this is why people say they come up with their most brilliant ideas in the shower. In home schooling families, we get very used to being close together a lot of the time. When your child reaches an age where they start to spend a lot of time alone in their room or outside, don’t take it personally. This space is very important, especially through the tween and teen years. Those expanding minds need to figure out how they feel about the world without your input all the time. And they don’t need tons of activities to be learning things.

Time with friends is also crucial. Oh, this is such a tough one in this day and age. Every parent is expected to hover over their children all the time, especially when other kids are involved. You’re supposed to prevent every fall and mediate every spat. Well, let me tell it to you straight. Hogwash. Kids need to play with each other and work some things out on their own. They need to learn to navigate and negotiate. These are incredibly useful skills and sorely lacking in the adult world! Older kids need to talk to their friends and hash out all the wild and crazy thoughts rolling through their brains. Trust comes up again here. If you have raised them openly and honestly and shared your values with them, there comes a point where you have to trust them to make good choices. And to sometimes make crappy choices but learn from that. I used to staff at a Sudbury school, and we had a system for dealing with rule violations, and it was so incredibly freeing. Any time a child came to me with “so and so was mean/hit/won’t play/stole/whatever”, I simply said, “Would you like me to help you write a complaint to the judicial committee?” Then it’s out of my hands. It was beautiful. At home, I regularly send my children away with petty disputes. “I love you very much. I am sorry you are sad. I’m not getting involved. You need to work it out with your brother/sister.”

Exposure to the world

Now, I have said it’s not good to have too many activities, but exposure to the world is incredibly helpful. It's all about balance. If there is an advantage to school, it is that children are exposed to others who have had very different lives from their own. Personally, my experience has taught me that this particular exposure is best in small doses. I think you can make an effort to ensure your children meet kids from different backgrounds through activities or travel or simply taking them to parks in other parts of town. If you are able to travel, I think there are few better experiences for exposing children to other cultures, religions, beliefs, etc. Not to mention the opportunites to learn about history, politics, architecture, ecosystems, and more. I like allowing my children to try a lot of different activities but one, maybe two at a time. I usually ask them to agree to stick with it for some predetermined, though usually relatively short, period of time. This way they learn how it feels to move through the challenging period of learning something new, but I’d never ask them to stick with something for more than a couple months if they didn't want to and not at all in bad circumstances.

Socialization: every homeschooler's favorite topic

Oh, the socialization thing. I felt like I could hardly write about unschooling and not cover it, but it’s such an absurd issue. For those of you new to the game and still fighting off the first wave of attacks from family and friends, let me help you out. For starters, I’ll share with you a story about my older daughter. My older son wanted to go to school at a certain point. Don’t ask me why. My daughter didn’t really want to go, but I couldn’t leave her alone while I worked, so off she went for a small portion of fourth grade, as well as fifth and sixth. This was probably the worst decision I ever made as a parent. Almost every single child she was exposed to was awful. They were rude, disrespectful, hateful, and shallow. She couldn’t fathom how they thought it ok to talk to teachers that way. She refused to conform to others’ ideas of fashion (she was especially disgusted by hair bows). She was horribly made fun of. And the teachers, oh the teachers. Several openly discussed corporal punishment of their own children with students. Almost all of them ignored egregious bullying and teasing. It’s wise to ask what kind of socialization you want your child to have. They are also only exposed to other children of the same age. All this to say it’s not even socialization really. Aren’t they supposed to not be socializing? Aren’t they supposed to be quiet all day? And as discussed above, with school and homework, there’s little time for anything else.

In my experiences of home schooling and unschooling, my children are often going with me in a variety of different situations. In fact, I have had a number of jobs where they were allowed to come with me. In my work with elders and people with disabilities, they often accompanied me. When I owned my own cloth diaper service, they almost always came on deliveries. Of course they regularly come with me to the store and on errands. Then they have their activities, the park, and our travels. In all these things, they meet and interact with people of a variety of ages. They know how to play with small babies. They know how to play with older children. They know when to ask for help. They know how to speak respectfully to people of all ages. In particular when they are little, I am close by to help them as they learn to navigate these waters.

That’s our introduction to unschooling. As I mentioned above, please feel free to ask questions or suggest topics of discussion. I know when I first began this journey I was grateful to all those around me who had years of experience under there belts. Let my errors be a gift to you!!

As always, all pics are mine or pixabay.

I’m a passenger on the @ecotrain, as well as a member of @teamgirlpowa and @steemmamas. All three are worth taking a look at, and all three are on discord.

Sort:  

my mother would always answer the socialization bs with "where do public school children learn to relate to very old people, or babies, or those sith learning disabilities? how does a child get prepared for the "real world" in a classroom full of kids their age and one authority figure? I still shock people by my ability to walk into new social situations and talk to strangers. i may not be good at tactfully relating, but i ain't scared of wierdos!

Exactly! Separating them by age is possibly one of the most damaging bits. It's so good you aren't afraid of weirdos cause there's lots of us!

So great you're writing this stuff. I'm not a parent myself but as a teacher I feel that school should be a much more open space for those who (just like your daughter) simply want to get to know it, to play with other kids, to find projects to work in, to have some staff of people that know a lot of some special subject.

A healthy kid always wants to know something. Otherwise he's just lost (and most of them become lost after a while, in today's schools). If a student is in my class and makes no questions... He or she is free to leave, if they want to. I don't want to torture kids into memorising whatever I think they "need" to know!

That is exactly what the sudbury schools are like. It is a very rich environment. I often feel bad for teachers that they are trapped by an unhealthy system. You are so right that healthy kids want to learn. Its absolutely natural. It is wonderful you let them go. Different people need to know different things, but many teachers let ego get in the way.

Ohhh you touched the point! Teacher's ego and frustration getting in the middle! That is something everyone fears talking about, because it also leads to the "vocational" side of teachers. Why are they teachers in the first place? Because they knew they'd be good at it? Or because society pushed them into that?

Too many questions, and too little answers...

Yes! I know it's a touchy subject, and I have many teachers in my life who I love dearly, and I had teachers in my own very traditional school years who were wonderful humans and mentors, but there's a difference between teaching and facilitating learning that is important yet hard to navigate. I believe letting children lead the way is key. They learn best on their own terms. I very highly recommend checking out www.sudval.org. It's radical, but incredibly valuable. Thanks so much for engaging here and being open!

I agree 100% with you. I'm sure kids only learn if they want to learn, so our best chance is to poke them to want to learn stuff, while sustaining their interests...

Thank YOU for this amazing post!

Precisely. In fact my experience as a mom indicates they also only eat when they want to and clean their room when they want to and come in from the rain when they want to. Most days I feel like a figure head.

Awesome article, had to go back to read the other part

So glad you enjoyed it!

I really really enjoyed reading this @solarsupermama! I have been homeschooling for 7 years and have heard about unschooling for quite some time. I was always afraid that if I didn’t have a curriculum for my kids that I wouldn’t be disciplined enough to do unschooling. I just wasn’t for sure if my kids would learn enough without a curriculum. I really love how you explained that children need their time alone to process their thoughts and to explore the world without our opinions/instructions sometimes.

I do know for sure that they learn from experience and doing things hands on. I love the freedom and safety that homeschool gives us. Our schools here are full of violent children and teachers that are afraid to discipline them. We wanted our children to have a solid background and not have to worry about all the violence, bullying and bad influences. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and a little bit about how your schooling is ran :)

I am so glad you have enjoyed it! It is definitely a big leap. I think i was lucky to do Sudbury first. It is a bit like an unschooling school, and they have been open 50 years, so they have lots of experience and evidence of success. It helped me gain enough confidence to do it on my own.

Violence and bullying in schools is one more reason to keep kids away. Remember when columbine happened? It was unheard of. It was totally shocking. Now it happens all the time, and no one seems to care enough to stop it. Thanks again for stopping by with an awesome comment.

Oh yes, it’s like the norm now and happens way too often. Kids are hurting each other and killing each other and it’s heartbreaking.

It really is. And we are now at the point where there are so many contributing problems, its hard to unravel the mess.

Exactly! 😔

Our babies are only 10 months old so we are still a ways off from "schooling" but we plan to home school. Both my husband and I had awful experiences in school and don't want the same for our children. From what I have seen if my niece's the bad behaviors have only gotten worse. I completely agree that socialization happens when you experience the world and people off different age groups, classes, races, etc... Grouping same-aged kids together in an artificial environment and calling it socialization is absurd. Great article. -Aimee

I'm so glad you enjoyed it, Aimee. 10 mos! Such a precious age, though definitely stressful for parents! To be sure, kids raised in loving, happy families will gravitate to similar children, but why expose them to all that awfulness to begin with? And no matter how wonderful parents are, all kids pick up bad habits in school, some of them deadly. The number of kids who are suicidal and/or self harming is truly startling. I guess throwing kids in there is a certain kind of socialization, but not the kind we want for sure. Thanks so much for stopping by!

Yes! They are so precious - twins! They're so fun to watch grow and develop. They're personalities are so different and they're really starting to play with each other. They're so sweet and I feel so blessed to be a stay-at-home mom. <3

You're right it is somebody of socialization and we have to decide what kind we want for our kids. A dear friend of mine homeschooled as long as she could. She transitioned her eldest to highschool for the experience and he eventually fell in with a bad crowd. He developed a drug problem but because he had such a close relationship with his mom he was very open with her and she worked with him to get help. Now he is a very successful doing sales at a young age and they are still very close. Her two younger kids entered the school system sooner due to other circumstances but the trust she built with them have kept them incredibly close. I admire her strength and the dedication she has to her kids and I hope I can build the same trust in my own family. -Aimee

Stay at home mom is so awesome. I look forward to day that work is more valued. Establishing those early connections is important. Sometimes circumstances push us to things that arent ideal, but if theres a good connection, its easier to get through. We have certainly been in that situation.

Oh for sure! Matt and I have talked about how this world is set up for two income families and not everyone can afford to stay home with their kids. We definitely feel the punch and have been living with family for a few years. Even now, we are with family while we try building a modest house. Thankfully, I have some graphic design clients I can work with remotely. When I was getting work I would be up until the wee hours of the morning and then full-timr mom all day. It was exhausting and I have a lot of respect for working moms. I haven't been doing as much client work lately and I am still exhausted.

You're right, connection is so important. Another Steemit Mama recommended hand-in-hand parenting to me and I love the podcast. They've mentioned reflection where connection may have gotten lost during the day when you notice your kids acting out. Even at 10 months these two get into things they know they shouldn't and if I am mindful I can see where I may have focused too much on breakfast clean up and not enough on them. That alone has helped me shift my parenting to A more positive space. -Aimee

It's such a challenge, and I'll say honestly there are few things I miss about the US. My son, my parents and brother, and food stamps. As I move more towards anarchy, I'm not sure how it plays out, but I definitely feel the larger culture in one way or another must support, financially, one parent staying home with children. It ultimately benefits everyone for children to be loved and supported in a good way. When we move from our remote location to better internet, I'll check that podcast. It sounds like the dr. Sears stuff I read so many years ago. Remember to be gentle with yourself too, though. It's easy to be hard on yourself, but sometimes a clean kitchen definitely helps my mental space, and the kids are resilient. We are better mamas when we do the things that help us feel good. Much love, Aimee. I have really enjoyed our interactions.

Thank you for taking time to articulate and write about your thoughts on homeschooling and unschooling. Indeed there are many scenarios in school that may not benefit our children. I especially love how you said we should give time and space to our children to process and think. It is a very interesting read with great solid points for me to take note of. I will head off to your previous two parts which I somehow missed. I wish more people can read of this, would like to suggest you to use the tag "education" to gain more visibility, if you don't mind @solarsupermama? :)

Im so glad you found it helpful! We all need that quiet time, and i always feel so bad for kids who are pushed from one activity to the next. Childhood is too short to spend thewhole time busy. I will switch that tag. Thanks for the suggestion.

I love your response to squabbling children. I have just started having to deal with that, as my baby is now a toddler capable or arguing with her brother. I think I will start having them work it out themselves.

I agree with the socialization issue. It's always top on the list of skepticism. I definitely do not think school is the best place to socialize for my ultra shy boy, but it is tricky for us trying to meet other kids with his very introverted personality. This is my area of insecurity with homeschooling because of the shyness. I try to remember that he would be shy either way, just as i was as a child.

Always glad to read about other people's experiences homeschooling. Great article.

Thanks so much for stopping by to comment! Sometimes they need help figuring out the best ways to negotiate, but for the most part it's so much better for them to figure out what works on their own. I was always so impressed with the judicial committee at the Sudbury school I worked at. It was run almost entirely by students of a variety of ages, and they were almost always fair and firm. My daughter was/is very shy. Like you said, she's just always going to be that way. She will talk eventually, and she's learned to navigate the world without me, so that is most important. She can now, at 16, get through any airport, including customs, and she can grocery shop. She'll talk when she needs to but will probably always prefer a small, close group of friends.

Sounds like a very interesting place you worked at.

I'm glad to hear your perspective on the shyness. Funny thing it is, how as parents we struggle with wanting our kids to be different than they are, even when they obviously got their traits directly from us. It is a test of self-love, to love what you have passed down :)

The sudbury schools are amazing. Theres maybe 50 or 60 around the world. You can find out more at www.sudval.org.
Kids are incredible mirrors, and theres a lot of opportunity for us there if we choose to see it.

Goddamn golden, this makes so much sense! I cant wait to have kids and go on adventures and help them become good people, without the horrid school socialization.

I'm glad you enjoyed it. Having kids is so unimaginably hard and also so incredibly rewarding and wonderful. It's the best love there is and the best gig going. The pay is shit, though. <3

My son is only four and I am still considering home schooling as a viable option. I personally find that a 8am to 3pm schedule is too much for a young child to be away from home.

I think it's a great option, and theres lots of community support in most places. And i think you are so right. Separating younger and younger children from parents is very concerning to me.

Most interesting to read more about unschooling.

It is one of the topics I would like to cover more on my radio show - The Alternative Lifestyle Show - on MSP Waves on Fridays.

Would you be interested in being a guest on the show to talk about unschooling?

Im glad you enjoyed it. Id love to be on your radio show! It will have to wait until after we move though. We are now so remote that i cant really do anything on voice. The connection is just too slow. Lets connect again in about a month. At that point i should at least know when the move will be happening. Awesome username, btw.

That's great. Will make contact again in a few weeks. Good luck with the move.

Awesome. Looking forward to it. Sounds fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65