Upheaval, Self Care, and Poverty

in #ecotrain5 years ago

It's taking a toll, you know. All this madness in the world right now has me pretty beat down. It's all good, I know. I get that it's all coming to the surface to be healed, but do we have to do it all at once? The patriarchy, capitalism, neo-colonialism, racism, xenophobia, trans phobia, homophobia, the military-industrial complex, violence, it's all coming to a head right now, and I'm feeling like maybe we should take these one or two at a time. It feels like a boxing match where I am losing really badly.

smack Cops killing black people for no damn reason
starts to stand back up
smack sexual assault perp gets appointed to the scotus by sexual assaulter POTUS
stands dizzily
kapow half the US thinks he's innocent; PTSD sets in
Struggling to stand
clock neo nazis are beating people in the streets with little to no consequence
one foot, two feet
boom massive wave of xenophobia as refugees escaping problems created by the US government try to create a better life for themselves; the ignorant masses, including the US President, say awful and hateful things about people they don't know and a process they don't understand.
crawling to my knees
smack down US excuses torture and murder of a journalist and continues selling weapons to said country, which they've been using to murder and starve other people for three years.
hands and knees, looking up to try to figure out what fucked up individual is wielding this 2x4
cold cock racists murdering black people apparently isn't a hate crime.
starting to think curling into a ball might be wise
kick racists stopping black people from voting
smack president proclaims himself a nationalist
knee to the face people mailing bombs to people
2x4 the first erasure. Trans people will be erased
2x4 to the other cheek troops will be deployed to the border
lights out

The synagogue shooting has happened since I first wrote this.

Y'all!! This is all the last couple weeks. How is this possible? Add to this that we've gone through a sexual assault issue with my daughter in this time period, and I'm just barely hangin on. Oh, and shortly before this, one of my neighbor's was murdered so some nights I lay awake in terror. I'm angry. I'm really angry at men. I'm so mad this world isn't safe for me and my daughters because our power is so terrifying to the weak. I'm angry so many of my friends aren't safe. I'm angry so many people cannot escape the oppressive structures and systems.

Also since I wrote this I had to take my kids from my husband because he is having a mental breakdown. He has slipped from the edge.

The world is in a substantial upheaval right now. Shit is for real getting shook up. Like I said, I know this is good in the long run, but it's wildly painful right now. I read a beautiful piece today about how we must remember to let our heart keep breaking open so God can seep in. Don't get consumed by the anger. Don't get consumed by the anger. Don't get consumed by the anger. Feel the hurt, heal the wound.

Everyone keeps talking about the importance of self care right now. While that is true, it's a tall order. How am I supposed to do that exactly? I now have my kids full time. I can't afford a sitter. I can go walk on the beach. I live in what I believe is the most beautiful place on earth. I'm really glad for this place. I love it here, but I need more than a walk on the beach. I need a massage. I need a wine and chocolate night with my girlfriends. I need a few days to clean, a few days to rest, and a few days to do fun stuff with my kids, but every free moment, I need to work. Self care truly is revolutionary, but that's a tall order for the poor. I think of all those really hurting even more from these acts of violence. I think of how many are dealing with steeper poverty than I am. I think of how much it hurts to know you can't care for yourself properly, no matter how much you need it. Maybe one of the most revolutionary things we can do is to provide opportunities for self care for the poor. Child care, massages, spa days, free admission to hot springs, etc. I keep thinking of the Bread and Roses strike.

"We want bread, yes, but we want roses too."

Much love, y’all!

As always, all pics are mine or pixabay unless otherwise noted.

)](https://discord.gg/qfu4yRE)

Sort:  

Oh mama. I don't do well on self-care either. I hope things get better for you and your babies. I wish we could all live in a real community where our children can safely play outside. Where you know if you're down, there are other women to care for you when you can't self-care.

I'm glad @riverflows and @trucklife-family came by. They're great.

Hugs from my side as well.

Gosh this is one of those cases where you wish you lived in the same place as the person who is suffering , because you would come along with wine and roses, leave them for you and take your kids for a few hours.and then come back and cook you all dinner..xxx Big virtual hugs xx

Posted using Partiko Android

So sweet. I kinda want to move close to you now. This genuinely one of the nicest things anyone has said in quite a while.

Oh babe!!! Well.. you know Steemit.. we are all about love and support!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm really feeling you now mama, self care is so hard when you have no time for yourself ad when you feel the pain of the world, I am with @riverflows I would love to live closer to you so that I could give you the support you need right now, much love mama things will get easier xxx

We definitely want roses too! And we are entitled to have them! I'm sorry you feel so worried. If I may humbly suggest the thing that helps me most when nothing else seems possible: Pray to God. S/he loves you and holds everything in her/his hands, even you.

Congratulations @solarsupermama! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @solarsupermama! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 16000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 17000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @solarsupermama! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 17000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 18000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @solarsupermama! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 18000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 19000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @solarsupermama! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 19000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello solarsupermama, welcome to Partiko, an amazing community for crypto lovers! Here, you will find cool people to connect with, and interesting articles to read!

You can also earn Partiko Points by engaging with people and bringing new people in. And you can convert them into crypto! How cool is that!

Hopefully you will have a lot of fun using Partiko! And never hesitate to reach out to me when you have questions!

Cheers,
crypto.talk
Creator of Partiko

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82