What Became of Drawings on the Fridge?

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Well y’all. It’s been a while since I bragged on my kids. For those who don’t know, my 16 yo daughter, Sophie, is a brilliant artist. She’s moving up to Colorado in just a few weeks to live with her dad for a while and attend the Boulder Sudbury School. It’s a really exciting time for us, though I’m totally and completely terrified and pretty much freaking out about her leaving.

image.jpeg

Through our recent moving process, we gathered up Sophie’s paintings that were for sale at local gift shops so we could keep them close. There are still a couple out there floating around, but for the most part we have them gathered together. So I thought this would be a good time to show off her work before sending it to new shops or hanging it here in the house. I’m only posting what is for sale, so let me know if you’re interested in something. I will also put the link to her Etsy at the bottom.

image.jpeg

This one has a long history that I won’t get into, but I finally convinced her to sell it, so this is the first time this one has been offered. I really love it, but it’s sort of painful for us to keep around. 9”x12”
image.jpeg

This hibiscus is one of the first paintings she did after moving here. 8”x10”
image.jpeg

I love this jaguar so much. There’s so much going on in his eyes. He looks sad to me - and like he’s seen a lot of something maybe the rest of us don’t want to know about. It’s pointilist inspired. 9”x12”
image.jpeg

This was inspired by our time in Monkey River. The beaches there are beautiful, and so are the sweet little kids. 9”x12”
image.jpeg

This one is called Woman Fire, and I adore it. I think it’s just an incredibly powerful image. It’s also massive at 16”x20”
image.jpeg

This was done shortly after Woman Fire, and I love the sweetness and also the balance. 9”x12”
image.jpeg

This next series were done in similar colors and style. They’re incredibly vibrant, rich, and textured.

The whale. Can you see his tail sticking up in the picture?
image.jpeg

image.jpeg

The horse. He’s so massive and majestic.
image.jpeg

The macaws. Scarlet macaws are just phenomenal creatures. We have a ridiculous number of parrot species here, but the macaws are pretty special.
image.jpeg

This is my favorite. Even though I got stung by jellyfish last week. This picture really captures there grace and beautiful flowy nature.
image.jpeg

Isn’t she so incredibly talented?! She’s also an amazing daughter, a fabulous big sister, and a really marvelous cook. She makes dinner every night and bakes regularly. What in the world am I going to do when she moves out?! She has a steemit blog, but she never posts on it anymore. I promise to share all the comments with her, though. Show her some love!!!

Isn’t it amazing what kids can do when you give them time and space to explore their talents?!

Here’s the link to her Etsy page!

Sort:  

Hello @solarsupermama, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks! The art was created by my daughter, and she's quite brilliant.

She is really talented, those are amazing and I can see and understand why you are so proud. You should be! Much love to you both! 💚

Thank you! I'm so proud of her and everything about her. She's an absolutely amazing young woman all the way around.

Wow she really is a talented young lady! Stay strong beautiful mama, I wish your daughter well and I hope the transition is smooth for you both. Much love xoxo <3

She really is brilliant! I know we will both be fine, and I hope the transition is smooth too. It's gonna be hard, but we both know it's the right thing. Thanks for the love. Lots of love to you too!

I do love that photo of you both the sheer joy you are both expressing is practically bursting out.
Sophie is very talented and I love the Woman Fire painting xx

It's a sweet pic! We have lots of fun together. It's so cool as the relationship shifts as she grows up.
I love woman fire too! It's really majestic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04