Celebrating 10 Years with my Daughter and Reflecting On My Journey!

in #ecotrain5 years ago (edited)

IMG_5700.JPG

Today my eldest daughter turned 10! What a beautiful journey we have been on these last 10 years. For sure we have had challenging times, but we have both growth so much and learnt so much together.

Exactly ten years ago , I became a mother for the first time. I knew my life was about to change, but I really had no idea how much it would transform me. As women, when we birth our young, we are also re-birthing ourselves. Our new self as a mother. I had read all the books about what to expect about the birth, everything by Ina May Gaskin and Michael Odent . But there wasn't really anything to prepare me for the transition from maiden to motherhood. I did feel very lucky to have had a mother blessing though, to have that transition acknowledged and celebrated, something that is so important and so so necessary.

It seems it is quite common in western society to just leave new mums to get on with it. Granted I had returned to Ireland after living abroad for 11 years and settled in an area where I did not know many people. I did however bond with some amazing people that I met through the, Ireland Palestine Solidarity Group, those same wonderful folk who held a mother blessing for me.

IMG_4271.JPG

I had been told by one mother to just spend as much time cocooned with my baby as possible and that was the best piece of advise that I got. When my daughter was born, it felt completely natural to cocoon myself away from the rest of the world so that we could she could go through the transition of birth slowly and peacefully and so that I could also go through my transition the same way. I had no desire to leave my home, and I felt very very protective about my baby. I really only let family ad very close friends visit us the first few weeks. My instincts were telling me to stay in my space and take my time before becoming fully immersed back into the world.

I have since learnt that this is common practice in different cultures around the world, yet here in the modern Western World we are being advised to just take a few days to rest and recuperate before we jump back on the saddle. I remember reading stories about women being praised for getting back to work early and one French Politicians who went back to work a week after giving birth. All of this felt so wrong to me, so very wrong that women are no longer taking the time they need to really acknowledge and honour this powerful transition. That motherhood is not celebrated or honoured the way that it should be.

All those years women fought for equal rights and for what, so that we could lose the respect we had for one another when we become mothers. One step forward, only for one huge step back. Is this really progress, that has been made. I understand that not every women wants to be a mother, that is her choice, her right. But it is also the right of every mother to get the respect she deserves for birthing and raising the future generations.

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9UgjqaHAhe8rmZSoYBCoRgzD31jppSUcrJKEWZYfU6HKEbqiMwBaTGHbj8NkwdfeRvgVNx91jdWW9DQ.jpeg

So 10 years on and I still have a fire burning in me, a fire that burns so that we can all meet together as equals, yet also embrace the many amazing differences we all have. 10 years on and I see how my actions have painted, this picture of the world that my daughter see's. How my words have helped to shaped her reality. She too has a fire burning inside of her. She has showed me her fierce determination and her sensitive and gentle heart and I feel so blessed to have her in my life, to get to walk this path with her until she wishes to go it alone. I think back to this night 10 years ago, when I first laid eyes on you and how my heart felt like it would surely burst. Oh how it still feels the same when I look into your eyes today.

Happy birthday my beautiful, wild, smart, creative girl, you have brought so much love and light into my life and I am so honoured to stand witness to who you are, to who you are becoming. You are so perfectly you and I love you with every inch of my being!



8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp



DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

I cacooned too. More with the first...

Posted using Partiko iOS

it really is so important to do it for you and your baby xx

I love reading your thoughts on motherhood.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Happy Birthday little one ! how lucky it was you came into the world with the wonderful mother you have ! Have a wonderful day

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you beautiful xx

Congratulations! Wonderful write-up! I spent two years with my first-born and I'm so grateful for that... my youngest just turned eleven and I'm still at home being a mother.

thank you @ladyrebecca x I could not imagine being away from my children, being a mother is the most important job? in the world, (don't really like to call it a job) xxx

Happy baby birthday @trucklife-family! That love and bond, it surely does crack us wide open in the most amazing way. xx

I agree with you on this wholeheartedly that we've (those that want it) have been robbed of so much when it comes be being supported and respected for wanting to raise our children and put our energy into them rather than offices and careers.

thank you @walkerland yes we have been robbed and yes it is a choice and all of our choices need to be respected xx

When we birth our young, we are also rebirthing ourselves" - just YES. No one told me about this bit!! No village to help here, and yet it didn't matter. We KNOW what to do. Happy Birthday to your beautiful girl. Wish her, you and your other girls all health, happiness, blessing & joy!


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

thank you @artemislives, yes we know what to do, we just have to listen and trust xxx

Happy birthday to your beautiful girl!
I was looking at my own first born recently and remembering those first days, gazing down at her and wondering what she'd look like in adulthood. I certainly couldn't have guessed at what she is today! Now my youngest had turned 16, I realise I'm heading towards a new transition...cronehood I guess and I think I will be ready to embrace it as I did motherhood.

Posted using Partiko Android

wow yes that must be something to look back, and your youngest being 16, I do love watching mine grow. I hope you celebrate your transition, such a powerful time indeed, you deserved to be celebrated xx

All those years women fought for equal rights and for what, so that we could lose the respect we had for one another when we become mothers.
So true! I've been thinking a lot recently about feminism and how it has been subverted to further trap us by denying our sexuality and directing our woman-ness toward an accepted, almost enforced, standard. You have touched on that for me.
This is beautiful, like most of what I read of yours. I am so happy to have encountered you here.

thank you @owasco, you should write about this, I feel very strongly about how we have really forgotten about what matters the most in this fight for equal rights. I would love to read your thoughts xx

HM... thinking already. thank you for wanting to hear it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12