Rose Glow DIY Botanical Rose Water (Skin Toner and Mist)

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

IMG_6310.jpg

Sometimes a relaxing mist is just what you need to cool and soothe your skin on a hot day.

It is so satisfying to take pure ingredients and create luxurious, nourishing products that support healthy skin.

We've been struggling through heat waves lately. Working outside when the humidex is extremely high is very hard on the skin. I decided to make up a big batch rose water to soothe and rejuvenate my skin when I come in from work. It's been a real treat having it and I am already feeling the soothing benefits.

I have added a twist to my usual rose water recipe by using lavender as well. Lavender is a good anti inflammatory and also helps to calm skin. Lavender is completely optional in this recipe.

Rose water is very inexpensive and simple to make. It provides the botanical benefits of roses and lavender, in a gentle and refreshing way. If you don't have access to fresh plant material you can order dried flowers on-line or your can use essential oils. This is a great base for a lot of other products as well. I also use rose water as an ingredient in skin creams and soap. in fact, I sometimes sneak it in my baking recipes as well.

spraying rosewater on your skin instantly refreshes and naturally hydrates it. Rosewater works as a facial cleanser, toner & moisturiser. It is also excellent for cooling and soothing your body.

About The Ingredients

Rose

Considered the fragrance of the Goddess Aphrodite Rose oil is YIN in character and excellent for clearing and balancing the heart chakra energies. source

There are many varieties (over 70000) of roses but I love Rosa rugosa for use in our medicinal, skin care and culinary recipes. It is antimicrobial, antiseptic & excellent for balancing all skin types. It is known for supporting: heightened Libido, depression, mood swings, relaxation and much more.

IMG_6103.jpg

Lavender

Lavender is known to balance all of the 7 chakras. It is also an excellent stimulator of the conscious mind and the third eye chakra. Lavender resonates with the powerful energy of the moon and cleanses negative energies. The oil greatly increases mind, body, and spirit health, while promoting love, peace, protection, purification! source

One of the best known healing oils, with a chemically complex structure. The botanical name Lavandula, comes from Latin lavare, which means “to wash.”. It’s topical properties are well known for being; anti-inflammatory, anti-fungal, anti-depressant, antiseptic, antibacterial, antimicrobial, antispasmodic, analgesic, calmative, detoxifier, hypotensive, and sedative.

IMG_6275.jpg

Ingredients

This recipe does not require precise measurements. You just want enough water to just cover the petals. The more plant material the stronger the infusion.

  • A big handful of organic rose petals

  • 6-8 sprigs of lavender (optional)

  • 2 cups filtered or distilled water

  • Spritzer or spray bottles.

rosewater.jpg

Instructions

  • Place the petals in a sauce pan. Cover with water and stir. Bring water to a boil and remove from heat. Cover and allow to steep and sweat until it has cooled completely.

  • Strain out the petals, squeezing to extract all of the liquid.

  • Pour the mixture into a spray bottle and store in the refrigerator. It should be good for up to a month.

  • Lightly spray your face and body for a cooling, soothing, hydrating mist. This can also be used as a linen spray.

IMG_6312.jpg


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca | Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

Sort:  

What a lovely thing to spray oneself with on a hot day!!

ooh, It really is! I need a really BIG spray bottle though so I can drench myself. I just want to lay in front of a fan and have someone stand there and mist me all day. :)

Wow, this is so nice ! I bet it's wonderful to spray this on your skin when it is really hot out. Such a great idea to use it as linen spray also. This would make a really nice gift. Thanks for the idea!

Glad you like it. I got a little sunburn yesterday and it has been so soothing on my skin!

What a lovely thing to make and use for self care, the rose water!

I use the rugosas also but the Damascus roses have a much nicer scent. I'm wondering, is there a way to steep the rose petals without the heat? Once you get over 145F you lose a lot of the benefits...

For some reason, I find lavender irritating as a scent. Some many people like it for many things. Every now and again I will test it again, but so far, it's always been NOPE!

You could use lower heat I am sure. You just really want to sweat the petals. I would love a real steam distiller for essential oils. Maybe one day! :)

OH! Yes, a distiller!

Awesome post. I use rosewater every day as a facial cleanser. Too bad we don't have roses and lavender in Cambodia, but I might try this with frangipani flowers. Such a lovely fragrance. Thanks for this wonderful share!

Having never heard of it before I had to look up the frangipani flower - wow! What a stunning flower. I wish the internet had scratch and sniff so I could smell it too! :)

It's amazing. Unfortunately, it's rainy season (and it's a heavy one) so the trees have no flowers. But once they have I am def trying to make some frangipani water ;)

yes! i really need to make this next time my roses bloom. i am in need of that relief!! it's been so f-in hot here!! thanks for the recipe :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17