Amazing cooling-the-heart-fire salad for the medicinal cooking challenge!

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the Medicinal Gourmet Cooking Collective Challenge initiated by eco-alex of the eco-train.
In this first week we are cooking for the Fire element, the heart.

Here's what I'm making I know it doesn't look very red like Alex requested for the fire element of the heart, but if you read on you'll know why...:

IMG_0496.JPG

I am very interested in cooking for medicinal purposes as I see food as medicine.
It is how Rudolf Steiner also referred to it. If I remember correctly his vision on food was that it can rebalance the imbalances caused by your day to day events and is meant for that. A simple example of that would be that when we are really hot because of being in the sun a lot, we need to eat or drink something cooling like watermelon juice, which takes heat out of the body because it is considered a cold food in nature, in Chinese medicine. Or if we have a lot of stress and all the energy has rissen to our head because we are overthinking things, we then benefit from something grounding like beetroot.

Anastasia's advise in 'The ringing ceder' book series is to fully trust on instinct when trying to find out what would be beneficial for our health to eat at each moment.
She suggests to have a good look at all that is available for you in your fridge and cupboard for example and to really feel in to what you are drawn to most. We have to learn to really listen to our bodies signals that are motivated by wanting us to be healthy and not just let the habits of our taste pallet guide us there. Taste is also really important though. I do believe it helps digestion and the happiness of the heart when we eat foods that are tasty and have been prepared with a lot of love.

Rather then just going on instinct I feel it's beneficial to also have some knowledge on what effects certain foods have on us, so I am happy to be investigating which foods are beneficial to the heart.

This first week @eco-alex has chosen to write about what is good for the fire ellement of the heart. This is wonderful and I am sure many people actually need increasing of their heart fire, but I think for me, cooling of the heart fire would be more appropriate right now.

According to Chinese medicine summer is ruled by the fire element.

It is summer time in Holland right now and that means lots of heat from the sun, or at least this summer. My heat rises up to my head quite quickly which is a symptom of too much fire altogether.

SUMMER HEAT Heat in the body hastens metabolism, dilates blood vessels, increases circulation moving upward and outward. Excess heat can cause inflamlation, swelling, rapid pulse , thirst, dryness, constipation, difficult urination , agitation, high blood pressure, skin eruptions, nosebleeds, heat exhaustion. A sign of excess heat in the body is a red face or red eyes, a bright red tongue with either no coat or a yellow coat. In Summer some people will experience heart fire manifesting as restless dreaming and insomnia which according to Chinese medicine is an imbalance between the kidney and heart or the fire and water elements. This can be confirmed by a red tip on the tongue.
( http://www.kansha.com.au/Images/Summer%20LR.pdf)

So, having read I'm chosing to focus on cooling the heart-fire.

To cool the heart fire we need foods that are cold in nature.
That means that they take heat from the body instead of give off heat to the body. This has nothing to do with wether you heated the food or not. It is just the nature of the food that either takes away or adds heat to the body.
Cooking foods can have an effect on the nature of the food. Frying foods in general adds heat quality to them. Steaming however tends to add to the cooling effect.
Bitter foods foods have a yin quality to them according to Chinese medicine, which is also cooling, descending and contracting.
bitter foods remove excessive heat from the liver, lowers blood pressure and eases inflammation. Bitter foods also removes damp mucus from the heart arteries. Altogether good for the heart.

I went in to my garden and was happily surprised to find so many foods that are cooling or have a positive effect on the heart:

Letuce, a cooling food. And Nasturtia antibacterial and high in vitamine c (I added that for colour balance 😉):
IMG_5552.JPG

cucumber, a food cold in nature:
IMG_3711.JPG
Not yet 😉 but in a little while I can use one from the garden instead of from the fridge.

celery, a bitter food:
IMG_8256.JPG

mint, a food cold in nature:
IMG_7518.JPG

dandelion, a bitter food:
IMG_0961.JPG

apple, a cooling food:
IMG_7674.JPG

wild chamomile, a bitter food:
IMG_4462.JPG

borage, a food that is said to gladden the heart, I found it growing upon a little hill, not sure where it came from:
IMG_8852.JPG

It makes me so happy and proud to be able to get all this from the garden! It's more then I thought.

Things I got from the fridge and cupboard for my salad:
cucumber, a cooling food
avocado, a cooling food
and sunflower seeds: promote cardio vascular health.

For the dressing I used:

IMG_5006.JPG
olive oil
apple cider vinegar
mustard
honey
pepper and salt

It was deliciously fresh and reviving.
I had a haring with onions on the side to give me some protein.

For desert I had a little bit of coconut ice cream ( based on coconut curd and agave syrup) with raspberries and local honey, both the raspberry and the coconut are also cooling foods.

IMG_0545.JPG

Brrr, I feel a little cold right now...😆

I hope you felt a bit inspired by this post to look at foods in a medicinal way and to search your garden if you can find anything edible that can help you medicinally . There's more then you think. I lot of what I found and used came up in my garden spontaneously, like the wild chamomile, the dandelion and the borage.

If you liked it please upvote and consider to follow if you want more.

Lots of appetite for you,

Undrach-Clara @wombloom

I am a proud member of:

image.png

etrain.png

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

See you!

Sort:  

ABSOLUTELY beautiful culinary treat!
LOVE all the foraged and harvest foods you used in this salad!

Thank you Goldendawne, do you have a garden too? Oh, yes I see, you're a homesteader. I followed you now to get you on my feed! What are you growing?

I sure do!! Beans, cucumbers, potatoes, greens (lettuce, arugula, etc), TONS of herbs and edible flowers, sunflowers, gourds, zucchini, peppers galore and so much more

Wow, that sounds like an abundance! Do you still have to buy veggies? How do you grow your potatoes? I'm trying mine in a bucket.

I have a raised garden bed in the back of the house. It's 4x6 and I have four plants in there. I've heard of the container/bucket potato gardening but haven't tried it yet.

Have you posted about your potatoes in the buckets yet?

Oh that sounds nice, a whole bed especially for potatoes. No, mine is a small project just to try it out so far...but maybe I'll make a post about it. Are you growing sweet potatoes too?

That is lovely, would like to try this! Visually beautiful too. Delicious!

Thank you for your interest! Yes, it's fun to eat flowers!

very nice! amazing that you got so much of it from the back garden... way to go! I never did explain about the options of a cooling or warming dish.. and its true that we have to eat to either heat up or cool the heart energy. I also could use a cooling agent, and this salad looks just the ticket...

Thanks! It does hey? 😁 Have some cucumber with your tahina! And get some mint to make mint tea with honey. It's a nice challenge. I liked you entry too.

I really love the idea of cooling the heart-fire with carefully selected ingredients. Thanks so much for sharing such a fantastic recipe and informative post.

You're very welcome! Come again soon!

All those great plants from the garden, so cool! The salad looks really tasty and the red flower definitely makes up for the missing red element 😁

Thanks a lot love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63994.25
ETH 3062.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94