Pocket /Purse Dump

in #edclove6 years ago (edited)
Recently, @thebugiq launched a fun initiative and invited everyone to show the items that folks carry in their pockets or purses on an everyday basis. Typically, men are the first to participate. However, @thebugiq also wanted ladies to get involved, too, by dumping our purses and photographing what is there. I thought it would be fun to participate, and here is the result!

EDC1.jpg

  • I usually have my purse with me, as I am not one to just grab my keys, driver's license, and phone, as some women do. I can't go without some cash or a debit card, my lip balm, and so forth!
  • Keys are important for getting back into the house, even if I am riding with someone else.
  • My phone is my preeeeeeeeeecious... and must go with me everywhere! I want to be able to contact someone if I have car trouble or some other emergency.
  • Sunglasses are important because I have cataracts forming, which cause sensitivity to light and glare. While out-and-about, I often keep my sunglasses on, even indoors, because the lights in stores, restaurants, and offices are so bright.
  • I don't always wear a watch, but I usually do when going out. I'm a fanatic about watches and have several from which to choose, often coordinating with my clothing in some way.
  • My father used to tease me that my car wouldn't run without coffee, because I often take a travel mug of coffee with me when I go out, to have something to sip.

dottedline.png

Dumping my purse to see the contents, here is what is usually inside (although sometimes other items are added, as the need arises):

EDC2.jpg

  • The wallet, of course, is the main item because of driver's license, debit card, cash, etc. The wallet also has shielding inside to prevent debit cards from being read while inside the wallet.

Proceeding counter-clockwise from the wallet in upper-left, we have:

  • Eyeglasses in a protective hard case
  • Black leather pouch with lip balm, makeup for touch-ups, a teeny little Swiss army knife, Motrin®, decongestant pills, etc. The little knife was a free "door prize" at a business convention I attended 32 years ago.
  • A cloth pouch with a rosewood mala (prayer beads) which I purchased at a store called Kathmandu in downtown Orlando, Florida, about 14 years ago.
  • Small tablet of paper and a pen
  • Phone charger in a little green silk case which I've had for almost 30 years, bought in San Francisco's "Chinatown" district during a business trip.
  • The orange case is actually for carrying ID & debit card, but I have repurposed it as a cigarette case

Exposing the items in the different pouches, we have:

EDC3.jpg

Most of my life, I have swapped purses frequently, based on the color/style of my clothing, activities of the day, and so forth. After finding the bag that is shown in these photos, though, I haven't used another one since!


SCREENSHOT FROM "10 Items or Less"
There is a really cute, quirky movie called 10 Items or Less starring Paz Vega and Morgan Freeman. That is one of my all-time favorite movies! In one scene, Paz Vega's character leaves her place of employment with an orange "hobo"-styled shoulder bag. I told myself if I ever found one like it at an affordable price, I was going to get it. It took a couple of years of occasional perusing of available items in stores nearby, but I finally found one!

The bag is super-soft, supple leather, manufactured by BUENO®. The only available colors were red or black, rather than orange, but that is fine — I love this red one as much, or more! And, it was on sale at half-price! superhappy15.png  The purse is roomy with several zippered compartments. The strap is long and adjustable, which allows it to be worn cross-body as well as a shoulder bag.

As a helpful tip, I offer a photo of my key ring with a little clip that I use to attach my keys to the brass ring on my shoulder strap. That way, the keys never get lost in the bottom of my purse and are easily accessible when I need to pop the trunk, unlock the doors, or hit the "panic" button. Little clips like that one can be purchased cheaply at craft stores and hardware stores.

Keys.png

And since @nnnarvaez showed a closeup of his very awesome Soviet watch, I will show a closeup of one of my favorite watches, the one in the photo at the top of this post. It is a ladies' Citizen® Eco-Drive™ watch that recharges in light so buying new batteries every year or two isn't necessary. The band is a very feminine white leather, and the watch itself is white with a pink bezel. It features a date window and chronograph functions. I like watches that actually do things rather than simply look pretty! Because of that, plus the fact that my eyes are not as good as they once were, I often buy/wear men's watches instead of women's as they are bigger, easier to read, and do more "stuff." 😁

_SPGirlieWatch.jpg
• ONE OF MY FAVORITE WATCHES •

So, what is in YOUR pockets or purse...?
Join the fun with a post of your own!

ThanksForReading.png 😊

dottedline.png

ADDENDUM: I was informed (see comments, below) that I was mistaken to have used the acronym "EDC" and the term "Everyday Carry" in the original title, body, and tags of this post, as the Steem blockchain recognizes those as pertaining solely to weaponry and survival gear. I was not aware, and all editable portions of this post have been changed as none of the items pictured constitute as such. Any weapons that may be on my person at any time remain undisclosed for privacy purposes.
dottedline.png

SeeOtherPosts--Challenges.png

7-Day Positivity Challenge
Twelve Questions • Spend a Million Dollars
Quote: Canvas of the Universe • Quote: She Burst Forth
Bucket List • Steemit Name • Love It/Shove It
Comfort Zone • Nanofiction: Zoo • Country Childhood
B&W Photos: 1 • 2 • 3 • 4 • 5 • 6 • 7

incisel--PINK.png

a big hug to @enginewitty for designing the following personal banner for me 🤗

GoldenProjectBanner-advisor.jpg

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

__pearls.png

Sort:  

Great EDC Kitty! I'm a huge watch lover and kinda got my dream watch (well you'll understand if I say one of my dream watches haha) not too long ago. I'll do a reveal when I finally do my own EDC!

How fun is that! You are so organized! But wait.
You don't carry duck feet in your purse? Thanks so much for sharin!
Ren

I really love your items in your bag kitty.
First the bag is amazing and I love how you put your keys on there not to loose them 😉👍 great idea. A watch is always a good thing to have and I always wear one... Lol
We have some things in common like lip balm and our phones... Precious.. Lol
Thank you for sharing.. So cool to see inside your bag 😃 have a wonderful evening. 🤗❤️

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Something interesting...i never cared or say botheted about looking inside the ladies purse. As usual that small lady purse have all the essential carry items...but why coffeemug😕 you can get one wherever you drink anything👍 and the love for Pink (watch) is very evidient....😉

Posted using Partiko Android

The coffee mug is good for sipping while driving (at traffic lights, of course, when the car isn't moving), and bringing coffee from home is cheaper than making an extra stop along the way to buy it!

Yes, I love my pink! 😁

I LOVE this explaining a womans bag! At first I was kind of surprised with the first picture.because a womans bag and only THAT in there??

My bag is like a bomb, for real! So I am not sure if in the end i will go into this challenge mostly I would be imbarrassed hahahahahah

Very organized! My wife switched to these purse backpack bags they are very stylish. I just worry that she will forget to close a zipper and everything will go flying out when she slings it over her shoulder. Gotta ask what kind of cigarettes are those?!!

Virginia Slims® Superslims™ — those, and the Capri® brand, are the skinniest little cigarettes on the planet!

VirginiaSlimsSuperslims.jpg

Man, I think us have to smoke en all in one sitting!

Sorry it was a mistake

Okay, no problem. Thanks for responding!

You are so organized!!! My purse has all kinds of stuff in it. Have to go to bed now, but going to dump it tomorrow :)

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85