How to Make Students Be Moved in a Science Class Acitivty| Affective Domain of Objective

in #eduaction6 years ago

3FC15954-9080-48E0-AD09-9F73902338CA.jpegImage Source

Good day steemians, it is almsot a month, and I am back!

When I was little, I have this dreams of mine of becoming a scientist. There were questions that pops-up in my little head due to the love that sprouted in the bottom of my heart about this subject . This love started when I met an inspiring teacher during my elementary years. She has been my Grade 5 -6 Science Teacher, and i really do admire her a lot. I admire her in the way she delivered and imparted the science lessons to us. Her innovative and creative way of letting us participate in an interactive discussion had engraved the meaningful lessons not just in my brain but also in the depth of my heart.

Nowadays that I already become a Science Teacher in one of the most prestigious university here in Cebu, Philippines, I couldn’t deny the fact that when I felt that I have failed in inculcating the lesson in the heart and mind of my students, I did my reflections on the way I was taught and I remininsce the memories of mine when I was under the supervison of my favorite teacher who have taken a huge part of who i am today.
6D7EC9C0-B549-4652-81A2-6F6B8352D6F4.jpeg

Today, let me share to you an inspiring lesson of mine when I was having my Science class last school year with my Grade Six students. The school year was about to end that time, when we tackle the topic ”Earthquake”. Since we are done in determining and understanding the concepts about earthquake, my creativity was challenge when I am going to accomplish my affective domain objective. (In all of the domain of objectives in lesson plans, affective domain has been the most challenging one for me, since I am not really good in moving the heart of my students.) Nevertheless, I have come up with the idea of letting them make a reflection paper about the question that I have given to them.

1EDD8C6D-8EBD-44E4-A810-A0152E7F6BF7.jpegImage Source
There was only one question but it was really striking since it talks about how they value the life they have now and the people whom they love the most. The one million worth question goes like this:

If tomorrow will be the end of your life, how are you going to redeem your remaining time with the people you love the most?

However, before giving that question to them , I asked them to get a sheet of paper and pencil, afterwhich I asked them to close their eyes and imagine themeselves in the storyline that I am about to narrate. The story line goes like this:

It was a sunny morning. Everyone was excited specially you, because your father have told you that your family will have this advance celebration of your graduation. You and other family members went to the beach to celebrate this happiness. The beach was calm, the seabreeze was so refreshing, the crystal clear water was inviting, everyone was really enjoying and having fun. You could hear their laughters as if it was the happiest moment of their lives, smiles were painted on the faces of everyone. You are really happy that finally your family have this family gathering activity amidst the hectic workload schedule of your parents. Thus, you and your friends have decided to play ,............ however in the middle of laughters, you saw that your playmate is moving in unusual manner. Then you have realized that you too were doing the same. You stop and finally figure out your mind about the lesson you have learned in school about earthquake, but it was almost late because the magnitide and intensity is so intense which causes the nearby establishments to collapse and the water on the shore to go back in the middle part of the sea. Everyone were screaming and you realized that you have to find your parents and other family members when it was apparently calm, but you have seen them in great pain when a coconut tree fall down to them, you cried and cried without noticing that a nearby debris of the eatablishment nearby is about to fall on you. With this inevitable disaster, you have to be ready , but what If you will be given a chance to redeem your 24 hours before this great disaster will happen to you, what will you do then?

Upon closing the lights and their eyes, I make sure that my voice was so dramatic and emotions were really there, moreover i have played a very sad instrumental song,”Kiss the Rain”, so they will really feel the scenario on the story line.

As i narrate the story line , I couldn’t helped my tears from falling to my cheeks as I am watching the tears of my students.

By then, I have realized that they were really moved, and before going out from our class I let them read in front of the class, their reflections which made the tears to flood in the classroom. With that activity, I went back to the faculty room with a heavy heart but fulfilled. Because, I have found out the love of my students towards their r family and the life they have.

###My science teacher really inspired me to become a teacher who I am today. With that lesson paired with an acitivity that moved their hearts, I could say that they already have this lesson that was engraved in the heart that will stay forever.

I know we have our different ways of educating the young and old ones, whatever our pedagogies are As long as It is accompanied with Love, then I am pretty sure that will be treasured in the mind and heart of the people whom we imparted the meaningful lesson with.

Thank you @ morken for the support and encouragements:)

Yours truly,
@kim24

Sort:  

@kim24 you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

💋💋Upvote and Follow💋💋
🇮🇩🇮🇩I'm Newbie🇮🇩🇮🇩
👍👍Roll back to You👍👍
💱💱Build Friendships For Finance💱💱

@anggajai1419

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @jeffbernst, @bitrocker2020, @jrswab & @teachblogger . We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

Nice article there :)

Congratulations @kim24! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by kim24 being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

Congratulations @kim24! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kim24! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kim24! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kim24! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28