Ulog 12: My Class Size

in #education6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, I have shown you my Grade 10 students and my advisory class. Today, I have met my Grade 7 students and my Grade 8 students.

The highlights of today’s class session are the following

  1. Subject Matter
  2. Grading System
  3. Subject Requirements
  4. Class Rules
  5. Pre-Test

5C7698C1-F78A-49D2-8EFE-0E665D7A3042.jpeg

These are my Grade 8 students. There number only reach fifty-four. However, we are expecting sixty students in this class. In the picture, you can see them busy answering the Pre-test which is a 100-item test. Yes, in our first meeting, I let them answer a hundred item test. But do not worry because their scores will not be recorded. This will only measure their prior knowledge in technical drafting.

DAB35111-3C2D-4530-8531-D5E67E80E6F6.png

92DB9CB7-05D2-4A23-9810-308510B26D76.jpeg

And these are my Grade 7 students. They are sixty-two in this class. Yeah, I need to handle this crowd in my class. They look very organized today because it is only the second day of class. But, I really hope I would be able to manage these young adults all throughout the quarter.

1DF5C36A-5C88-4347-9927-517184B3FA53.png

My Class Size


Grade LevelNumber of Students
Grade 762 students
Grade 854 students
Grade 949 students
Grade 1044 students

The standard size of the class, which pertains to the number of the students in a class, is only forty. However, in the Philippines, the DepEd allows sixty students/pupils in a class starting Grade 4 up.

If we are going to compare my class size with the standard class size, we will see that we do not meet the standard. However, if you compare it against the maximum number of students allowed in DepEd, we can say that only one grade level (Grade 7), exceed the maximum limit of students.

Actually, the size of the class really matters due to the following reasons:

1. The teacher is not a super human.

Linda has 8 children. Her children have different personalities and behaviour. Sometimes, Linda gets angry and annoyed of her children. Linda only has 8 children to look into, but teachers need to look into more than 40 students in his/her class.

2. The students’ needs should be addressed immediately.

Ashley is the 5th of the 13 childen. She wanted to ask her parents about having a boyfriend. But, she cannot find a chance to ask her mother who is busy attending the needs of her youngest brother. She made a decision without consulting her mother. Over-sized class decreases students’ optimum learning.

5DF50F17-DD4E-428A-9793-BE8CA97EBFFB.png

DCF33FC4-E8E7-4069-8B08-5A3ECF12F9ED.jpeg

Sort:  

Sir @christianyocte imuha na ang text divider? Pwede gamiton pud nako? Hahahah

Hahaha dili na ako sir. Didto ko nikuha ni @ryancalaunan patay ko ani. Hahah

The best #ulog I read, Teachers I admired...

Nice hearing sir Boy Terry!

Grade Level Number of Students
Grade 7 62 students
Grade 8 54 students
Grade 9 49 students
Grade 10 44 students

Gaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!!! Laban lang jud Teacher! Laban lang jud. Nya ako mura nako mamatay sa 18 students. OA ra jud kaau ko. Kudos Super teacher @christianyocte!

Laban jud hahahha. Way mahimo. Hahah lingaw man pud

Wow, I'm in awe of people that can teach so many people. I only do private one person tutoring, I can't imagine how difficult it works be to keep over 30 people interested and engaged!

Thank you. Ive been doing this for 5 years already so i just get used to it. The first few months was damn hard my friend, @bengy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87