The Stages of Learning Spanish, Contributed by @Shenanigator

in #education6 years ago

I've been learning Spanish for a while now but I'm still not fluent. In fact, there's still a long way to go. Throughout the time that I've been learning Spanish, I've had a lot of ups and downs. Many different feelings and thoughts have floated through my mind. Those feelings have been a mix of hope, despair, excite, accomplishment, and failure.

The first lesson


Oh my gosh, what did I just get myself into?!?

At this point, I was thinking that this is so hard and that there's no way I'm going to learn the language.

pexels-photo-265076.jpg

The second lesson


Okay, maybe this isn't quite as hard as I thought.

The 2nd lesson was still difficult but not nearly as overwhelming as the first. At this point, I'm thinking that maybe I can this. Hopefully, it will continue to get a little easier.

End of level 1


This is great, I've learned a lot of words and I feel like I have a base to build from.

There were 30 lessons in level one and by the time I was done, I had felt some sense of accomplishment. I felt like I was on my way to becoming fluent, knew I still had a long way to go but figured I could be fluent in the next 6 months to a year.

pexels-photo-256520.jpg

Ugh, I forgot to do my Spanish lessons for the past 2 weeks.

Wow, okay, now I need to backtrack like 6 lessons.

Not doing any learning for 2 weeks sets you back a lot. I had finished 30 lessons, and now I have to do the last week's lessons all over again. I really need to be consistent, I'm never going to learn if I keep having to backtrack like this.

The next year consisted of me doing my lessons every day, then forgetting to do them for a while. It was a series of backtrack after backtrack. The lack of consistency was a killer.

Yay, I finally have someone to hold me accountable!


couple-love-water-summer.jpg

At this point, my girlfriend started learning Spanish with me. We made sure to hold each other accountable every day and we were really great about doing our lessons each and every day.

When she started doing the daily lessons, I was about halfway through Spanish 2 (45 lessons done). She thought I was close enough to fluency to have full conversations with Spanish speakers but I knew I wasn't. I just knew way more words than she did, which made it seem like that to her.


Stay tuned for part 2 in order to see where we've come.

Sort:  

Learning anything good in this life is always through stages and process because life itself is all about stage, there are time we are young, time we are adults and time to die all this is all stages.

Learning any language is always seems very complicated at first most especially when it is second language and you are learning it as an adult. It will surely require a lot of commitment and consistency to get over the tiring process of the up and down you mentioned.

As you have listed it, it surely started the process and stage, Which means that it as you are advancing I'm the stages things seems to be more easier just like a kids going through a primary school education stage it always seems tiring as if the kid will actually not to over it.

Remember that consistency and commitment is the key to learning anything good. And it is always good to have people with us. That too always serve as motivation compare to just one person in the process.

Hahaha, I think this post is just for me.

I am one of those lazy guys you can see around when it comes to learning new languages probably due to stage one which seems to be the foundation on which other stages grow

Oh my gosh, what did I just get myself into?

After little trying and failing, I back out by saying its not just for me, I don't think I can cope forgetting their is a process to follow "in @olawalium voice" smile

I could remember back then in college, when I had the opportunity to learn Hausa language (one of the Nigeria three main languages), I was not too serious with it thinking its not just for me, I started the lesson with two other friends, one of them is fluent in Hausa already, the other one speak it to some extent too. But, I was the only one who can't use the language at all.

I will be on the watch for the next part, to see how it's going to help in reshaping my mentality about learning new languages.

Thank you so much in advance....

The first step is always the hardest, that is the truth, which you have buttressed by your point there. It is always hard to start something and after taking the strength to start, you feel a bit better...and afterwards again, doubts starts setting in and feeling of regrets hahaha...i can totally understand you on that.

Consistency is key. In everything, once we lose that consistency, it takes a little bit more effort to get back in tune. Same thing with footballers. If you haven't been practising as you should, You feel out of tune but with a little bit more efforts, you get it back.

Having someone to help you through the process makes it easier. Maddie is so adorable, right? Hahahaha.

I SINCERELY admire your courage to learn Spanish. Learning a new language isn't easy at all. As exciting as it might first sound, it gets tiring along the way. Well done and I am proud of what you've been doing so far.

Oh my gosh, what did I just get myself into?!?
At this point, I was thinking that this is so hard and that there's no way I'm going to learn the language.

Your posts the truth that are very good, I think that Time is the most valuable thing that a person can spend. Your time is limited, so do not waste it living the life of another, ... Live your own life. Everything else is secondary, it is also the currency of your life. It is the only currency you have, and only you can determine how it will be spent. Be careful and do not let other people spend it for you. A man who allows himself to waste an hour of his time has not discovered the value of life.
Always keep this advice that my teacher told me

Knowing another language is like owning a second soul.

Language learning seems to be more tiring compare to language acquisition. Language learning is for adults who desire to learn a particular language as an additional to his mother tongue. In which you are doing now compared to a kids born to a particular community who acquire language base on natural instinct. Like you have said there will always be stage in learning any language at all and the stage always seem tiring and complicated since you already had a first language

You have a point, there is a clear distinction the two, language acquisition and language learning, language learning like you have said seem to be more evolving and complicated due to the fact that people mostly involved are adults and they already had their first language which is their mother tongue. Some people needed to learn the new language because they find themselves changed environment which always requires them to communicate and they say good communication skills aids successfulness without communication they won't be much success since that is the key. Good insight, you have the point

Ánimo en el estudio. Tienes que practicar más tu español escrito : )

Persistence is what makes the impossible possible, the possible likely, and the likely definite. I love the fact that you always wanna learn more. Thats so inspiring.

And its so good to know that Maddie is with you. Yaaayyy. You guyz should get married please, I want to eat your wedding rice. Hahhahaha

Nice one Jordan. I hope you understand and speak fluently as soon as possible.

I agree with you on persistence, the key to success in any learning environment is persistence and determination

Consistency helps to build a better result, since you have acknowledge that backtrack takes one almost to the beginning of starting all over, you work on that.... Amazingly, you now have your partner to learn along side with, and that makes it pretty easier

Consistency is key in our life processes. He's sure a fast learner

You are doing great with you Spanish learning at least now you can understand some basic Spanish words and can communicate a little. And you have also completed your lesson one class and also your lesson two class depict some backtrack but you still finish your Spanish class lesson. Good to know that you are progressing with your learning of Spanish @Shenanigator

Not doing any learning for 2 weeks sets you back a lot. I had finished 30 lessons, and now I have to do the last week's lessons all over again. I really need to be consistent, I'm never going to learn if I keep having to backtrack like this.

Persistence is the key and a good quality . Because that quality makes people to achieve their long term goals without any motivation. Without that quality, you wouldn't become a successful person that easily.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76