There are bad students...but more so, it's mostly just shitty teachers.

in #education5 years ago

I've often said that I'm bad at math. I know that's not really true. Apparently it's a myth as well. Of course, that article puts it all on the students...but they aren't wrong that you can learn math, whether or not you are good at it. They put it on the students, saying they just aren't studying hard enough, when teachers already give so much homework that if students choose to study every night, the majority of their time would be taken up. School is pretty much a full time job, with little visible benefit to doing well. You get praise. Oh. Yay.

Math really doesn't come easy for some people. If you just write an equation on a board, even if it's something that I should know, I'll likely struggle with it. And I'm someone that uses "math" every day pretty much in my job, just usually not in the form of equations. I'm exposed to it in the form of "algorithms". They are far easier to comprehend in this form. Whatever jackass decided that math should be taught with single character variables and Greek letters should be kicked in the nads.

The really sucky part is that quite a number of people in the field of computer science and various fields related to computer programming just assume that you can comprehend some random equation that they write on the board. This kinda seriously pisses me off.

For me personally, to understand an equation, it can take me hours, even if it's something that I know and personally use. Somehow, despite this, I got through more math in school than most students. I did have to study quite a bit more than most students on some things though. I also tended to do quite a bit better if I understood the logic behind something, rather than simply being told to memorize something.

But see, if being bad at math isn't really a thing, though I personally believe some have more difficulty learning some concepts than others, particularly depending on how they're taught, isn't it really the teacher's fault? It's the teacher's job to ensure the subject is taught to the students. They are getting paid to do so. The students don't know what benefit they will get from learning the subject, as they are completely removed from the future benefits. They might not have any clue what they want to do when they get older, and even if they do, they might not have any clue what they will actually do. Even if by some miracle they know exactly what they are going to do when they grow up, math is taught in such abstract methods that few see the benefit. So, the drive to learn on the student side is far lower than it should be, yet it is seen as their responsibility.

Any effort to connect a student's success with a teacher's pay has been resisted to the extreme as well. So they don't want to have financial benefit to be a good teacher. They want to be paid the same whether or not they manage to teach a student. But is that the way it should be?

A teacher knows when a student is having difficulty with a subject. A teacher knows when they're having trouble getting motivated to do the homework. They could potentially figure out a way to help a lot of students to learn a subject better. Yet often they ignore it. This is probably because they view it as a student's responsibility to learn a subject and seek out help if they need it. Cuz it's not like anxiety is a thing. They couldn't possibly have anxiety related to seeking additional help. Not like kids berate other students over needing extra help.

Teachers also know that when they give 2 hours of homework, they likely aren't the only ones giving homework that day. They know that every time they cover a new subject, if a student doesn't get it right away, they'll likely have to spend quite a bit of time studying. They also know that kids don't want to spend hours after school studying and doing homework every day.

Honestly, all of these things, including and especially ignoring a student as they slowly slip into failure, is entirely a teacher's fault, and it likely means that a student will have lasting repercussions throughout their life resulting from that, likely financially. Every adult in a dead end job is the result of a teacher that didn't step in and try to help them when they were still learning to be the person they would be as an adult. They learned that life is too hard from teachers that put too much on their shoulders and didn't help them carry the burden that they placed on them.

Sure, people are "responsible" for their own lives...but who they are is largely a result of the environment they have been in their whole life. Many people's lives are an uphill battle...but sometimes all it takes is someone to take a moment and help them up, so they don't get left behind.

math_blackboard_education_classroom_chalkboard_chalk_learning_formula562631.jpg!d.jpe
(source)

Sort:  

In my final year of high school, I had a 2-hour math class twice a week. Each lesson was the same - the teacher would stand at the front of the classroom lecturing us for a whole hour on whatever mathematical concept was next on the curriculum, he would write on the board as he lectured and we weren't to interrupt him with questions during this time. During the second hour, students were required to work out the list of problems/equations or whatever they were to prove we had understood the content of the lecture. Prior to starting our bookwork, some people would take a bathroom break. The last time I was in this class, the lecture was over and I (amongst others) requested a bathroom break - as I walked past the teacher he looked at me and quietly said, "Don't bother coming back". I was shocked and confused, I thought I heard wrong, but no, he actually said that, in fact, he continued on to tell me that there was no point in my returning to class as I was so hopeless I would never learn anything and I was to take myself to the office and un-enrol myself from his class! I'd never experienced anything like that before! I was so dumbfounded al I could do was collect my things and go.
Way to set me on a path for the rest of my life thinking I could never be successful in any task that involved the use of maths, or even just numbers themselves....

At the other end of the scale though, I used to play the flute as a teenager, I took private lessons at a music school and each year I studied and trained for the AMEB (Australian Music Examination Board) exams. I blitzed each exam I took, got better each time until I received a High Distinction for Grade 5 and my teacher announced her refusal to continue teaching me. Once again, shocked, confused, devastated, she was a talented musician and a wonderful teacher, I still had so much to learn from her, but as it turned out, her primary instrument was the piano, flute being a second instrument she had taken up and as such had only completed grade 5 herself. Of course, I demanded a further explanation and she confessed that she had only achieved a Distinction result for her grade 5 exam...so she didn't want to teach me any more because I got a better score than her! Surely most people know that the greatest achievement for a teacher is when their student surpasses them? Apparently not...

So, long story short, I agree entirely about the lasting impact teachers have on their students, in whatever subject....

People can be so blind to how their actions influence others, be it positive or negative.... a bit more self-awareness, consideration of others, and thinking before speaking or acting can really go a long, long way.

as I walked past the teacher he looked at me and quietly said, "Don't bother coming back".

From the moment you started explaining your class, he sounded like a horrible teacher. While it's probably not what he meant, you probably would have been better not coming back and finding a better teacher. Unfortunately, such experiences often have detrimental effects on students. They really should deal with how different students have more trouble with certain subjects intelligently. Maybe you needed a bit of extra help, or even just a different method of teaching, or just have it framed a different way.

got better each time until I received a High Distinction for Grade 5 and my teacher announced her refusal to continue teaching me.

Yeah...she really should have framed that a different way. It probably would have gone totally differently if she had said, "It's time for you to find a new teacher. You've surpassed where I feel I can teach you anymore." Or some such.

People can be so blind to how their actions influence others, be it positive or negative.... a bit more self-awareness, consideration of others, and thinking before speaking or acting can really go a long, long way.

Yep. Too bad they don't really teach us that. :P

Well said. I have good memories of a teacher (chemistry) who said: I am here to teach you how to use the tools not to memorize the information for a test. He taught us how to break down a problem and how to use our resources ( textbooks back then) to solve the problem. He said you will always have access to resources, but we needed to learn how to apply the tools (resources) to problem solving.

Posted using Partiko Android

Butt-Head: I'm, like, angry at numbers. Beavis: Yeah, really. There's, like, too many of them and stuff!

https://www.dailymotion.com/video/x6q8i8v

LOL......good one!

I wrote about a similar subject a few weeks ago and I very much agree. It is easy to lay blame on the "bad students" but I think that they are often the product of bad teachers.

"Any effort to connect a student's success with a teacher's pay has been resisted to the extreme as well."

That really is a shame because I have always liked that idea to some degree.

To be fair, there are tons of ways you can link a teacher's pay to a student's success poorly...but in cases like that, you have the choice to fight to do it better...or not to do it at all.

It's seemed to me that the teachers always fight a bit too hard against this idea, rather than fighting to do it correctly.

I personally don't want the pay directly tied to test scores, because that will lead to teaching according to tests...but there should be a monetary incentive to improve the evaluation of students. Teachers need to feel like it is their job to not just stand in front of a classroom, but try to teach the students, and prepare them for their future.

Dittos!
*Sure, people are "responsible" for their own lives...but who they are is largely a result of the environment they have been in their whole life. Many people's lives are an uphill battle...but sometimes all it takes is someone to take a moment and help them up, so they don't get left behind.

glad I made it through before common core came around 🤣

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You got a 31.49% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @geekpowered! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 30 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99