Damping or Muting Your Strum: Rhythm Tricks

in #education6 years ago

It has been a HOT week here, and thus, good for catching up on ukulele lessons. 🙃 Today’s lesson is on how to spice up your strumming with a rhythm trick called “damping” or “muting.” I also provide a bit of discussion on how that works best in the context of a song.

As always, for more personalized instruction and discussion, you can check out my study group on Facebook, “The Bard’s Ukulele Study Group”: https://www.facebook.com/groups/163694317718617/

Happy playing! 🎶

15EBFAEC-AB0C-4040-B89A-7336E29B70D1.jpeg

Sort:  

Yay- well done you on getting though the hay making and still managing to look human - that's no mean feat! I know as a kid, whenever we finished they hay season, I was dropping after so much hard work!

This was a fabulous video - really clear instruction and filming style that meant I could easily pick up on what you were demonstrating. I don't play uke - but am about to pick back up a guitar, and am wondering if I can carry this cunning method across. Perhaps more the second version than the first. I'll give it a go.

Congrats on the Curie by the way - very well deserved!
E x

Haha, yeah, haying is definitely not for the faint of heart!

Thank you SO much for the compliment! I am very happy my videos are clear and easy to follow. 🙃 And yes! You can totally carry this method across (I also play guitar, and have used it successfully). Best of luck, and let me know how it works for you!

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community.

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!

Thank you so much!

Hi heatherthebard,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hey thanks so much for the lesson! It was very well presented, clear and easy to follow. Love your take of songs as stories and the story arc! This should work on guitar too - agree?

My pleasure! 🙃 I am happy you found my teaching style easy to follow. Yes, this technique will absolutely work on guitar. Thank you for stopping by! 🎶

Great I thought so for I play some guitar and would definitely like to try it on my guitar. Thanks again.

Heather the Bard! I need to keep taking classes from you! I have been a bard but I only write lyrics and play my ocarina, I definitely need more practice with you on music theory and techniques!

Thank you for teaching us these great lessons here on the Steem blockchain!

I am very glad you found my lessons helpful! 🙂 I can definitely do up some lessons on music theory — thank you for the suggestion!

Yeah! Going to check out your blog and see what the bard has been up to!

Dumping appears much easier, to bring down the hand palm onto the strings. It has added a distinctive sound on the guitar music.

Mapping is also good to a little loosen the fingers and have the same sound still.

Am inspired by your lesson.

Thank you! I am glad! 🙂

Well done also nice skill!! I'm not familiar with guitar but I'm interested, thanks for the tutorial.

Thank you for listening! I am happy you found it valuable!

Congratulations @heatherthebard! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36