Questioning - My startup journey / part 8

in #education6 years ago

Boys are cruel in the school! I remember once I was the kid with too many questions and everytime a teacher was coming up with "Any questions?" they were crying out "Emad has one!" and yes I had!

I believe many had, but they just shuffle away because they didn't really think the term "Any questions?" was an open invitation to question. I had funny questions and good questions, but they were all real questions about why things are the way they are and fantasizing a different form of them being.

Asking-Questions.jpg
image source

"if I had some favourite questions, everybody would know the answers. Instead, when I'm wandering the world, I try to construct a question for every conversation that might generate information that I never had before".
This is how most of Entrepreneurs and innovators think.
Michale Dell

the magic of Experiential learning

Questions are at the core of what we do. Children observe the world in an experimental way, which leads them to experiential learning. If you are interested in Children's experiential learning, check this out

ELC-2.png
source

While you learn something through experiment, it establishes lasting change in your behaviour, rather than simply memorizing a method, understanding a new subject or learning a skill, we develop new habits and behave based on those new habits.

Experiment learning connects with social learning tightly, since an experience will be much more powerful and effective in our state of mind, once it occurs Socially; What Homosapiens mastered with and helped them to conquer and defeat others: Sociability - the ability of doing things with large number of members in a group.

Disruption by questioning

There is a very crucial relation between being disruptive and innovative, and who is not aware of the critical relation between being Innovative and being a startup founder?!

handnote.jpeg
no source, my own handwriting :) and free to use!

Successful Startups begin with a solution to a problem. So finding a problem is the most important thing. Problems are everywhere, in every routine we do daily (and millions are doing also!) in our lifestyle, in the way we answer our needs, in the way we interact with society etc.
We had the need for transportation since we were hunters living in caves! but cars were innovated once the technology let the innovators to answer that need. what about uber?
We had cars, we had internet and smart phones for a while, but we didn't have Uber! Uber was missing for some years, and many had that problem, unanswered.

The point is, good questions should be asked, to lead us to problems which will have solutions!

how to master in asking questions

To ask good questions, you have to:

  1. reset your mind from all the biases
  2. avoid borders and limitations
  3. ask "What is" then "What caused" following with number of "why" and "why not"s and finally: "What if"

"Question the unquestionable"
Ratan Tata

The internet has many case studies of good questions by real entrepreneurs and innovators who their questioning skills changed the way we live now. I don't want to copy them here! go and google them.
Instead I have the appetite to disclose my own case!

I had the www.irxp.com website, providing B2B services to intl companies interested in Iranian market. One of the main marketing instruments are business events and exhibitions. I always had the question in my mind: "What exhibition is the right one for my client to attend?"

"what caused" the last experience for him/her to switch to another exhibition or service provide?

Why they changed their plan in promoting their product or service, why they didn't attend an exhibition for the second year etc.

there was one simple answer to all those question for that specific case (Not all our clients were unhappy and under such question marks ofcourse!)

bad experience, bad choice

what if I could give them a better advice? and how?

I found the answer: I should give them a sentiment from all exhibitors of the last event, to the new ones. I was providing commercials and inorganic promotion contents, while I could provide them with organic sentiment (not even recommendation) of the previous event.
So a new startup called Bizex.asia was born.

Sort:  

A good article worth reading it

thank you my friend 🙇‍♂️

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

@honarparvar nice post like it and upvoted !

thanks for kind comment 🙇‍♂️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87